We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little pricey, but worth it!”

Mc Garry's Roadhouse
Ranked #23 of 90 Restaurants in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little pricey, but worth it!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

After 4 days of BBQ, burgers, chicken and fries we were craving a good, healthy meal. McGarry's was perfectly relaxing, nice service, great food and wine. We both ordered off the specials menu - I had halibut, carmalized carrots/onions. My husband had the NY strip steak and asparagus. Both fantastic. . . and so nice to finally get vegetables with a meal!! The only negative was the bread (not fresh or tasty) but everything else was perfect.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joani-FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KELLDOG, Owner at Mc Garry's Roadhouse, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments!! And boy, were you right about the bread - although the stale part was a surprise. Our wonderful artisan bakery forgot to deliver our order, and I went to the supermarket for "their" baked bread about 1/2 hour before we opened. Not a good idea as it turned out, and I won't make that mistake again. Many many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    42
    23
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This is Whitefish”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Here for five days, twice eating here. I felt at home, at ease, safe. And did I mention the food? Great food, well prepared. An attentive staff. And the bar crew, are you serious? Hello, Sandy, you keep it together.

Hoping to return REAL soon!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KELLDOG, Owner at Mc Garry's Roadhouse, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Did we have fun or what?! We will ALL look forward to your next visit to town! Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Maryland
Level Contributor
124 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We only had a chance to eat here one night and what a treat. Everyone was delighted with their food and the whole grilled trout was awesome. The service was also wonderful. What a treat to be able to walk across the street from our b&b to a fantastic restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Whitefish”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Friendly staff interested in making sure I got the fish I preferred whereas my spouse loved his chicken dish, great dirty martinis. Best meal we had in Whitefish although Buffalo Café and Tupelo's were good also.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jemejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KELLDOG, Owner at Mc Garry's Roadhouse, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you so much! We sure enjoyed visiting with you. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Substandard food with poor service”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The service was incredibly slow and the food was tasteless. I had the pad thai and it was bland. It honestly was the worst pad thai I have ever had. I have been here before and had an "ok" experience. This was the last time I will go to McGarry's. For the price you would expect exceptionally service and food. We did not receive either.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank hcur1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mc Garry's Roadhouse also viewed

 

Been to Mc Garry's Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing