We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Tupelo Grille

Tupelo Grille
Ranked #2 of 92 Restaurants in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tupelo Grille is located in the heart of downtown Whitefish, Montana. Established in 1995, we have earned a reputation of being one of the best restaurants in Northwest Montana – a place to gather with friends and family for any occasion. We specialize in thoughtfully prepared Southern cuisine, offering fresh sea food, grilled steaks and signature pastas – all presented by a friendly, experienced, and attentive staff. Our cuisine is served alongside an innovative, yet familiar cocktail program and an award-winning wine list. Combined with a warm, casual atmosphere, we have consistently delivered a memorable dining experience to all of our guests. Whether you're from down the street or across the country, we want everyone to feel like a regular. Treat yourself to warm, comfortable, mountain-west hospitality and come join us at The Tupelo.
Marietta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We usually try to visit Tupelo when we are in Whitefish. It has always been good, but our latest trip was fantastic. The Duck Confit and the Shrimp and Grits were outstanding.

We showed up with no reservation and wound up sitting at the bar, which was no problem. Not crowded in and had plenty of room to eat. The bartender was great and had a very good wine recommendation.

As with any place, there are some ups and downs, as reviews usually indicate. With that in mind, we have never been disappointed in a visit to Tupelo.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bulldog82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    175
    48
    24
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Gem in Whitefish!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Ate here twice last week. Enjoyed the fish special the first evening, then the pork tenderloin the next. Good wine selection. Service was decent. Food was prepared well, visually appealing, and tasty. The gumbo was very good. The bread pudding was so good, it should be illegal. Overall, a gem of a restaurant in a beautiful town.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Idaho, USA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were disappointed as this restaurant came highly recommended to us. My husband had the chicken and dumplings. There were only 2 dumplings and the chicken was black - burned. The waiter was snooty and we literally had to keep asking for everything we needed. He was pretty rude. The restaurant was so noisy that we didn't even bother to try to talk with each other. Sadly I wouldn't recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kimberlyhammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food and good service”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The food was great, the service also great, all the way around, a delightful experience. This restaurant was recommended to us by several locals and they were right.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank crazycycler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Tupelo's Grille”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just before we left fo Whitefish, MT, our neighbors returned from Whitefish and told us of the great dinner they enjoyed at Tupelo's Grille. The husband is from Louisianna, so he must know !
As it turned out, we were meeting a friend in Whitefish, and her loves Tupelo's. Our food was
delicious, the drinks were good, and if I have any complaint it is that our waitress could have been more patient and friendly. My wife's drink was not right and needed to go back to the bar, and the waitress seemed annoyed at our request. It might have been a bad night, but it did detract from an otherwise wonderfull meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PiccyKingwood_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tupelo Grille also viewed

 

Been to Tupelo Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing