We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look Closely before checking in”
Review of Pine Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pine Lodge
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2007

We were there during off-season so the rates were reasonable. On the surface, it seemed nice. The suite was roomy, had a faux fireplace, kitchenette, jetted tub. But, it had the hardest bed we've ever seen and the bathroom was old, tacky and in need of repair. If it hadn't been so late and we hadn't been so very tired, we would have asked to change rooms. We're sorry we didn't. Right before we turned in, we discovered big clumps of light colored hair on the bathroom floor, which we gathered up in a plastic bag and presented to the front desk upon check-out. They were creeped out and apologetic. The head of housekeeping said she had been on vacation and took off with the "evidence" to address the issue. We asked to be compensated and they only gave us 10% off..........not enough to make up for a night of feeling we were staying in a dirty room. Yuk.....still get the creeps.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank haymaduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 372 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2007

Very comfortable and clean motel. Our room had nice views overlooking the creek and was within walking distance of the restaurants in town. Good spot and recommended as nice independent motel.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank dancingpiglit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2007

We stayed here after reading some favorable reviews. The room is not river view as advertised, more like a creek and some shabby buildings as a view. The room was clean but the bed was the most uncomfortable thing I have ever attempted to sleep on. Only fair for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2007

We stayed here the 4th and 5th nights of our 11 day motorcycle trip. I had booked the hotel in April while planning our trip and even though the reviews for the hotel were not that great...I could not find a reasonably priced hotel in that area with any better review. I liked how the pool looked on their website so decided to take the chance. We paid $160 per night for a mini suite, when we first checked in the gentleman at the desk gave us a room with only two double beds,(I had requested a Queen or King) Our room was changed when I requested a King room. Or "suite" was on the first floor of the hotel near the pool. It was ok, kinda of smelly (mildew?) It faced a old wherehouse across the non flowing river(?) Breakfast was served each morning in the lobby...basic hotel dry cereal, mini muffins, juice, coffee and toast. I had wanted to work out in the "fitness center" that morning and found the door locked..when I asked at the desk(where the desk atendant was EATING I was told I could not be let in because it was too noisy in the am. So I decided to wait the 10 minutes before 8am for the door to be unlocked noticing that directly next to the fitness center was the laundry, on the other side was an employee access corrider and directly across wa the pool. Who would I have been disturbing?? The fitness center is pretty laughable a stepper that was broken and you needed a key from the front desk for the treadmill, which the front desk attendant failed to mention. All in all it was not that clean, and the level of cutomer service was truely horrible....you could tell the people employed there probably could not get a better job at a nicer hotel. The icing on the cake was when we went to check out and the desk manager insinuated to my husband quite loudly that he had "no problem" taking a credit card check(which we cleared with the hotel beforehand and get a way better interest rate on) because he knew we would have money on the credit account and could not guarentee the same for our checking account. I couldn't believe it, so ignorant. We would never stay there again...better to stay at the Super 8 next door. It was a huge waste of money.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roadking07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2007

Once again I am reminded that we all have our own expectations. In reading recent reviews of this hotel, I might not choose to stay here. However, we have stayed three times over 5 years all in February. We paid $67.50 this year for a family of four which includes the continental breakfast of juice, milk, coffee, tea, cereal, doughnuts, bagels, english muffins and oatmeal. Barb, who works in the am until 3 is extremely helpful. The other guys are nice, too. The rooms are clean. The pool is great. The location is very easy for getting to Big Mountain and walkable to town and restaurants. Granted our family is happy with reasonably priced, clean accomodations (they don't have to be fancy, but we think the Pine Lodge is nicer than a chain motel.) Not sure how you can get a better deal than this. Note: summer rates are about double winter, but that is true for the area.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank seakat76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2006

This motel was recommended to us by staff at the Hampton Inn in Missoula, MT. Room was a good size and clean. Nice view from balcony. Office personnel very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay at Pine Lodge and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ladylacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2006

Pine Lodge is not a lodge but a motel with pine wood ceilings. It is said to sit on a river, but it really sits on a fingerlet, or creek, with water that runs so slow one has to look at a fixed point to see if it is moving. The view across the creek is of a rusty commercial building.

It is almost an hour's drive from the west end of Glacier National Park and a real disappointment after spending time in the park.

The [--] made us the reservation but failed to mention the $15 service fee, so beware. This is a contract service.

I recommend Glacier National Park, Inc. as the lodging reservation source. I

1  Thank LeitaLuetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitefish hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
0.5 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
170 reviews
5.4 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
0.5 mi away
Downtowner Inn
Downtowner Inn
#16 of 17 in Whitefish
72 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 17 in Whitefish
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lodge

Address: 920 Spokane Ave, Whitefish, MT 59937-2973
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Whitefish
#5 Romantic Hotel in Whitefish
Price Range: $97 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pine Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pine Lodge hotel offers close access to Glacier National Park and is located in the charming town of Whitefish, MT. Year-round recreation abounds with hiking in and around Glacier National Park, golfing, boating, fishing, skiing (snow and water) and kayaking. There are frequent festivals and events in Whitefish as well as an abundance of boutique shops, bars and elegantly-rustic dining all within walking distance of the Lodge. Conveniently located on Spokane Avenue (Highway 93), the Lodge combines the best location and amenities to base a Whitefish area vacation with warm hospitality and competitive rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Pine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Hotel Whitefish
Pine Motel Whitefish
Pine Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing