We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”
Review of Downtowner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Downtowner Inn
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We are an Aussie couple who stayed here for a week. Contrary to some previous reviews we thouroughly enjoyed our time at the Downtowner. Coffee was available all day and we loved the all you can eat bagels and spreads. The internet was also available all day and I WAS offered to print out my flight Itinery. While the staff were always helpfull I found one particular staff member (Lovely lady) particularily helpfull. The younger ones could learn a lot from this lady. The owners were also pleasant and responsive. The rooms were basic but very big and clean. The location was excellant. The spa was very clean and the fully equiped gym was excellent. All in all a very relaxing place to stay. If you want high end decor go to the Hilton, this place is basic and comfortable which made our stay a good one. TIP: If you have a problem in the night ring the owner and he is there in a flash. Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for Downtowner Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 71 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2011

we used it for our start and end of glacier park adventures, coming and going thru the airport. very convenient location in downtown, and an organic market next door. didn't find the room a problem at all; it was quiet enough despite its location on a busy road. the only gripe was not allowing guests to print boarding passes through the guest computer. i would stay there again.

Room Tip: second floor room had a nicer view, nicer furnishings.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seamountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

So we booked ahead for our trip. Could not find anywhere in Glacier NP to stay. So we booked in here after reading that some folks complained about noise and that it is popular with bikers. So I will cut to the chase.
On the plus side - there is parking if you early enough, it is downtown and near all the restaurants and shops, has free internet. Wrap n Roll is next door and a great place to eat. The Inn also does n bagel bar and has a hot tub. The bagles are mediocre small with some general spreads thrown in. Hardly worth the effort, but we had it cuz it was free.
The rooms were clean, towels changed daily but not the linen. Some of the beds have plastic coverings and boy can you sweat!! You wake up and feel like you are sleeping in the desert. Lucky there is an airconditioning system. We did not have any problems with noise. But on the 3rd night a whole crowd of bikers pulled in and boy was the noise unbelievable untill the early hours of the morning and I am talking 03h00AM. I was prepared to lower my standards and put up with the rooms not being up to date and the decor being a bit tacky. The staff were friendly - I have no complaints there. But I felt that they could have done something about the noise level. We had people drinking beer and shouting profanity until 3 in the morning and it was awfull. It may be the only place downtown, but for me having an uncomfortable bed and a noise level like that was a bit of a deal breaker and really ruined my stay here, I was prepared for some traffic noise, but not these people having a party to this level. So stay here at your own risk - if you lucky you would not experience our problems. Moderatly priced, but you can sleep on the sidewalk for free and this was like sleeping on the sidewalk! We should have said something to the owner, but when the morning came we were already awake since 3 and hardly slept, all we wanted to do was leave, and so we did.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same overlooking the road or parking lot - if there are good rooms, soundproofed i...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jinxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Stayed in mid June. $87 for 2 queen sized beds. Very basic room but the location can't be beat. Walking distance to all the downtown shops and eateries.

Nice hot tub outside on 3rd floor deck adds to the experience.

If you are looking for high end, stay at one of the chain hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrairiePat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

The rooms are bare bones, thin walls, bad bedding, and completely outdated. The problem is there isn't any other option where you can walk to everything in Whitefish. For that reason we stayed there, but would probably take a cab from a better hotel next time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddrenik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We found it to be clean, but in bad need of some updating. It was also walking distance to all the shopping and resturants in Whitefish. The breakfast was the standard continental breakfast. We did have a problem with someone playing very, very loud music from the time we checked in at 3 PM until 10 PM that night. We had been up since 2:45 AM to catch a flight and were ready for some rest. We did not complain until around 9 PM and it took 3 calls to the front desk to get the music turned down. On the 3rd call, it was gettig close to 10 PM when they finally did something about the noise. It would also help if they had an area to sit outside. I think the hotel is okay, but not worth what we paid.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speteachmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Was staying here on the last night of 10 days in Montana trip. Was designed as a post hiking in Glacier NP respite to organize our packs and bags for the plane home, clean up and shower, and rest up for night before heading back to city life.

I wouldn't say the room was dirty, but it didn't really feel clean either. The shower was VERY spotty with its hot and cold water, whicha fter a long time hiking, etc is the last thing you want when trying to clean up. The bed was ok. Nothign special. The sheets seeemed clean, but the bedspread had me worried. Our room was close to the street on ground floor and what had me very worried was the door lock. We only had a swivel bolt lock on the door and nothing else. The lock did not seem very sturdy and felt the room could easily be broken into while we werre there so we moved all our stuff once organized into our car for the night.

The room was spacious though. Very close to downtown Whtiefish, which is great if you want to goto the bars and walk home w/out worrying about driving.

In the end though we checked out early and never slept the night. The dirt was a factor as was the shower, the door lock had me super nervous too, and in the end the power went out in the whole city that night. Afer camping in bear country, this was not aw ay to spend a night. The power gave us a chance to leave and thankfully the front desk was accomodating and told us they would not charge us for the night's stay and let us out.

Stay here if you have low standards - despite the price - and really want to be in/near Whitefish. Its not bad persay, but its not good.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sambieni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitefish hotels
0.0 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
160 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
5.0 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
0.4 mi away
Stumptown Inn of Whitefish
Stumptown Inn of Whitefish
#14 of 17 in Whitefish
98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#5 of 17 in Whitefish
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downtowner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downtowner Inn

Address: 224 Spokane Ave, Whitefish, MT 59937-2652
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range: $87 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Downtowner Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Downtowner Inn is the only accommodation in the heart of Beautiful Downtown Whitefish, MT. If you are arriving by Amtrak we are only two blocks from the Train Depot. Shopping, dining, and nightlife are only a short stroll away. Come visit us in the winter for skiing and snowboarding at Whitefish Mountain Resort and in the summer for rafting, boating, hiking in Glacier National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Downtowner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtowner Hotel Whitefish
Downtowner Inn Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing