We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet cuisine”
Review of Cafe Kandahar

Cafe Kandahar
Ranked #20 of 90 Restaurants in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Small, boutique, fine dining establishment specializing in farm-to-table ingredients, creative techniques, wine pairings, and tasting menus.
Clancy, Montana
Level Contributor
156 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Gourmet cuisine”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This is a truly gourmet restaurant, surprising to find at Big Mountain. We ate here with another couple, and of the 4 of us, I am the only one who is even remotely a "foodie". The other 3 had a hard time with the menu. Wait staff was very attentive and explained the food very well. We shared 2 appetizers and each got an entree, and were very full by the end of the meal. The food is quite rich, and the flavors are incredible. Service is also impeccable. Recommend it for a special occasion.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    27
    27
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westlake, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Nestled on Big Mountain in Whitefish who would think you would find a 7 Star restaurant. If you like exotic dishes paired with worldly wines then you will not be disappointed. This place is greatness especially when you consider where you are!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TCB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
“Disappointed”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Having read some great reviews we were very excited to dine here. We left disappointed. It was very expensive for what we received. The service was certainly not that of a fine dining restaurant. Pretentious staff certainly set a tone. The food that we ate looked very nice and tasted great but the portions on the "tasting menu" were exceptionally small.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MDW68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellensburg, Washington
Level Contributor
220 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Gourmet experience ”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely evening with very good service and superb food. Of all the dishes the roasted asparagus salad was our vegetarian's favorite. The soup was nicely blended flavors, the quail was nicely done, etc. Only improvement would be some more training for the blonde gal who was bussing tables and twice tried to take a plate away before we were done with it.
Wine list was most interesting with familiar and unusual selections. For a special night out, we'll worth it.

Helpful?
Thank PierreTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuerich
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great food, a bit pricy”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Nice atmosphere and fantastic food especially considering their Mountain side location. Prices for wines and a few other items are too high

Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Kandahar also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Kandahar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing