We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and good!”

The Great Northern Bar and Grill
Ranked #31 of 92 Restaurants in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
United States
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Cheap and good!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Overwhelming menu...I mean you might stand there for hours reading the menu. Good selection of pub/diner fare and excellent brews. Skip the mixed drinks unless you are really into that kinda thing. Procedure: First secure a table. Then order food at the window, then pick up your drinks at the bar. You'll get your food in a reasonable amount of time. Some sad sometimes they will run out of favorite items early. Daily specials (while they last) are posted on the chalkboard outside at the entrance. Local yokels (good for people watching) perch at the bar and there is a fabulous display of signage from days gone by . A burger (delish) and a brew will set you back 10 or so clams. Local events and music most every night.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    70
    25
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athol
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy Food!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We originally walked into this bar then walked out. After a long day of snowboarding we really weren't in the mood for mediocre bar food. We ended up going back in after we didn't find anything else close by that looked very appealing. We were so stuffed when we left! Hamburgers, shrimp, some appetizers and the best baked potato smothered in garlic butter sauce that I've every tasted! Our waitress was fun and friendly. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting the area.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank WickedSteed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Locals Hangout”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Music, sports, burgers, a local favorite. It is a local hangout and the music and other noise can bother some people.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank year60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suburban Philly
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stopped for a quick beer & stayed for more . . . fun place”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My wife and I, fresh out of a week's worth of hiking in Glacier Nat'l Park, stopped in here early one Sat. evening before we were to eat dinner at another place just down the street where we had reservations. We simply wanted to have a beer before dinner. We walked in and it was like we walked into Cheers! The Montana Grizzlys were on the tube playing football and the bar was alive and hopin' --all sorts of characters -- men and women -- 20-somethins, folks in their 30s / 40s and quite a good number up over 50 as well -- and all having a good time. Good beer on tap and while we didn't eat, the food we saw comin' out to the tables looked good and there was lots of it. A huge dose of local flavor. All sorts of weird stuff hangin behind the bar and on the walls. People next to us started to talk to us and a guy from the bar noticed I was wearin' an Phila. Eagles cap and came up to chat about the upcoming NFL season. We were only going to have one beer and we ended up staying for three. Had we not had reservations for dinner, we would have stayed several hours. One of those great dive bars that becomes your favorite. When in Whitefish, don't miss this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank AGR P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fun, beer,food and history!”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This favorite place of locals and tourist alike dishes up good food, great beer, wonderful rock and roll. It is a place that looks so real western. Bar dates to 1919. Decor is old signs from business that have bit the dust. We never miss an opportunity to stop in when in Whitefish.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lezette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Great Northern Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Great Northern Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing