We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Reisch's From LA”
Review of Bar W Guest Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bar W Guest Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Reisch's From LA”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Could not have had a better experience. Before we even arrived the staff made us feel so welcome and were so accommodating with our arrival plans to the time we had to depart. Nothing seemed to much for them. Had a fabulous group of guests staying which made for a perfect stay, for our kids and adults alike. Friendships were formed and in which we hope to continue. There is so much to do and see. Horse riding and competitions were a blast. Views spectacular. All the activities planned were so much fun which made for a relaxing week stay there. Staff, wranglers and chef were all amazing. We really never wanted for anything. This made for such a memorable and fabulous vacation our family is sure not going to forget. Thank you Bar W!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charlottep549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    17
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
81
34
42
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Killingly, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Bar W Guest Ranch was such a great experience. Everyone that worked on the ranch made you feel welcomed and all were friendly. The riding was great and what beautiful views. Had so much fun learning how to square dance again. The food was great tasting and plentiful. Our hats off to the chef. We met some really nice people who we hope to keep in touch with. My husband, Keith and I agreed that this was one of our best vacations ever and hope to return in the future. A special thank you to the owners, Dave and Janet. Great experience. Sincerely Cindy & Keith Olsen

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talgarth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Second time visit in 2 yrs. Such a great place for a holiday. The horses are lovely and well looked after, all the staff are so friendly and helpful, the food is amazing and the rides out are breathtakingly beautiful. The ranch itself is so lovely and peaceful even though there is always something going on. Already saving up for next year

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 395harvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I enjoy travelling solo, but was looking for something different, and thought a week hanging out with some great women would be a lot of fun. As I searched for holidays, spas and ideas, I stumbled on the Cowgirl Up week at the Bar W Ranch in Montana. It sounded perfect. I was amazed when I checked out the reviews on TA to see 5 star across the board - well, believe it! The week was planned so well, with lots of time in the saddle with good challenging rides and beautiful scenery. Fun activities scheduled throughout, including learning to lasso, use a bullwhip, shoot a gun, and do the 2-step. The food was excellent, served family style, with plenty of healthy options and treats available. I am a vegetarian and was wondering what I might get, but I was looked after so well, and everything was delicious. The staff are amazing, friendly, hardworking, energetic and quick to help in any way - they are committed to making sure the week is perfect, and really make you feel at home. The 15 women I got I hang out with also added to the experience, and were an amazing group. Was able to arrange a pick up from the airport, and was surprised with an upgrade to a lovely room on the second floor in the ranch house (Whitetail). Ranch also has a cabin with plenty of room, and 2 glamping tents - would be fun to try them sometime. Highly recommend the Bar W Ranch.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KEC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We spent time at the Bar W guest ranch in July 2013. A relaxing but challenging way to spend a vacation! Learn to rope, ride, sort cattle. Excellent food, staff goes out of its way to make your vacation a great one. Highly recommended for families! Go on the trail ride, take a side adventure white water rafting on the Middle Fork of the Flathead River. This guest ranch has it all.

Room Tip: All rooms are great and have wonderful views... there is no pool or fitness center (the format of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife grew up riding/showing western pleasure. I grew up on the golf course and rode horses twice prior to our stay. The entire stay rates 5 stars! The property, the lodging, the scenery, the convenience, the activities, the trails, the horses, the wranglers, the staff, the chef, the food and the management are all outstanding. My experienced riding wife had the time of her life and as a golfer I would put the Bar W right up there with Pebble Beach. Put the Bar W on your list of places to visit. You'll be glad you did! It's a "go back" to kinda place.

Room Tip: Try the glamping tent! It was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was the best vacation I could have possibly imagined. From the time you arrive to the time you leave you are treated like both family and honored guest. The staff from kitchen, maintainance, housekeeping and wranglers are phenomenal. I went on this trip solo and would recommend it to any solo traveler looking for fun and adventure. The food is amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitefish hotels
3.5 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
3.7 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
145 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
314 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 17 in Whitefish
1,046 reviews
3.5 mi away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#5 of 17 in Whitefish
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar W Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar W Guest Ranch

Property: Bar W Guest Ranch
Address: 2875 Highway 93 West, Whitefish, MT 59937
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar W Guest Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our meadow cabin was designed by the Amish here in Montana. The cabin with two suites, over looks the South pasture and surrounding forest full of wildlife, our outdoor arena with lots of activities and our herd of horses. These are beautiful suits that together could sleep up to 16 utilizing the common areas! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bar W Guest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar w Guest Ranch Hotel Whitefish
Bar W Guest Ranch Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing