We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great motel, great value”
Review of Pine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pine Lodge
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great motel, great value”
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We spent 4 nights in this motel, making it our base, near Glacier Nat. Park. Rooms were lovely, attractive, very clean. The indoor & outdoor swim. pools were most inviting.
The lovely resort town of Whitefish contains a variety of restaurants, all within decent driving distance of motel. Would recommend this motel for mature travelers.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladytravlrUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Pine Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2010
We want to take this time to thank you for your wonderful review. We appreciate you and your business and hope to see you here again. Good luck in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    131
    40
    15
    8
See reviews for
99
128
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

I stayed in Whitefish on a business trip, for one week. Due to short notice, we couldn't book our standard Hampton Inn type accommodations, and therefore picked this place, the Pine Lodge, which was nicely presented on its website.
But, nice it was not...
It was one of the more awful hotels I've stayed at. The location probably isn't bad, but the place needs a great deal of TLC. I want to say upfront that the staff was very nice. We arrived early, and the hotel checked us into the one room that was already available. It was a 'suite' on the ground floor (really the underground, which is the ground floor towards the river - the hotel is on a hill, so the floor of the lobby is actually the 2nd floor). The suite felt exactly like that: underground: it had a sitting area with a window & veranda door, which didn't let much light in, because the veranda was in some kind of alcove carved out of the hill the hotel is situated on. The bedroom section of the suite had NO windows (dark, dark, dark). Which may have not been so bad after all, because the little sitting area outside the veranda door of the room had a light that went on & off all night long: on -- off -- on -- off. The bed was oddly supported by little handmade wood posts - we are not sure why that was. I've attached a picture of it, because it was so odd. This suite featured one king sized bed, a sofa, and a kitchenette with a fridge sized for a whole family. I'm not sure what couple, booking this 2-person suite, would need this monstrous fridge.
Once I checked into the second room, I found more surprises in store. This room, although brighter, because it's veranda was facing the river, had a bed that was held together with duct tape. Yes, duct tape. In addition I had room companions in the form of ants. Not too many, but enough to keep me busy squishing them with a paper towel on my night stand.
You couldn't come close to the breakfast area without choking on an insane, artificial smell of sugar. I could never figure out what that was, some kind of artificial apple pie heated up as a breakfast treat? I had a bowl of cereal the first day, but then found it more beneficial to just drink a glass of orange juice in my room (careful to NOT leave a dirty glass - as not to encourage the ant population in my room!) and pack a banana to work.

I should add the following details: the bathroom was well stocked with good towels, the shower worked well. The wireless internet wasn't always available, but during our stay the entire town of Whitefish encountered a power outage, so maybe that messed with the hotel's wireless router. There was always ample parking for hotel guests.

I cannot recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunhilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Pine Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2010
I would like to thank the poster for bringing these things to our attnetion. We are always glad to listen to our guests concerns as we take them as an opportunity to learn and grow. We have remedied the situations that we can and hope that the poster has a better stay the next time should they choose to try us again.

Best of luck in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
133 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

We were impressed with the look of the Pine Lodge when we drove up to it on our way to the Going to the Sun Road, but our experience with the receptionist when we went to check in put a real damper on our experience. She was unhelpful and down right rude. She did not smile at all and our questions were answered with a very curt yes or no! We could not believe that someone so obviously lacking in social skills could be employed as a front line staff member at such a lovely lodge. Other than this the Pine Lodge is a lovely place to stay - the rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. The pool and hot tub are great and very relaxing especially on a cold night. The location is excellent and the breakfast was adequate. Such a shame about our experience with the bad tempered receptionist!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aotearoanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Pine Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2010
Here at the Pine Lodge we strive to provide quality service and we strive to obtain staff capable of providing that service. It is unfortunate that on occasion those two halves don't quite meet. It is never an easy thing, but we were forced to let the mentioned clerk go. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the service you received and thank you for your comments. I ask that next time you travel through Whitefish you give us a chance to serve you better.

I wish you the best of luck in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, MD
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Room was spacious and clean, with fridge, coffeepot and free wifi. Beds were comfortable and we got a very good night's sleep. Staff was friendly, and the free breakfast was ready a half-hour before the scheduled time, which was much appreciated as we had to catch an early flight. An easy 10 minute walk to "downtown" Whitefish, a fun place to walk around.

We didn't use the pool, but looked to be very nice, with a hot tub too.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaylinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Pine Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2010
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for you review. I am pleased that we meet your expectations amd hope to have the opportunity to do so again.

I wish you the best in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invermere, Canada
Level Contributor
166 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

Ask for a third floor room with an even number. Those rooms are on the non-highway side. We stayed in #316. Great view over pond with ducks, deer, pool, hot tub. Quiet, great black-out drapes for darkness. Continental bkfst. had plenty of choices and great coffee. Only problem as chambermaid forgot to turn off clock radio alarm and we were awakened at 3 in the morning to a loud buzz. Will check from now on! Also, exercise room and pool hours are 8am-11pm. Get AARP rate if you can.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLifeguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Pine Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2010
Thank you very much for the review. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again.

We hope you have pleasant travels in your future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
221 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2010

We recently stayed here while skiing at Whitefish and had a positive experience. Check in was friendly and efficient. Our standard room (no balcony) was large with a bed, sofa and table. The bathroom was large as well and had ample counter space. Basically a relaxing place to stay. The view of the park and river from the room were scenic as well.

There is a nice heated indoor/outdoor pool and outdoor hot tub that we took advantage of as well. The only issue I had was with the exercise room has a few pieces of older equipment that were half functional. Breakfast was fairly basic but the area was large so you can spread out and enjoy your meal. The hotels location was also good..on the main highway and just a ten minute walk south of downtown so there is no need to drive. The ski hill is about a 25 minute drive north of the property.

We will consider staying here when we return to see Glacier National Park in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjc260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Pine Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2010
I want to thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and do hope that you return to see us again.

Best wishes in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2010

My wife and I stayed here one night during our vacation to be able to ski at Big Mountain. We made our reservation a couple of weeks ahead of time and were looking forward to a good nights sleep before a full day of skiing. The room that we were given was room number 307 and was directly next to ice machine and vending machines. These machines inherently make noise so in my opinion it doesn't make sense to have them directly next to a room....most hotels have them in an alcove at the end of the hallway. The ice machine definitely had issues and was extremely loud. It sounded like a jet engine in our room. We called the front desk at 12:30 at night and they told us there was nothing they could do.... My wife went down and talked to the front desk at 2:00 AM and they said they may be able to get us a different room and that we could unplug it...but she couldn't do it. We finally unplugged the ice machine and proceeded to listen to kids partying all around us until we fell asleep at about 4AM. The rooms are very noisy and you can hear everything in the rooms above and next to you which is annoying for those light sleepers.

The hotel would probably be alright for the college aged kids that want to drink and pass out in their rooms because thats about the only way you would be able to sleep in this place.

When we complained to the front desk they were completely unresponsive and it sounded like this happened all the time....They were not apologetic or sympathetic towards our situation....they did end up giving us 20% off our stay.

We won't be staying here again and do NOT recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitefish hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
0.4 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
0.5 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.8 mi away
Big Mountain Lodge
Big Mountain Lodge
#12 of 16 in Whitefish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lodge

Property: Pine Lodge
Address: 920 Spokane Ave, Whitefish, MT 59937-2973
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Whitefish
#5 Romantic Hotel in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pine Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Lodge hotel offers close access to Glacier National Park and is located in the charming town of Whitefish, MT. Year-round recreation abounds with hiking in and around Glacier National Park, golfing, boating, fishing, skiing (snow and water) and kayaking. There are frequent festivals and events in Whitefish as well as an abundance of boutique shops, bars and elegantly-rustic dining all within walking distance of the Lodge. Conveniently located on Spokane Avenue (Highway 93), the Lodge combines the best location and amenities to base a Whitefish area vacation with warm hospitality and competitive rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Pine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Whitefish
Pine Motel Whitefish
Pine Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing