We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodge at Whitefish Lake

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

Stayed here one night before a group trip. It was a great location and very beautiful. We had a lakeview room which was fabulous. They advertise complimentary rides to/from the airport. We contacted them two weeks in advance for our flights. they were on time picking us up at the airport. The next day we were scheduled to go back to the airport to meet our tour group. We were told to meet in the lobby at 1 pm for our ride to the airport. they were very disorganized for this trip back to the airport - they couldn't decide who from the hotel should drive the van; what van to take; how many needed a ride, etc. We ended up late meeting our group. Also, they guarantee rooms will be ready by 4 pm - promising to text us when the room was ready. 4 pm came and went - no text, no room. Had to ask at the front desk. Also, holding luggage seems to be an issue - not enough staff to even get your luggage (we stood in the lobby for 45 minutes before the "found" someone to help us. Would not consider this 5-star service especially for the price we paid (in advance).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EB S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSkoczek, Executive Assistant at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I apologize for the confusion surrounding your shuttle to the airport and for the tardiness caused by our staff. I have reviewed your comment with our Resort Manager whom is working to ensure these issues do not arise for future guests. Thank you again for your comments as we utilize our guest feedback to improve upon future guests experiences. We hope to have you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    208
    48
    31
    13
See reviews for
243
407
23
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

We had a standard king suite in the lodge on 3rd floor. It overlooked the entrance and forest. No lake views available. Bed was great and service superb. Food at hotel excellent. We will return! Waiter in dining ro very helpful!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSkoczek, Executive Assistant at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for your kind words Carol; we can't wait to have you back as our guest again for more Montana fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had a wonderful dinner at the Lodge. We enjoyed the view from the deck and had wonderful service and the food was EXCELLENT!! We rented a boat the following day and took it out on the lake. The kids had a wonderful time swimming and enjoying the water.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSkoczek, Executive Assistant at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your Montana vacation and hope the amenities of the Lodge made it a relaxing experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed four nights in a Viking Queen Suite on the land side of the resort - across the sky bridge from the main lodge. We had a large, beautiful , and well appointed room with a gorgeous view of the forest. My sons loved the pool and the pool-side service was outstanding. Extremely friendly and prompt staff. We also rented a jet ski and ski boat and had a blast on the lake. Highly recommend the Lodge at Whitefish Lake. Comfortable place that isn't outrageously expensive. Also, close to Glacier National Park and the town of Whitefish. Stayed late Juuly 2014. However, do not expect a Ritz stay. TLWL isn't in that family of resorts.

Room Tip: If you're staying on the Viking side of the resort, be sure to ask for a room that faces the for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

Unimpressed with this hotel. The lakeside setting is lovely, and the access to Glacier National Park is wonderful, but the hotel could use some improvement. Poor service in the restaurant, confusing check-in process, and only okay accommodations. The location is the only reason to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rljonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSkoczek, Executive Assistant at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
I am glad to hear you appreciated the location of the Lodge directly on Whitefish Lake while I am sorry to hear you did not appreciate the Lodge's accommodations or some of the services. I would love to speak with you so as to better understand your comments and be able to follow up on them with our staff. Please phone me directly at 406-863-4047 to discuss your experience in more detail.

Thank you,
Monteen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

We loved the Lodge at Whitefish lake. The rooms were lovely and spacious (we stayed in a studio partial lakeview) and it was more than ample. A huge kitchen with a microwave and bar fridge but not a single bowl, plate or cutlery??? Just a few basics which would have made it perfect. We went down to the restaurant and they happily supplied them, but I would have expected them in the room already. A toaster would have been great also. The room we had was also on the side of the building above the exhaust fan, which made it very noisy. So much so that the door rattled at night. When we explained this to the front desk, they happily moved us. We ate at the Boat Club 3 of our 7 nights. Great food, great drinks, and a great atmosphere with live music and fire. The staff in this hotel were excellent. Every single one of them friendly, helpful and welcoming. The setting on the lakefront was spectacular. Deer strolling on the lake etc. Even the train whistle off in the distance on the far side of the lake added to the charm. We loved the Lodge at Whitefish so much we have rebooked for another week in January 2015 and this time we're bringing our 2 grown sons and their girlfriends we were so impressed.

Room Tip: Choose a lakefront room. They're worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CottonWoolOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSkoczek, Executive Assistant at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience! I am glad to hear that the lack of dishes and noise you experienced were dealt with promptly and to your satisfaction. We can't wait to have you and your family as our guests this next January for another peaceful Montana winter vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

I recently spent 4 nights at the Lodge at Whitefish Lake. Beautiful resort right on the lake. The rooms were really nice - comfortable bed, kitchenette, huge bathroom with walk-in shower and separate soaker tub, beautiful fireplace, nice deck with view of the lake. The 2 restaurants both face the water and the food is good. The front desk staff is very friendly, as is the concierge, and the valets were really nice and remembered our cars every time.

However, the food service staff needed additional training. Room service orders were really late, food was forgotten, silverware wasn't included, things like that. We were there right in mid-June and I have a feeling it was their new summer staff who hadn't all be trained properly.

I have no experience with the spa, fitness center, or marina services. But, the pool and hot tub were really nice - also right on the water.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling-a-go-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSkoczek, Executive Assistant at Lodge at Whitefish Lake, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
We greatly appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Lodge at Whitefish Lake! We have followed up on the room service issue during your stay and appreciate your comment as it helps us in providing a better experience for our guests. We hope to have you as our guest again for another lakeside vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge
3.5 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#7 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#8 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
17.3 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
17.3 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Whitefish Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Whitefish Lake

Property: Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Address: 1380 Wisconsin Ave, Whitefish, MT 59937-3338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Whitefish
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge at Whitefish Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Lodge at Whitefish Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Whitefish Lake Hotel Whitefish
Hotel Whitefish Lake
Resort Whitefish Lake
Lodge At Whitefish Lake Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing