We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge at Whitefish Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We booked this room late so that may go some way to explain the room issue.
I had been really looking forward to staying here because it's web site shows an idyllic hotel on a lake which it is at the front but that doesn't show that a busy road effectively runs through the middle of the hotel.
Unfortunately our room was right beside the road overlooking a couple of car parks and also over the function suite where the boom from the band at a wedding kept us awake on the Saturday.
Thankfully American weddings seem to end earlier than in Britain.
Their air conditioning is also extremely noisy.
The worst feature is that in our opinion the hotel was not that clean with crumbs on carpets in lots of public areas and paper and dust in our room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank covenanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSkoczek, Executive Assistant at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lodge; we truly value the opinions of our guests and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. The Lodge is located on Wisconsin Avenue and we do not typically receive complaints about road noise; I am sorry that was not your experience. We also have regulations on when functions must end so as not to disturb our guests. I have shared your comments regarding cleanliness with our housekeeping department who will utilize the information to improve upon their services. Thank you again for taking time to share your experience with us; we hope to have the opportunity to share our hospitality with you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    188
    42
    27
    13
See reviews for
220
364
22
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
135 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

After spending 4 days at Glacier we were looking forward to having a change of scenery only to be disappointed at check in. We checked in on a Friday , and although I thought I was getting a lake front view room, I am in the building across the way with a newer room that faces a parking lot view. The pool in the Viking lodge is closed due to construction-not good for kids! Ok -Prime time season -you think that would be fixed ?) then went over to the main pool to find it crowded and the hot tub area filled with small children? You would think a resort like this would discourage /restrict small children in the hot tub.
I am hoping the next 24 hours get better but so far my impression of this place is not a 4-5 Star resort . It's making Our "3 Star" stay at Alpine Village (Glacier Nat Park) a "5 "Star .

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SO194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSkoczek, Executive Assistant at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback, I hope that the rest of your stay was more enjoyable. Unfortunately the indoor pool in the Viking Lodge is currently being built and has not yet been opened. We hope the Viking Falls indoor pool and hot tub will be a new addition that our guests can enjoy beginning this fall. Please do let us know how the rest of your stay went!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

My husband had stayed at the Lodge some years back but there was never time. I wanted a quite 25th Anniversary Celebration in the mountains; just the two of us. The Lodge at Whitefish was the perfect place.

From the moment you drive in and throughout the check-in process the staff were so friendly. The room was perfect. We loved sitting by the fireplace talking about the adventure we had been on for 25 years.

The spa is definitely worth spending time in. If your looking for an incredible meal try The Boat
Club.

Thank you everyone for a great weekend!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSkoczek, Executive Assistant at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Congratulations from us all on your 25th Anniversary! We are so happy to help create memories that will be cherished for a lifetime. We hope to share more memory making moments with you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed at the Lodge at Whitefish Lake for 4 nights this past July and it was wonderful. We stayed in the Viking Lodge that seemed brand new - in fact they were still working on the indoor pool (sadly we didn't get to use it) and it smelled a little like fresh paint. Our room was huge, the beds were super comfortable, and the layout of the room and bathroom was unlike any hotel I have ever stayed at. My only complaint is that the bathroom floors were really cold - it would have been awesome if the floors were heated! Oh, and don't park in the garage...it was really creepy.

We look forward to staying here again! This is a great place to stay if you are visiting Glacier National Park!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CC B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Stayed here one night before a group trip. It was a great location and very beautiful. We had a lakeview room which was fabulous. They advertise complimentary rides to/from the airport. We contacted them two weeks in advance for our flights. they were on time picking us up at the airport. The next day we were scheduled to go back to the airport to meet our tour group. We were told to meet in the lobby at 1 pm for our ride to the airport. they were very disorganized for this trip back to the airport - they couldn't decide who from the hotel should drive the van; what van to take; how many needed a ride, etc. We ended up late meeting our group. Also, they guarantee rooms will be ready by 4 pm - promising to text us when the room was ready. 4 pm came and went - no text, no room. Had to ask at the front desk. Also, holding luggage seems to be an issue - not enough staff to even get your luggage (we stood in the lobby for 45 minutes before the "found" someone to help us. Would not consider this 5-star service especially for the price we paid (in advance).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EB S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSkoczek, Executive Assistant at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I apologize for the confusion surrounding your shuttle to the airport and for the tardiness caused by our staff. I have reviewed your comment with our Resort Manager whom is working to ensure these issues do not arise for future guests. Thank you again for your comments as we utilize our guest feedback to improve upon future guests experiences. We hope to have you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

We had a standard king suite in the lodge on 3rd floor. It overlooked the entrance and forest. No lake views available. Bed was great and service superb. Food at hotel excellent. We will return! Waiter in dining ro very helpful!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSkoczek, Executive Assistant at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for your kind words Carol; we can't wait to have you back as our guest again for more Montana fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had a wonderful dinner at the Lodge. We enjoyed the view from the deck and had wonderful service and the food was EXCELLENT!! We rented a boat the following day and took it out on the lake. The kids had a wonderful time swimming and enjoying the water.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSkoczek, Executive Assistant at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your Montana vacation and hope the amenities of the Lodge made it a relaxing experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
3.5 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
17.3 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 7 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 7 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
13.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kalispell, MT
1.7 mi away
Grouse Mountain Lodge
Grouse Mountain Lodge
#6 of 17 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Whitefish Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Whitefish Lake

Property: Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Address: 1380 Wisconsin Ave, Whitefish, MT 59937-3338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Whitefish
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge at Whitefish Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Lodge at Whitefish Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Whitefish Lake Hotel Whitefish
Hotel Whitefish Lake
Resort Whitefish Lake
Lodge At Whitefish Lake Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing