We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice place for families”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The Lodge is a newer hotel in a spectacular location, in lovely Whitefish, directly on Whitefish Lake. Excellent lake view from the that side of the hotel, which includes rooms, restaurants inside and out, espresso shop, and from the pool and bar on the lower level. My room in the annex was large, clean, new and pleasant. Very quiet and dark at night, and I slept soundly in the comfortable bed. It is one of the few places in Montana with real front door/front desk service, with prompt valet parking, bellboys and efficient check in. The business aspect of things went very well.

The hotel was full of families with children, which I expect is the norm in the summer, when Whitefish is packed with visitors. Might not be the perfect place for a romantic getaway, in the summer at least. However, I can imagine that it would be perfect for that after Labor Day. Minor complaint - a couple of calls to the concierge were answered by voicemail, with a pledge to call back soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastWestFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    222
    50
    32
    14
See reviews for
261
431
24
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed at this lodge for 1 night at the beginning of our trip to Glacier National Park, then returned for two nights at the end of our trip. Our lodge room in the Viking wing was spacious, comfortable for 4, and well appointed. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner and breakfast, a workout in the gym, and laying by the pool, before heading into the park. When we returned 6 days later, we were in a studio room that was incredibly large and comfortable. We appreciated the free valet parking, the free Wi-Fi and the excellent service from the front desk, the restaurant staff, and the housekeeping staff. Everyone was very welcoming and friendly. Our only regret is we had to check out and fly home, and we wanted to stay longer and enjoy this beautiful resort. We highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: We had a view of the woods from the Viking lodge and this was our favorite. It was very calm and qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldenGirlCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Our rooms were large, but thought the design was stupid. Not really any drawers or tables for clothes. Had to call 2 times to get a remote, once to replace broken hair dryer and fix curtain. Didn't get turn down service either. Then found our door partly open after 14 hours. Luckily nothing was missing. The manager called my home, then mailed a one night voucher (good for 1 year, not in summer or holidays) to me. I'd expect more from a 4 star resort. Too far to go back. The boat rental was very goood, and staff there great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank disguised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

The lodge is beautiful and sits on a beautiful lake. We arrived a day earlier than scheduled, so we had to take a room overlooking the parking lot, which sold for the same rate as the other rooms with a partial lake view. It was frustrating that we had to check out at 11 am and check back in at 4 pm for our other room...I have never had to do that before when having a 3 night stay. We had much better amenities at our previous nights stay in Alberta...it was like pulling teeth to get a knife to cut some cheese we had brought. It had a kitchen but did not have plates or utensils. The rooms seemed to lack furniture for the size of the rooms. For 350 per night I guess I expected more. It was more expensive than others we had stayed at on our trip, and had less to offer.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank datraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Lodge at white fish is best hotel.
I really impressed.
Room Cleanliness, kindness of employee, restaurant... absolutely the best.
I strongly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ikhaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I'm a sober reviewer -- check some of my other reviews. The Lodge at Whitefish Lake is one of the nicest, most perfect vacation spots I've seen. I would be hard-pressed to find a negative comment. Our stay here was for 4 days in June 2011, with my family of 4 and 18 extended family members. We are notoriously unorganized group -- we don't plan ahead all that well, we don't communicate upfront, etc. The Lodge was incredibly accommodating. We didn't want for anything. The staff was consistently gracious, and EVERYONE smiled and thanked us for being here. The bar and restaurant were solid, lively, fun. The breakfast buffet was great quality, good variety, very reasonably-priced ($10 adults, $7 kids!). The rooms are spacious, great quality, nice decor, very comfortable. Gas-operated fireplace and roomy bathroom with huge tub. Very comfortable beds with quality linens.
And the BEST part -- the surroundings are incredible. Whitefish lake is drop-dead gorgeous, with snowcapped mountains in the background. Tall evergreens surround it. The Lodge has powerboats and pontoon boats, and jetskis, available just behind the building at their private marina. The outdoor pool and huge hot tub are heated year-round. The grounds are well- and beautifully kept, with flowers planted everywhere.
The Lodge has FREE valet parking, FREE internet access in every room, FREE business center with a printer... no sign anywhere of nickel-and-dime gouging the guests.
The people at the Lodge and in town are warm and welcoming, and the downtown is charming and rustic without being run-down.
Beautiful place for family vacations, weddings, even corporate getaways. Easy drive (30 mins) to West Glacier entrance to the national park; also short drive to ski slopes and other attractions.
OUTSTANDING job to the Lodge. I can't wait to come back, and can't wait to encourage my friends to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank knwpsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Our family stayed at the Lodge for 3 nights while visiting Glacier National Park. The 30 minute drive to the west entrance of the park was a small price to pay for our wonderful experience.
We were booked in a QQ in the newer portion of the hotel, the Viking Lodge. The room was large and spacious, which is a huge plus when traveling with kids, especially teenagers. The in-room fireplace was a lovely, functional touch that we all enjoyed immensely. The bathroom was large, contained both a tub and a large shower, and beautifully decorated; the bath products provided were simply outstanding.
Both the main lodge and the smaller Viking addition had wonderfully appointed public spaces. We enjoyed exploring both and making use of the many seating areas. The hotel's restaurant was always full, although we did not make use of it during our stay.
I must also give a tip of my hat to the maid services; our room was always clean and well taken care of upon our return from our days adventures. My daughter fell in love with the plush bear that decorated the room and I noticed that special care was taken with his placement upon the bed when it was realized that he was being "loved." He came home with us for a reasonable cost.
My only small (very) complaint relates to the 1 AM fire alarm that left all of the guests standing in the parking lot in the middle of the night for an hour. Evidently, a pipe burst, flooding 4-5 rooms which then triggered the fire alarm. While certainly not a predictable event and not something I hold the hotel accountable for, it would have been nice if some small token gesture had been extended to the inconvenienced guests, even if it was only the offer of free morning coffee from the hotel's coffee bar.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CMS190983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
1.5 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
114 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
3.5 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
17.3 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
305 reviews
6.8 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Whitefish Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Whitefish Lake

Property: Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Address: 1380 Wisconsin Ave, Whitefish, MT 59937-3338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Whitefish
#2 Romantic Hotel in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge at Whitefish Lake 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge at Whitefish Lake is a mile from downtown Whitefish between Whitefish Lake and the Viking Creek Wetland Preserve. Offering classic hotel rooms in our Viking Lodge, suites in our main Lodge, Lakefront condominiums, and the Viking Creek Luxury Homes, The Lodge at Whitefish Lake has the perfect lodging accommodation for a wide variety of guests! On-site amenities and services include the Boat Club Lounge & Restaurant, the Spa at Whitefish Lake offering full day spa services, the Coffee Dock Cafe, (seasonal) Lakefront Tiki Bar, the full-service Marina at Whitefish Lake, Viking Falls indoor pool & hot tub, Lakefront hot tub and seasonal outdoor pool, concierge services, the Mercantile at the Lodge, airport, downtown & ski shuttle service, complimentary valet service, and free parking. As Montana's only AAA Four-Diamond rated property, we look forward to having you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lodge at Whitefish Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Whitefish Lake Hotel Whitefish
Hotel Whitefish Lake
Resort Whitefish Lake
Lodge At Whitefish Lake Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing