We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“shhh it's my secret”
Review of Cheap Sleep Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cheap Sleep Motel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Don't tell anyone about this place. It's my secret getaway. The owner told me he just lowered the rates. Lowered? Yes, he gave me the discounted new rate. In a ski town where motels/hotels can run over a grand a night, this little gem is less than $50 if you know the key words to say. Starting next week they even have a ski package less than $100 that includes a nice clean, quiet room, small breakfast and a day on the slopes of Big Mountain. The managers said they used to be a railroad motel and limited their public guests to no more than 7 a night. They just opened up a few more rooms. It's quiet. It's meticulously clean and it's cheap, just like the moniker.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the East side. They get sunlight in the morning and are quiet all day. Best of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Lillian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 175 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2011

This place is great! Very clean and friendly. The rooms are a little older, but comfy and SO clean. Great wi-fi and a flatscreen tv. I was meant to be camping, but the weather was so-so and it was easy to justify spending $60 a night to stay at this gem. Ended up staying 4 nights. Again, crazy clean! And free coffee in the front office all day. Loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JenfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Friendly managers & staff had cereals, milk, microwave, coffee in a sitting room for us to enjoy. We felt like we were in a friendly B&B. The Wifi was excellent, as was the jacuzzi. The room was one of the quietest we have ever experienced. The motel is very simple, even a bit shabby but very clean. The TV was cable, the bed comfortable & we ended up staying a few days. Sleep Cheap is pet-friendly & has an attached RV park for easy dog walking. We had a feast of a delicious meal ordered from the Chinese restaurant next door. We plan to return to Whitefish & will certainly choose Sleep Cheap. For $60 we were very pleased.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denalicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband wanted an inexpensive place to stay while visiting Glacier National Park and and the name of this motel certainly caught our attention. For $60 you can get a clean room within a 30 minute drive to the Park. It is a good place if you don't plan on spending alot of time at the motel. The view from the window is old cars in the parking lot and the walls inside are painted cinder blocks (good for a quiet sleep). The staff was very friendly and morning coffee was provided.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelley6060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Clean, easy access, quiet, afirdable, comfortable,
Great cafe within walkking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rlitzau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I absolutely loved staying at the Cheap Sleep Motel. There was no continental breakfast, but at $60/night I could afford to buy breakfast. As a matter of fact, there is a mini fridge in the room so we bought milk and had cereal every morning for less than $10 for the four mornings. The lobby always had fresh coffee. There was also a public, shared computer in case you forgot yours.
The room and public spaces were immaculent, the linen was clean & soft, the cable TV was very good and the Wifi worked like a champ.
The young lady at the desk could not have been more helpful with directions and suggestions for dinner.
All in all, the stay could not have been better.
We were in Whitefish to visit Glacier National Park which was about 30 minutes away.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goldwingtriker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We took a roadtrip and are on a tight budget with lodging. We've stayed at a couple Motel 6s and then considered staying at this one when we were in Whitefish. I have to say, this is WAY BETTER than any Motel 6 we've ever stayed at. For it's price, it's very decent. We had a fridge (no microwave, but I didn't need to use it), a soft queen bed and a pretty nice TV. Wi-Fi included. I love the shower head! It's one of the best showers a motel can have. So much water rushing down on you. Staff was friendly. We stayed two nights and they made our bed, provided new towels and straighten things out for us during our stay. It was quiet. Close to other attractions in the area. It did have kind of a musky smell, but later, you don't smell it anymore. I would come back and stay here again if I'm in the area. I would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank colbyRachmaninoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitefish hotels
1.2 mi away
Downtowner Inn
Downtowner Inn
#16 of 17 in Whitefish
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stumptown Inn of Whitefish
Stumptown Inn of Whitefish
#14 of 17 in Whitefish
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Big Mountain Lodge
Big Mountain Lodge
#12 of 17 in Whitefish
125 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheap Sleep Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheap Sleep Motel

Address: 6400 US Highway 93 S, Whitefish, MT 59937-8237
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range: $64 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cheap Sleep Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cheap Sleep Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Cheap Hotel Whitefish
Cheap Sleep Motel Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing