We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I had stayed here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Had dinner here and had a great meal. We had great service, were seated immediately and did not have to wait for drinks or food. The view is beautiful. The pool is very nice with outside bar. We enjoyed watching the sunset from the marina. A really pretty property. I did not see the rooms but would definitely stay if they were like the public areas.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neverstaysahome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

748 - 754 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife, two kids and I visited the Lodge for the first time in August, 2013. I chose it because we wanted to be somewhere near Glacier National Park, but at a somewhat upscale yet still "rustic" lodge or resort. The Lodge at Whitefish Lake mostly filled the bill for us. We stayed in the area for five days, which was just right for us. Any longer than that and I think we would have been a bit bored. On to the review...

Positives:
- The lake view is beautiful.
- The property is nice and in good shape; it appears they keep the place up nicely.
- The staff, for the most part, is incredibly friendly and outgoing. We had one waitress that was a little absent-minded but other than that it was quite remarkable how friendly and accomodating everyone was.
- The concierge, though a bit slow via email, did a great job for us. They booked our zip line tour, red bus tour, fly fishing and spa treatments. We were quite happy with everything they did for us.
- Boat House restaurant food was very good; and if you can get "Brandon" as your waiter...get him. One of the best waiters I've ever encountered.
- Although the lodge is a bit cozy in size, we had enough to do if we stayed there. We rented kayaks, paddle boards and jet skiis (twice). They also have boat rentals - they were fairly new. They also have a walking/hiking path behind the rear units, though we didn't get out there.
- Our room (# 234) was plenty big for the four of us. It also had a nice little frig and kitchenette set up, as well as a gas fireplace and seating area. We rarely bumped into each other.
- Free valet service! Yes, I tipped them every time so it wasn't really "free", but quite reasonable compared to other resorts I've stayed at.

Negatives:
- At $400/night for the lake view room, it's a bit pricey.
- It appears most of the lake view rooms overlook the restaurant, bar, pool and wedding reception areas. Our room was RIGHT ABOVE the bar area and the deck outside the main Boat House bar. Fortunatey only one night was quite loud - with some drunken guys wrapping up about 1:30 a.m. The windows and glass doors leading out to our little deck were good quality and blocked quite a bit of the noise, but nonetheless I could hear it and most of us had a hard time sleeping that night. And why they allow wedding receptions to take place in a big white tent right underneath most of the lake view rooms is beyond me. Clearly they want the revenue, but at what expense? So if you're thinking you'll get a nice, tranquil, lake view room - think again if you're renting on the weekend days/nights. I'm guessing they end up discounting your room if you complain, but we didn't complain since it was only one night.
- Wait staff is hit or miss. Most of them were very friendly, but out by the pool they seemed to have a hard time getting around to everyone on a regular basis (and the pool isn't that big). It causes you to get up and walk to the tiki bar if you really want something. Not the end of the world, but if you want to sit and soak up the sun, be prepared to get a little exercise now and then.
- Food delivery time was slow in the restaurant. We ate at the main Boat House restaurant several times and each time the food delivery was quite slow. Fortunately the view makes up for it.
- Spa was so-so. My wife said there was no real special treatment feel to it; for instance they don't offer you a robe and tea when you first show up...they just plunk you down in a waiting room. I'm not a spa kind of guy so it doesn't sound like a big deal to me, but my wife said it didn't really compare to most of the spas she's visited at other decent resorts.
- Concierge, while helpful, was quite slow to reply to emails. I normally waited a week or so before hearing anything back from the concierge; and they never put their name on an email which I thought was a little odd. I allowed plenty of time to plan for the trip, so this wasn't a big bother, but if you're rushing your plans you might want to get a name and phone number and be diligent in your follow up.
- Roll away bed costs $. We ordered a roll away bed and no one mentioned that it cost anything. Maybe we're naive, but to find out it was $40/night was a bit of a shock. The manager removed the cost when we checked out, which was nice.
- Property size is somewhat small. Don't book here if you're expecting a place that you can stroll for quite a while. Walking tip to tip at this property might take you 2-3 minutes; not a big deal for us because we booked many activities.

Overall we liked the resort quite a bit and we'll probably come back here in several years. I would definitely request a room either on the third (top) floor, way off to the side away from the bar area (but still with a lake view) or else I'd consider a room in the building near the nature preserve. You'd miss out on the lake view from your room, but the peace and quiet at night might be worth it.

Room Tip: Careful of the lake view rooms right above the bar/restaurant; ask for something on the third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank strokeoluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

A lovely place to stay after more rustic accommodations in the mountains. The room was superb, the restaurant inviting with view of the pool, dock, lake, and mountains. Most of all, the staff throughout the property were competent, friendly, informative

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We are booked in this room #243 in main lodge right now. First when we arrived to our room, there was ragged towels (should be in trash) hanging from the towel bar, I should have known then this was a mistake. Then we went down to tiki bar, service was terrible if you weren't a regular they didn't care to wait on you. Then after a long day of traveling we were ready for a good nights sleep well that didn't happen, people were in the hall yelling at 1:30 or so, wow no respect for other people. Then comes our second night after a long day of sight seeing we wanted a nights sleep wow at 11:00 we were waken to a wedding reception right below our balcony, it sounded like a frat party, yelling, and caring on. I called down front desk at 11:25 & complained, they would do something right away. Finally at 12:00 or so it was taken care of. My husband complained at the desk this morning & was told the manager would call him, well that call has not happened, he complained again tonight and was told manager would not be back till Tuesday. Who is running this place if a manager is not on staff everyday and night. I would not recommend this place ever.

Room Tip: Don't book one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights to attend a wedding in the area. We booked in January for our August stay and the only rooms available were in the Viking Lodge, across the street from the main lodge. Our room in the Viking Lodge faced the nature reserve area which was nice and quiet, but a bit removed from the lakeside experience at the main lodge. Our general impression was that this was a nice property, but a bit overpriced at nearly $300 a night for room that wasn't on the lakeside. I had a hard time deciding whether to keep the rating at a 4 because it is a nice property, or whether to rate it a 3 because of the high price. I decided to stay with the 4 rating based on the positive things about our stay. The rooms were spacious, with really nice decor, and a fireplace. The bed was very comfortable and the bed linens were a nice quality. The bathroom had nice slate tiles and a granite countertop. There was a separate bathtub and stand alone shower. We had a small refrigerator and nice amenities including robes and slippers. Wifi worked great and didn't require a password which makes it so much more convenient to use multiple devices. The main lodge had beautiful outside decks and bar areas overlooking the lake. We only had one breakfast and one lunch at the hotel (breakfast was not included in the room price), so our experience with meals was limited, but we did have good food and service. We did have a couple of complaints about the rooms. The lighting in the bathroom was too dim. Another family member was staying in a room next to ours and she had the same complaint. In fact she went out and bought a small hand mirror so that she could use window light to apply makeup. Our other complaint was with the outlets in the room. There was one wall outlet that didn't work in our room and other available outlets were built into table lamps (at bedside and on the desk). When charging electrical devices, we had to constantly double check that the outlet was on since there were multiple settings...light on/outlet on; light off/outlet off; light off/outlet on. Working wall outlets would be preferred to the table lamp outlet.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swissmiss001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The concierge was fantastic - really helped plan our entire week-long trip with many activities. The facilities overall were strong. Only weak point was the fitness center, which needs to be updated. The pool, dock, rooms and restaurant were great. Well worth it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisC85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My expectations go up with the cost of the accommodation. Rightly so, I believe. The Lodge at Whitefish Lake has wonderful accommodations, amenities and a spectacular location. The staff all seemed friendly and professional. The rooms are tastefully decorated. The bathrooms - ours included - are spacious and elegantly set up. Why then, would they even offer a room so cramped that you can't open a closet or dresser drawer?
We were part of a large wedding group. While everyone else seemed well satisfied with their lovely rooms, ours was far below what we had expected. No view. No balcony. It was a lovely closet.
Note the room number and be certain to ask about the room size PRIOR to moving into your accommodation.
The fitness facility was good. Not all equipment was in good working order, however. The pool and hot tub are very nice.
Restaurant, while pricey, had very good food and service.

Room Tip: Definitely NOT #349!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank letterdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
2.4 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
1.5 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
176 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
332 reviews
17.3 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
372 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grouse Mountain Lodge
Grouse Mountain Lodge
#6 of 17 in Whitefish
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Whitefish Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Whitefish Lake

Address: 1380 Wisconsin Ave, Whitefish, MT 59937-3338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whitefish
Price Range: $115 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge at Whitefish Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Whitefish Lake is a mile from downtown Whitefish between Whitefish Lake and the Viking Creek Wetland Preserve. Offering classic hotel rooms in our Viking Lodge, suites in our main Lodge, Lakefront condominiums, and the Viking Creek Luxury Homes, The Lodge at Whitefish Lake has the perfect lodging accommodation for a wide variety of guests! On-site amenities and services include the Boat Club Lounge & Restaurant, the Spa at Whitefish Lake offering full day spa services, the Coffee Dock Cafe, (seasonal) Lakefront Tiki Bar, the full-service Marina at Whitefish Lake, Viking Falls indoor pool & hot tub, Lakefront hot tub and seasonal outdoor pool, concierge services, the Mercantile at the Lodge, airport, downtown & ski shuttle service, complimentary valet service, and free parking. As Montana's only AAA Four-Diamond rated property, we look forward to having you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Lodge at Whitefish Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Whitefish Lake Hotel Whitefish
Hotel Whitefish Lake
Resort Whitefish Lake
Lodge At Whitefish Lake Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing