We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Posh overall but lacking attention to detail in rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This hotel seems like a great place for destination weddings and honeymoons to make your friends jealous. It was indeed beautiful. However for a couple of roadtrippers who were really just interested in a fireplace, comfy chairs and a room with a view, this hotel was way too much. It was a huge facility with mandatory valet and bellman services. Losing easy access to our car (in which we had traveled 2500 miles to get there) did not feel like a luxury.

Like many resorts, there was no complementary breakfast, no free coffee in the lobby. The coffee stand in the lobby ($4 for a plain old cup o' joe) didn't open till after 7 AM. The meals in the restaurant were good but expensive; the bar/grill was better. There was a nice dining deck outdoors, as well as a bar down by the pool and boat docks.

All the staff were very cheerful. We really appreciated the concierge who arranged Glacier NP tours for us.

The room was fine, though the kitchenette was stocked with nothing but glassware. The two club chairs in front of the gas fireplace were cozy, but there was no reading lamp to go with them. Our "partial lake view" was very partial. The door to our porch had a broken lock. Altho we were on the 3rd floor, people from the neighboring room could have easily gotten in. The front desk people only responded with a shrug when we told them.

This was not quite the $300/night experience I was looking for. My recommendation: fewer bellman; more attention to comforts in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madinpursuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

783 - 789 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

Traveling from Florida to Alaska and staying at as many places as we did, this was hands down the best hotel of all of them. For the same price maybe $20 more than all the rest we stayed at we experienced luxury with the enormous room, jacuzzi tub, fireplace and balcony all inside the room. Then the pool and lake behind the hotel with the bar..This was a great experience and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Autumn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Wow I didn't expect this type of service and luxury in the Whitefish area. The room was just off of the pool and was by far one of the best values I have ever spent. Very good food in the restaurant as well makes me sure to come back. A 64 oz Rib Eye steak was tempting but I had to pass. Many other super selections.

Room Tip: Ask for the best available. It will be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We enjoyed our long Memorial Weekend stay. The staff was very friendly, the ambience was tastefully rustic, the bar had live music that didn't drown out conversations, good wine selection, great breakfast, and calm and scenic setting on Whitefish Lake with heated pool and hot tub. All the food at other joints were good too, including a breakfast at Buffalo Café and a dinner at Tupelos in Whitefish downtown, and the best dinner was at McGarry's, also on Wisconsin Ave., and just west of the lodge. Best hotel in Whitefish and glad we stayed here rather than in Kalispell. Whitefish has much more charm.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jemejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My wife & I stayed at this lodge during our recent trip to the NW US. We had purchased an additional "package" (the romance package) which included breakfast & dinner for two.

The room was awesome and everything it was advertised to be. By far one of the most spacious rooms we had during our trip and very much worth the price.

As for amenities, the restaurant was good; however, the service staff seemed a bit "put off" by the vouchers we provided them from our "package". If you're interested in using the spa (i.e. - massage) you should make your reservations in advance; we tried to get in the day after our arrival only to be told they only had one opening. While the pool & hot tub looked inviting, it was cold & rainy during our visit - so we didn't get a chance to use them.

The facility is a bit outside of Whitefish (a couple of miles) - so you're not going to walk, necessarily, to the many other restaurants & shops that Whitefish has to offer. But the parking is easy and we enjoyed the restaurants in Whitefish.

The only real negative (other than the perception that the service staff were a bit disdainful of our vouchers) was the smoke that was caused when, we were told, the air handler on the lobby fireplace malfunctioned; which left smoke to circulate up to the rooms - even causing our smoke detectors to sound off. When we told the management about having to have our clothes dry cleaned in order to get the smoke smell out of them, they apologized but offered no other help.

My wife & I would return to the hotel if we're ever in the area again as we believe it's one of the better hotels, if not the best.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RedSooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

What an amazing experience! There is nothing bad to say! the Hotel was beautifully decorated and made us feel like we were in a rustic lodge! The restaurant was stunning looking over the mountains and lake, the pool and hot tub were perfect, every inch of the hotel was special! I was there with my husband, however, I would be completely comfortable bringing the kids there for our next family vacation.
We had drinks at the bar, and listened to the live music, we ate in the restaurant, used the valet service and shuttle, as well as had 4 treatments from the spa. Every aspect of the experience was perfect. Every single staff member we came in contact with was so warm, friendly, and accommodating.
I can not wait for our next vacation in Whitefish!

Room Tip: One little tip... our room was on the second floor on the side closest to the condos. There was a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Starla G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed here for weekend in May - amazing on every level . Highly recommend this hotel. Room and views beautiful. Staff service faultless especially valet staff. Will definitely be back here no doubt. Breakfast and phone charges a little pricey however.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amflanagan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
2.4 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
1.5 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
177 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
332 reviews
17.3 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
372 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grouse Mountain Lodge
Grouse Mountain Lodge
#6 of 17 in Whitefish
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Whitefish Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Whitefish Lake

Address: 1380 Wisconsin Ave, Whitefish, MT 59937-3338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whitefish
Price Range: $115 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge at Whitefish Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Whitefish Lake is a mile from downtown Whitefish between Whitefish Lake and the Viking Creek Wetland Preserve. Offering classic hotel rooms in our Viking Lodge, suites in our main Lodge, Lakefront condominiums, and the Viking Creek Luxury Homes, The Lodge at Whitefish Lake has the perfect lodging accommodation for a wide variety of guests! On-site amenities and services include the Boat Club Lounge & Restaurant, the Spa at Whitefish Lake offering full day spa services, the Coffee Dock Cafe, (seasonal) Lakefront Tiki Bar, the full-service Marina at Whitefish Lake, Viking Falls indoor pool & hot tub, Lakefront hot tub and seasonal outdoor pool, concierge services, the Mercantile at the Lodge, airport, downtown & ski shuttle service, complimentary valet service, and free parking. As Montana's only AAA Four-Diamond rated property, we look forward to having you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Lodge at Whitefish Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Whitefish Lake Hotel Whitefish
Hotel Whitefish Lake
Resort Whitefish Lake
Lodge At Whitefish Lake Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing