We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of Pine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pine Lodge
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Room was spacious and clean, with fridge, coffeepot and free wifi. Beds were comfortable and we got a very good night's sleep. Staff was friendly, and the free breakfast was ready a half-hour before the scheduled time, which was much appreciated as we had to catch an early flight. An easy 10 minute walk to "downtown" Whitefish, a fun place to walk around.

We didn't use the pool, but looked to be very nice, with a hot tub too.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaylinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 27, 2010

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for you review. I am pleased that we meet your expectations amd hope to have the opportunity to do so again.

I wish you the best in your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for Pine Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 365 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2010

Ask for a third floor room with an even number. Those rooms are on the non-highway side. We stayed in #316. Great view over pond with ducks, deer, pool, hot tub. Quiet, great black-out drapes for darkness. Continental bkfst. had plenty of choices and great coffee. Only problem as chambermaid forgot to turn off clock radio alarm and we were awakened at 3 in the morning to a loud buzz. Will check from now on! Also, exercise room and pool hours are 8am-11pm. Get AARP rate if you can.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheLifeguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 27, 2010

Thank you very much for the review. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again.

We hope you have pleasant travels in your future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2010

We recently stayed here while skiing at Whitefish and had a positive experience. Check in was friendly and efficient. Our standard room (no balcony) was large with a bed, sofa and table. The bathroom was large as well and had ample counter space. Basically a relaxing place to stay. The view of the park and river from the room were scenic as well.

There is a nice heated indoor/outdoor pool and outdoor hot tub that we took advantage of as well. The only issue I had was with the exercise room has a few pieces of older equipment that were half functional. Breakfast was fairly basic but the area was large so you can spread out and enjoy your meal. The hotels location was also good..on the main highway and just a ten minute walk south of downtown so there is no need to drive. The ski hill is about a 25 minute drive north of the property.

We will consider staying here when we return to see Glacier National Park in the summer.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjc260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 27, 2010

I want to thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and do hope that you return to see us again.

Best wishes in your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

My wife and I stayed here one night during our vacation to be able to ski at Big Mountain. We made our reservation a couple of weeks ahead of time and were looking forward to a good nights sleep before a full day of skiing. The room that we were given was room number 307 and was directly next to ice machine and vending machines. These machines inherently make noise so in my opinion it doesn't make sense to have them directly next to a room....most hotels have them in an alcove at the end of the hallway. The ice machine definitely had issues and was extremely loud. It sounded like a jet engine in our room. We called the front desk at 12:30 at night and they told us there was nothing they could do.... My wife went down and talked to the front desk at 2:00 AM and they said they may be able to get us a different room and that we could unplug it...but she couldn't do it. We finally unplugged the ice machine and proceeded to listen to kids partying all around us until we fell asleep at about 4AM. The rooms are very noisy and you can hear everything in the rooms above and next to you which is annoying for those light sleepers.

The hotel would probably be alright for the college aged kids that want to drink and pass out in their rooms because thats about the only way you would be able to sleep in this place.

When we complained to the front desk they were completely unresponsive and it sounded like this happened all the time....They were not apologetic or sympathetic towards our situation....they did end up giving us 20% off our stay.

We won't be staying here again and do NOT recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2009

Average hotel three star at best; The rooms are clean but the board like matresses could use an upgrage. Not the ice machine and coke machine are quite near to rooms 307 and 407. Good if your a cokaholic; bad if you do not like a hight level of white noise. Interesting inconsistency for check out. I booked 10 families here but when asking about late check out was told to just hurry back after our team function checking out late would not be a problem. In the morning a desk clerk then sternly said that housekeeping had only approved two late check outs and thus we could not stay an extra half hour. I am somewhat conflicted by such service from a hotel that you have just given 1500 dollars of business too. Apparently it is not about service anymore.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherpadadeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

We have just returned from a train trip from Minot, ND to Whitefish, MT. There was a group of 23 relatives and friends and we chose the Pine Lodge to be our base camp. They met us at the train as promised. Butch was our driver and he got us to the motel in short order. Some of us rented cars, so the transfer didn't take long. The motel is only about a 5 minute drive from the station.
Jeannie was quite efficient and they were ready for us. They had us checked in in no time and answered all our questions.
The rooms were very nice and several of us opted for the suites. They were well worth the slightly higher price. There was a whirlpool tub in all of the suites. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Ours had a deck and we could see the mountains and the river at the back of the motel. The pool went from 4 to 8 feet and there was a large hot tub. A continental breakfast was included.
All in all, we had a very pleasant experience at the motel. They were so helpful in everything we asked and had a good knowledge of the area. We are looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ndschloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights in a standard double queen room. No fridge or microwave, that was 25 dollars more for a suite. We had a mini balcony (our neighbor's was twice the size) that would fit two people snuggly overlooking a small "river". The furnishings were old, but in good shape, the beds were hard, and the pillows a lumpy joke. The room was surface clean, but we found old candy wrappers and lots dust bunnies under the bedspread next to the bed platform, and a huge ball of hair in the bathroom in the tub. The towels were old and rough, and the paper products were hard and scratchy (but green, so cheers!). The ice machine on our floor was broken the entire 5 days, and so was the dryer that ate my quarters (I was reimbursed after I asked), but there were other ice machines on other floors, and there was another dryer that did work. Not a major thing, just an inconvenience for the guests that should be addressed.
My major complaint with our stay was with the staff. We put out a do not disturb sign, and yet, the maid knocked on our door, and we received TWO phone calls from housekeeping. Granted, it was 11 am, but I was embarrassed and annoyed at having to explain that we were from a different time zone, my daughter was pregnant and suffers from morning sickness, she was talking to her husband in Iraq... and that we were on vacation! What does "do not disturb" mean? The lady that called (twice!) explained that the maids were trying to get all the rooms clean before lunch... personally, their lunchtime is not my concern. I felt pressured to leave my room for the staff's convenience.
I also found it annoying to wait for a half an hour to get on the computer in the lobby (15 minute usage time allowed), only to find that it was a STAFF member on the computer. "Waiting for the end of the shift". She saw me standing and walking around in the little lobby, but clearly had things to check out online. Isn't there a rule for the staff to allow paying guests on to the computer? Or to perhaps ask the guests if they need something when they are hanging around in the lobby?
The hotel is located in a convenient location, walking distance to town, and easy to find for the map challenged. :) Safeway is half a block away, and there are multiple restaurants, fast food places, and a Walgreens all super close, if needed or desired.
Breakfast was bagels, english muffins, boxed doughnuts, frozen waffles/french toast, hot or cold cereal, fruit(apples, oranges, bananas). Not bad at all for a free breakfast.
I felt that the rate of 98.00 a night was steep for the hotel,and I asked to be sent (email or snail mail) about specials, and was told "they don't do that, but they should".
Really, the hotel is ok. Nothing too major that couldn't be fixed. It's got a great pool set up with an outdoor pool connected to an indoor pool, and a nice hot tub.There is a very small workout room, laundry services, and free internet. I also understand that they accept animals, and smoking is allowed in some areas if you smoke (not indoors, but I did see ashtrays on a patio). There was a really nice lady at the front desk when I made the reservations, and again at check out.
We would stay here again because of the location, but only if the other hotels were booked.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tootsie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitefish hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
0.5 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
160 reviews
5.4 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
0.0 mi away
Stumptown Inn of Whitefish
Stumptown Inn of Whitefish
#14 of 17 in Whitefish
98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Downtowner Inn
Downtowner Inn
#16 of 17 in Whitefish
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lodge

Address: 920 Spokane Ave, Whitefish, MT 59937-2973
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Whitefish
#5 Romantic Hotel in Whitefish
Price Range: $102 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pine Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Lodge hotel offers close access to Glacier National Park and is located in the charming town of Whitefish, MT. Year-round recreation abounds with hiking in and around Glacier National Park, golfing, boating, fishing, skiing (snow and water) and kayaking. There are frequent festivals and events in Whitefish as well as an abundance of boutique shops, bars and elegantly-rustic dining all within walking distance of the Lodge. Conveniently located on Spokane Avenue (Highway 93), the Lodge combines the best location and amenities to base a Whitefish area vacation with warm hospitality and competitive rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Whitefish
Pine Motel Whitefish
Pine Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing