We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Ski weekend at Whitefish Mountain Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Morning Eagle

Morning Eagle
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Morning Eagle
Great Falls, Montana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Ski weekend at Whitefish Mountain Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed Friday and Saturday nights in Room 410. This wonderful room had a full kitchen and dishwasher, washer and dryer and was very clean and so comfortable. We had a view of the ski hill and a small balcony to enjoy the spring air. The hot tub on the roof was clean and comfortable and we just loved our experience here.

Room Tip: If possible try and get a Valley view instead of the mountain view as one can hear the snow plows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJT59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We rented studio room for 5 nights in January here. It was just what we needed. It had a a small kitchen which was perfect for when you just wanted to stay in and relax and also for making morning breakfast. The room was clean and I only wish the bed had been queen size instead of a double. There were laundry machines in the room and a spacious bathroom. It was great to have a ski in and out. I wish there were BBQ's on the balcony but to use the BBQ's you had to go to the roof top and share with the rest of guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We rented Morning Eagle 405 for 5 nights.

Cons:
1) Unit was very warm. We had the heat off every night and had to sleep with the french doors on balcony cracked every night. The first night we thought it was because we did have the fireplace turned on for a while but after night 1, we realized that wasn't the whole problem. My only guess is the units under us were warming our unit.
2) I work in housekeeping and would rate this cleanliness of the unit to be 3 out of 5 stars. Our bed spread had white stains on it (gross) and there were clothes left in the drawers from prior occupants.
3) The unit was a tad over furnished...felt overcrowded and had to move things consistintly. One chair and lamp to many in the living and the desk could go in the bedroom.
4) The kitchen is fully stocked (which was awesome) except for the 1 item I wanted - a blender.
5) Be prepared because this is a road side (valley view) unit, there is plowing in the morning around 5:30 am of the roads if it snows....so you are waking up early. Im not sure if there would be a better spot in the resort because if you are mountain view, you deal with groomers.....but that is downside to wanting to be on the mountain I guess.
6) this one could either way as a pro/con...the small convience store sells just about everything you need which is GREAT! But if you do want to cook in your unit, I would recommend stopping in Whitefish at a grocery store before you come to the mountain to buy all your groceries. One it's less expensive and 2 you have more selection.

PROS:
1) The bathroom was large and the soaking tub was comfortable. It was also great to have IN-ROOM wash/dryer!
2) The balcony off the main bedroom and living provided wonderful views of the mountain.
3) The unit could actually sleeps 7. There is a sofa sleeper, qn bed in master and the den has bunks with a bed that pulls out from the bottom bunk...to sleep 3 in the spare room...crowded but doable if you are looking to find nice accomadations on a budget. Because when split between 7 ppl you would have an amazing unit!
4) Keep in mind, this unit doesn't have ski in / ski out of the unit (which was ok with us). You have to go downstairs to the main level. You keep your ski's in a locker and from there you can go outside....From Morning Eagle you ski over to chair 3, and from there you can ski to Chairs 1 & 2. I thought the convience was just fine.
5) You have a heated parking garage and parking is included to you if you arrive with a vehicle.

Every unit is a little different, for example one review stated there were bathrobes provided. We did not have those. I did not find the that units where loud, however I do believe there was a child above us in the Penthouse running around...but that was during the day, when one would be out skiing anyways. I did not hear any noice after night fall. The whole village seems to sleep after about 7 pm. So if you are looking for night life, you would not find it after 7 pm here. Although apres ski does supply ample pple to sit down with and share your daytime ski stories with. The village is very friendly.

I will add one more thing...the large amount of active older adults was astounding to me. To see the amount of 60 + years old was AWESOME. The resort offers 70 yr old and older free skiing. So if you are of retirement age, this is the place to ski and be!!! I might add, I am 43 and thought it was awesome to be surrounded by such great examples on what retirement life should be like!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We rented this condo for the second time and found it to be just great for our group. It serves 2 families very well with 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. One bedroom has 4 bunks which makes it great for kids. There is also a washer/dryer available. We didn't really use the hot tub as it was located on the roof and sometimes the lid was left off, so it was cold. Overall it is a nice open livingspace between the kitchen and living room, so it made it great for visiting while getting meals etc. The only suggestion would be a small BBQ for the deck. It is inconvenient to go to the rooftop to BBQ on the bldg BBQ.
We appreciated the ease of booking, the underground parking, the true ski in/ski out, and being on the main floor where the ski locker was located.. Other reviews mention difficulties skiing out, but you can access the main chair and base lodge by skiing off from Chair 3. It is def a true ski in /ski out. We did not find the groomers noisy at night as we faced the street side of the bldg....no view but quiet. Overall, a great choice!

Room Tip: Street side is quiet but no view. You can't really hear the groomers on this side of the bldg. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank elbel58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We made a reservation for this lodge thinking it would be a great ski in/out accommodation for our family. Although the rooms are fairly nice and the building is slope side, there where a few things that bothered us. The groomers at night were very loud and it made it difficult to get a good night sleep. In addition, although you could ski in, it wasn't really a ski out situation. Some walking to the main chair is required. Also, the hot tub was closed during our entire stay and the exercise room had two non-working treadmill machines. In our opinion, we didn't get enough bang for our buck.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed in unit ME109 at Morning Eagle for 5 nights . The unit is small but will sleep 4 (I'm just glad there were 2 of us). However, it did have more room than most chain motel suites. Bathroom was large and deluxe. Unit has luxury linens -- complete with 2 bath robes, a very comfortable bed, and a fairly well stocked kitchen for preparing meals. Unit was very clean.

I was not impressed with the view from the living area -- it was the roof of the business across the street. The living room area felt cramped and cluttered partially due to a large free standing cooling unit and a much to large eating table. Owners had supplied lots of reading material and some DVDs.

Note that Morning Eagle does have lots of amentities including a roof top grill and hot tub, elevator, luggage carts, underground parking, and a fairly nice workout/exercise room. It was very quiet (we only saw 2 other couples in the lobby during our stay). A lot of activities on Big Mountain are seasonal so it would be a good idea to check what was and what wasn't open before booking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rainy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed in Room #113 2br/2bath for a week rental. The facility was new, clean, and quiet. There was a hot tube on the roof, in unit washer/dryer, dishwasher, and free internet. The location was about 1 block on the grounds to all the activities such as zip line, tree top walk, mountain biking, and hiking. You could not ask for better convenience! The check-in had all the amenities if you forgot something or need food or liquor. :) This is a great location for a vacation!

Room Tip: #113 Room was quiet, at the end of the hall away from the elevator and others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpgodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
0.2 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
9.5 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
11.3 mi away
Smoky Bear Ranch
Smoky Bear Ranch
#2 of 7 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morning Eagle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Eagle

Property: Morning Eagle
Address: 3893 Big Mountain Rd, Whitefish, MT 59937-8624
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Morning Eagle 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Morning Eagle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morning Eagle Hotel Whitefish
Morning Eagle Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing