We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”
Review of Pine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pine Lodge
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We liked our stay in pine Lodge. Our deluxe room had a balcony and view of the river. We enjoyed hot tub and pool in the evening. Location is very nice. Good cleaning service. I would recommend a small improvement: add cheese and ham to breakfast. I would stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: room with balcony faces the river
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marina_y155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for Pine Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 365 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

We especially enjoyed the "unique" pool, swimming both inside & outside! Our room faced the river which was also lovely. The location of lodge is a big plus, within walking distance to downtown shops, etc. Our room was very clean. Our stay was 3 nights, would have liked to stay longer. Also the breakfast was displayed lovely/quite adequate.

Room Tip: Next time we'll try to book a room with private balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 222Debra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Perfect spot to spend time in Whitefish. You can walk to downtown and take in all the local restaurants, pubs and shopping. You are also close enough to walk to Safeway, Walgreens and Super 1 Foods. We stayed in a mini suite giving each of us three girls our own bed albeit the sofa bed is the least comfortable. We had a kitchen sink, microwave, small fridge and a lovely little patio where we could watch the river flow by - there is a decrepit old trailer across the river that dampens the view. We were on the first floor and very close to the housekeeping room and I expected to be rudely awaken every morning but that was not the case. Even though the hotel was very full the rooms seem quite quiet and housekeeping staff are very respectful. The front staff are very helpful, friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The pool is the perfect size and kept at a very decent temperature. The continental breakfast was as expected if you like carbs but should be extended to 11:00am for those that do and the checkout time at noon. If you are a coffee lover bring your own.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank windyAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very outdated but does have flat screens, rooms are clean but very old looking, the pillows have much to be desired, beds are okay, the pool is awesome, the breakfast is great if you like only carbs and sugar, the "river view" is nothing more than looking at a murky puddle - not a true Montana looking river, good location, and the staff are very helpful. I would stay here again if I had to.

Room Tip: Bring you own pillows
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimeToDrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed in a mini suite room on the main floor for 3 nights during the higher, summer rate season. Although many reviewers have said this was a great, economical hotel, I found it a bit expensive for the quality. Our room was very spacious, but for $175 a night, it was a bit disappointing. The furniture was pretty basic and decor was dated. The bed linens were of poor quality and the too thick pillow was so uncomfortable that I woke up with a stiff neck after our first night. Fortunately, I found a thinner pillow in a drawer, so I slept much better the next 2 nights. The room had one of those noisy, old-style wall mounted air conditioning units. It would eventually cool the room, but the noise was annoying. However, the noise of the ac unit did manage to muffle the noise coming from the swimming pool until late in the evening, well past 11pm. Earplugs are definitely recommended for a stay here. On the plus side, the wifi worked well and there was a microwave and small refrigerator in the room. The desk was big enough and designed to accommodate 2 people working with laptops which was appreciated. Although other decor was dated, there was a nice, flat screen TV. The bathroom was clean and adequate. The breakfast which was included in the room price, was uninspiring like at many less expensive hotels. As for customer service, we had a mixed experience. We arrived around 11 am after phoning to see if a room might be ready early. The manager that we spoke to on the phone was very accommodating and said that he would tell housekeeping to clean our room first and that he would try to have it ready for our early arrival. When we arrived, the woman who checked us in looked on the computer and said that the room was not ready. After a moment of silence, we finally asked, What do you recommend that we do? wait because the room might be ready soon, or leave and come back later? When do you think the room might be ready? She finally decided to call housekeeping and found that our room was indeed ready. Had we not pressed her, we would not have known this. Our checkout was much better with friendly and efficient service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swissmiss001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Ok first of all, the front desk clerk asked for the spelling of my last name and became quite irritated that she couldn't find it . . . from among her PAPER files. Yes, apparently they aren't quite automated. Once she did, she told me "from now on tell people your last name is _________ with a silent "e" at the end." I kindly thanked her for her odd command, and reminded her that since the "e" at the end most certainly was NOT silent and became quite irritated when I attempted to silence it, her plan wouldn't work to improve the lives of any. (groan) The place is LOUD. I hear someone huffalumping it down the hallway and every pounding foot fall shakes my bed and my nerves. Earlier I heard someone brushing their teeth through the wall next door. I'm on the 4th floor, thank God. If I had any lower floor sleep would not have been an option. This place looks scary from the outside as it has a hideous green paint job and looks like it was built in 1960 (with nary an upgrade to see). It is in no way, shape, or form a "Lodge" in a Mountain town, and the only thing "Pine" about it is that you will soon be pining for a real mountain lodge after you get here. The continental breakfast is basically two offerings of cold cereal, frozen stacks of thin waffles/french bread you stick in a toaster, some small donuts/pastries, and apparently the term protein has not reached these parts - no eggs, bacon, anything but carbs. My room (and many rooms) face the road - I can hear the "mountain traffic." The room I was placed in had a handicapped bathroom and the tubes and weird attachments in the bathroom and tub made it appear more like a Borg regenerating chamber than a place for a relaxing bath. You see a "river" in the pictures, but this is just a sluggish narrow snake of river that sits on one side - this motel is right on the main strip and in no way is a country setting. I get warm and especially on the 4th floor, heat rises - but the air condition unit is so ancient that there is only a 'cool' knob setting and it will not go consistently all night. Instead, it will turn on for a few minutes, then turn off. Then noisily start up again, and turn off. You need some sort of room noise to block out the SLAMMING of other doors and noise all around you so eventually I just turned on the "fan" setting - hot room but at least some white noise.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We just took a spur of the moment trip to Whitefish (LOVE this town) and had a very hard time finding a hotel last minute especially for the long weekend. After spending 2 days on the phone I was funally able to book a mini-suite at Pine Lodge. The photos looked great and our room (#114) was facing the river. It had 2 double beds and a sofa-bed, perfect for our family with 1 child. The room was quite spacious, the bathroom was big, too. The outdoor pool was literally 5 steps away from our room and we could access it by simply going outside, it was great. Onsite laundry was a wonderful bonus as well. The continental breafast was...well, it was ok.

In the same token the proximity to the pool was a curse, too, because it would get quite loud at night with the guests having pool parties and swimming way past 11 pm when the pool was supposed to be closed. The beds and pillows were not super comfy either and I was waking up with stiff neck and back, because the mattrass was too firm and the pillows were too small. The walls in the room were so thin we could hear all the guests around us, so make sure you BRING EARPLUGS.

Other than those things we enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in room #114, very close to the pool, very spacious, but can get noisy duw to the thin wal...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svetlana Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitefish hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
0.5 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
159 reviews
5.4 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
0.0 mi away
Stumptown Inn of Whitefish
Stumptown Inn of Whitefish
#14 of 17 in Whitefish
98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Downtowner Inn
Downtowner Inn
#16 of 17 in Whitefish
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lodge

Address: 920 Spokane Ave, Whitefish, MT 59937-2973
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Whitefish
#5 Romantic Hotel in Whitefish
Price Range: $102 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pine Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Lodge hotel offers close access to Glacier National Park and is located in the charming town of Whitefish, MT. Year-round recreation abounds with hiking in and around Glacier National Park, golfing, boating, fishing, skiing (snow and water) and kayaking. There are frequent festivals and events in Whitefish as well as an abundance of boutique shops, bars and elegantly-rustic dining all within walking distance of the Lodge. Conveniently located on Spokane Avenue (Highway 93), the Lodge combines the best location and amenities to base a Whitefish area vacation with warm hospitality and competitive rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Whitefish
Pine Motel Whitefish
Pine Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing