We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

wow, this place is superb
great room, great location on a beautiful lake
staff superb, restaurant fabulous as was the bar
rooms amazing
also loved whitefish and glacier national park
will highly recommend to my clients

Room Tip: any we even had the viking section (cheaper rooms) which is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seasick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

742 - 748 of 1,114 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

This lodge offers beautiful views of Whitefish Lake. The balcony at the restaurant is especially nice at sunset. We had a poolside suite which was ground level. If you want to leave the drapes open be prepared to see everyone that passes by. The shades that filter the sun offers some privacy though. The restaurant and lounge served good food and drink. The wait staff was friendly and efficient especially Emily. The only complaint we have is that the only cereal offered on the menu was Cheerios. The granola was good but most restaurants offer a selection of commercial cereals. One of the coin operated washing machines was broken but a laundromat is just down the street. Overall our week here offered us everything we needed to explore Glacier National Park.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank GWandCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had a two queen studio w/ lake view. We had a corner room w/ two balconies. The rooms are quite spacious. The décor is a bit dated and getting a bit shabby looking. The drapery was falling off the rods and housekeeping did not fix. We had to stand on a chair to reattach the drapes so we could close them at night.
*
The bathroom is very large but not very practical. There were two sinks...but then that left no space to put anything on counter. The corner tub was nice, but awfully difficult to get in and out of the tub.
*
The beds were fairly comfortable but the pillows were awful. The air conditioning never did get the room very cool and the actual air conditioning unit was in a locked closet and was distractingly loud.
*
But the real turn off for this resort was the awful dinner food and the awful service for dinner/drinks. Spouse ordered some buffalo wings...they were inedible. Not hot...but overly salty. Like someone had poured all the seasoning from the kitchen into the sauce. We pointed this out to the server...asked him to take back and have the chef taste the product...the server looked at me like I was nuts and left the product on the table. I had a hamburger that was overcooked and had no seasoning. (Guess it all went into the buffalo sauce).
*
We could not find an open restaurant on the Monday we were there so we tried the food again, same poor service and this time the food had no flavor at all. When was the last time you had to put salt and pepper on a pizza to just give it some flavor?
*
Breakfast was quick and delicious and we were surprised at how good the service and food were.
*
Upon checking out, the automatic service to check out in the room did not work. So we stood at the counter while two people had their backs to us and they were discussing a billing problem...someone had wrote a 4 that looked like a nine and we got to hear about 3 minutes or so of a handwriting conversation. One of the clerks did see us standing there but since her boss was giving her a handwriting lesson she did not even acknowledge us at counter. Finally he looked up and gave her the 'look' to take care of us. She came over and we said we were checking out and that the automatic system didn't work. She said okay. Goodbye. OKAY? Seriously not even a 'hope you enjoyed your stay' or a thank you. Just okay, goodbye.
*
I would not recommend this place to anyone. If you're going to be in Whitefish, find another place to stay. This place is not worth the money and it is not an upscale resort anymore. Don't know when it was a great place, but it really is not very lovely anymore.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had a special evening event with a group and had cocktails and dinner. This is a wonderful setting with the back of the hotel, the patio, and the room we had dinner in, overlooking the swimming pool and facing the lovely lake. It was a beautiful early evening with the sun glittering off the lake. Be sure to sit on the patio and have a drink. Good food and attentive staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingRealtor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We arrived at this beautiful place with confirmation in hand. Good thing, because the front desk was denying even with written confirmation that we we had a valid booking. Most incompetent front desk. It took three people to find us a room, not the one I had booked or paid for. Get a grip! This is no way to treat your incoming guests. I wonder if they care. A quite superior attitude.

To their credit, The valets were friendly and helpful as were the waiters in the dining room but the feeling that you are a valued guest is never apparent. And please avoid the restaurant unless you are stranded because of a major storm. As my husband said," the steak almost rose to the level of mediocrity." My chicken was good. Our waiter was good too.

They find a. way to make you pay for everything- parking, a breakfast bar that serves a quick cup of coffee. How about a &100 security deposit in case you sneak out with a can of peanuts from the stash in your room or a diet soda from the fridge.
Nothing is complimentary here. You are the paying customer and that is just what you come away with. It is a beautiful place on a lovely lake but there it ends. It has no heart; it is cold as ice. Couldn't wait to get outbox there.


Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Meg02116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We arrived at the Lodge at Whitefish Lake to find that the room we requested through booking.com was not available. We made a formal complaint and it was determined that there was a miscommunication between the hotel and booking.com regarding the description of the room. Not only was our room unavailable, we were in fact given a room in the Viking Lodge, a satellite hotel across the road.

The room itself was nice enough, but the amenities offered at the main hotel were very inconvenient to access. Given that the type of room we ordered was not possible and that we were given a room which was virtually in a different hotel, (connected by a bridge passing over the highway) we thought it reasonable to be awarded a discount. The request was denied. We did not receive what we had paid for in good faith. Other reviewers of this hotel have had similar experiences. The hotel management appears to regard the Viking Lodge as part of the Whitefish Lode whereas most others would perceive it to be the less desirable motel across the street.

The rooms are large and comfortable and the main hotel has a large lobby designed to emulate the grand old lodges of the past. Unfortunately, the overall hotel atmosphere is that of a modern play resort. The location is not very scenic and a long drive from Glacier Park. This hotel is not for those coming from afar to experience Montana's natural and scenic beauty; however the noisy lake teeming with motor boats and jet skis may appeal to those wanting to party by the pool and hang out in the Tiki bar.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank r w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I just stayed two nights September 4-5, 2013 and we're extremely surprised at how beautiful the lodge was. Slighty dated, it could have used a little up grade in the lobby, but the room was a partial view of the lake with a lovely balcony. Two queen beds, fireplace, kitchen area with microwave, large bathroom really nice bath products( if that's your thing). The view from the back of the hotel is stunning of whitefish lake, pool well appointed, tiki hut with food and drinks. One restaurant, which the food was unexpectedly good. Service at the restaurant however was slow and the staff seemed a little under trained, yet pleasant. I would highly recommend this hotel as a destination if staying in Kallispell, Whitfish area. A great retreat from the usual hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view or partial lake view to really enjoy the lodge and get your value. Its a pricey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mollythedog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
2.4 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
1.5 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
184 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
332 reviews
17.3 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
336 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grouse Mountain Lodge
Grouse Mountain Lodge
#6 of 17 in Whitefish
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Whitefish Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Whitefish Lake

Address: 1380 Wisconsin Ave, Whitefish, MT 59937-3338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whitefish
Price Range: $118 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge at Whitefish Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Whitefish Lake is a mile from downtown Whitefish between Whitefish Lake and the Viking Creek Wetland Preserve. Offering classic hotel rooms in our Viking Lodge, suites in our main Lodge, Lakefront condominiums, and the Viking Creek Luxury Homes, The Lodge at Whitefish Lake has the perfect lodging accommodation for a wide variety of guests! On-site amenities and services include the Boat Club Lounge & Restaurant, the Spa at Whitefish Lake offering full day spa services, the Coffee Dock Cafe, (seasonal) Lakefront Tiki Bar, the full-service Marina at Whitefish Lake, Viking Falls indoor pool & hot tub, Lakefront hot tub and seasonal outdoor pool, concierge services, the Mercantile at the Lodge, airport, downtown & ski shuttle service, complimentary valet service, and free parking. As Montana's only AAA Four-Diamond rated property, we look forward to having you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lodge at Whitefish Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Whitefish Lake Hotel Whitefish
Hotel Whitefish Lake
Resort Whitefish Lake
Lodge At Whitefish Lake Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing