We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grouse Mountain Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish(Whitefish)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pine Lodge on Whitefish River(Whitefish)(Great Value!)
$149
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge(Whitefish)(Great Value!)
$174
$127
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Downtowner Inn(Whitefish)
$110
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kandahar Lodge(Whitefish)(Great Value!)
$149
$129
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Firebrand Hotel(Whitefish)(Great Value!)
$142
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lodge at Whitefish Lake(Whitefish)(Great Value!)
$184
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crestwood Resort(Whitefish)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (971)
Filter reviews
971 results
Traveler rating
329
352
157
92
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
329
352
157
92
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseglacier national parkfree shuttleshuttle servicedowntown whitefishhot tubloft roomindoor poolclose to townski hillwest sidefitness centersun roadbeds were comfortableminute driveoff seasonbig mountain
Filter
Updating list...
679 - 684 of 971 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

It's a nice place but I left with thinking it was not worth the $200 per night I paid for the Deluxe 2 Queen room.

Pros: 1) Shuttle service that provides round trip travel to and from the airport and almost any destination in Whitefish.
2) Nice common area in lobby.
3) Bar and Restaurant on premises.
4) Nice decor in the rooms.

Cons: 1) Horrible noise. We were located on the ground floor and not only heard people walking around above us but we also were treated by hearing them "making whoopie" for about an hour in the middle of the night.
2) Sub Par maid service. They cleaned very late in the day and then didn't leave us enough towels. There were 3 of us in the room - first morning we had 4 towels. Next morning we had 2 towels.
3) Slow restaurant service. They seemed to be perpetually under staffed. The hotel was full; wouldn't you think they would staff accordingly?

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hanoscf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spent two nights here enjoying the town of Whitefish before taking the Going to the Sun road through Glacier National Park. The Lodge is in a pretty, green, and quiet area of town. Although completely booked up, our experience with the staff showed them to be helpful and friendly. We had a great breakfast there which was well-prepared and served overlooking the trees and lawn. Our room was modern, clean, and the bed was very comfortable. From some of the other reviews, we wonder if we even went to the same place. We plan to return!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RayS488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were very disappointed with our stay here. The exterior of the property was not very well maintained. Front entrance deck needed stain, lawn needed mowed and siding needed attention. Inside carpets needed to be shampooed. The staff was very nice and our view room of he golf course had us looking directly out our window at a BIG tree. We were gone 8 nights. Tis was the most expensive hotel and the biggest disappointment. We thought Banff would be more expensive, but it was almost half he price. The food was okay, but he music they had piped in was also awful.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Debbie G,

Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Grouse Mountain Lodge. We are saddened to read that you felt disappointed with your stay due to the exterior. We understand that the exterior is just as important to the customer experience as the interior, and we are working hard to maintain those items as best as possible. There must have been a rare lapse with the timing of the lawn, because it is manicured and usually is maintained to compliment the grounds of the neighboring golf course. We will take the rest of your suggestions to our maintenance management to have them look into fixing these items immediately for our future guests.

Thank you,

Cassandra Sunell
Guest Relations Manager
Glacier Park, Inc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Yes, the rooms are spacious and clean, the beds are fairly comfortable, and there's a lovely golf course on the grounds. But those features don't make up for the unknowledgeable and uncooperative staff. Directions to an attraction? Sorry, don't know. What time does such-and-such open? Sorry, I've never heard of it. When will the coffee service be set up for the meeting that starts in 10 minutes? Oops -- sorry! Why is there only one server for the 34 people at our dinner that we arranged six weeks ago? We're short on staff, so sorry. Is it possible to order a low-sodium meal for someone with medical issues? Sorry, honey, we can't do that. Well, sorry, Grouse Mountain. Next time I'll stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: No matter which room you select, you'll be able to hear the extremely shrill train whistle all through the night.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VagabondKatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear VagavondKatt,

Thank you for leaving your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is requested that you call the General Manager, Karen Baker, as soon as you are available to discuss this matter so that we may resolve these issues. The number you may reach her at is 406-863-4716.

Thank you,

Cassandra Sunell
Glacier Park Inc.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here, and felt that it was good value for money. Staff were really friendly and very helpful. Enjoyed our room, breakfast was very good, and I would happily stay here again. Beds were comfortable, room was plenty big enough, good place to stay after a long drive from Alberta, Canada.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda_from_Bucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews