We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our go-to place in town”

The Great Northern Bar and Grill
Ranked #32 of 89 Restaurants in Whitefish
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our go-to place in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We always end up here! the kids can play pool during the day and the food is the best bar food EVER! love the locals- it is the 'local' bar!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank recycledskatelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    67
    24
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced with a lot of choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

We were walking around town looking for a reasonably priced place for a quick lunch. This place was full of locals, who seemed like they were having a great time at the bar. They had several tv sets with a variety of games being played. We sat and waited for a waitress until a couple at one of the tables told us that you had to go to the back of the restaurant to order your food. They had a choice of soups, salads and sandwiches, all reasonably priced. I ordered the grilled cheese and it came with a choice of bread and a side of cottage cheese. Bread was buttered and they used enough cheese. You'd think no one could wreck a grilled cheese sandwich, but they do. Could have had it with a tomato, but I'm a purist. Husband had a beef sandwich special with a green salad side. Two sandwiches and a coke was $14.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobinC21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
690 reviews
323 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
“Great watering-hole in Whitefish with alot of history! Great old photos & railway signs! Love the moonshine mugs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

The Great Northern Bar is an institution in itself! It started off as a tavern to service the needs of it the Great Northern railway, it's workers and passengers in 1919 and despite some relocations and ownership changes over the years, it is still doing just this today plus keeping the locals and tourists entertained, well-fed and quenched!

The place has got a lively atmosphere indeed! We loved the signs on the walls and the funny ones around the bar! You could spend a few hours in here just reading the signs and people-watching!

There are several rooms where you can drink and dine, including an outdoor patio area where there was vocal entertainment on the day we visited. Seems to be very popular and we understand why.

The service is truly excellent! We loved the old fashioned moonshine mugs that drinks are served in! Nice touch!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Concierge_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best bar in Whitefish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is the place to go for a drink, and hang out with friends. Great bar atmosphere. Always have good music. Great bar food. It is a must stop for fun in down town Whitefish.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CouleeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
370 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Great beer selection at great prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Great place for a late evening drink. Long bar at which you can sit at to watch the game or chat with friends. Many pool tables are on offer as well if you are so inclined. Really great drink selection at excellent prices - two beers for $6.50.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ottawajester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great Northern Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Great Northern Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing