We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room if you have hearing disorders...”

Stumptown Inn of Whitefish
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stumptown Inn of Whitefish
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
188 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice room if you have hearing disorders...”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We were given a room on the ground floor, so when we looked out of our window, all we saw were car bumpers and the occasional legs of people who passed by. Not very pleasant, but well. Much worse was the fact the walls are paper thin and they had the brilliant idea to put the TV in one room on the other side of the wall were the bed in the other room is located. This caused massive noise. Ear plugs were of no use, unlike thumping on the wall. Also, the room was pretty dark, a recurring phenomenon in Super 8 properties. This was a pretty expensive motel in its class and didn't offer the quality you'd expect for the price.
On the upside, there was an open air free jacuzzi, which was nice. Free breakfast wasn't bad.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeV84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    16
    26
    24
    14
See reviews for
19
34
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gardiner, MT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Good for those on a budget like me. Here are the pros: great location, nice size room, slept well, morning muffin was good, room was "clean", pet friendly, good parking. The cons: Ugly place, hall carpets were filthy, bathroom small, lamp repaired with duct tape, tissue stuffed in the peep hole that didn't have any glass, you could hear all your neighbor's tv sets but it did quiet down later in the evening.

Would I stay here again, probably. The room itself was clean and I did sleep well, this is what a motel is for right?

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadwayinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Easy to find, clean, quiet, simple, comfortable. Breakfast included muffins and bagels, cereal.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shawna331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

rooms was average and clean room had no frig or microwave or the little extras

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlehouse99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylva, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

This hotel is ~ 20 minutes from the entrance to Glacier National Park. It is close to restaurants and stores. Those are the only good things I can think of. Overall it has a depressing quality to it. A dreary, run down place. The ice machine was broken. The lobby was shabby. The hair dryer in the room didn't work. The front desk clerk was efficient but certainly not much of a people person.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaAnn55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Whitefish hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2011

My daughter and I stayed two nights here while we visited Glacier National Park and were very happy with our room, which was clean, with no odd smells, and everything worked well. Very comfortable beds, not much noise from other rooms or the hallway, even though the hotel was full, and a very friendly and helpful mother/daughter team at the desk. I recommend you also check out the restaurant they recommended while we were there (Mombo Italliano) in downtown Whitefish. Only detraction was the very tiny area set up for the complimentary breakfast, but it certainly isn't enough to keep us from coming back next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeninei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Wow, This business lacks any customer service skills what so ever...All I can say to anyone thinking about even booking.. is don't! Stay down the road at the Chalet first rate customer service you will get what you pay for. A company with this many bad reviews over the last couple of years, I would think would try to change their customer service skills. I witnessed first hand they just don't care!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princess1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitefish hotels
0.4 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Downtowner Inn
Downtowner Inn
#16 of 17 in Whitefish
65 reviews
0.8 mi away
Big Mountain Lodge
Big Mountain Lodge
#12 of 17 in Whitefish
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#5 of 17 in Whitefish
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stumptown Inn of Whitefish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stumptown Inn of Whitefish

Property: Stumptown Inn of Whitefish
Address: 800 Spokane Ave, Whitefish, MT 59937-2971
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stumptown Inn of Whitefish 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Stumptown Inn of Whitefish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stumptown Inn Of Whitefish Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing