We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good way to start a visit to Glacier National Park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grouse Mountain Lodge
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spent two nights here enjoying the town of Whitefish before taking the Going to the Sun road through Glacier National Park. The Lodge is in a pretty, green, and quiet area of town. Although completely booked up, our experience with the staff showed them to be helpful and friendly. We had a great breakfast there which was well-prepared and served overlooking the trees and lawn. Our room was modern, clean, and the bed was very comfortable. From some of the other reviews, we wonder if we even went to the same place. We plan to return!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RayS488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (931)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

641 - 647 of 931 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were very disappointed with our stay here. The exterior of the property was not very well maintained. Front entrance deck needed stain, lawn needed mowed and siding needed attention. Inside carpets needed to be shampooed. The staff was very nice and our view room of he golf course had us looking directly out our window at a BIG tree. We were gone 8 nights. Tis was the most expensive hotel and the biggest disappointment. We thought Banff would be more expensive, but it was almost half he price. The food was okay, but he music they had piped in was also awful.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Debbie G,

Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Grouse Mountain Lodge. We are saddened to read that you felt disappointed with your stay due to the exterior. We understand that the exterior is just as important to the customer experience as the interior, and we are working hard to maintain those items as best as possible. There must have been a rare lapse with the timing of the lawn, because it is manicured and usually is maintained to compliment the grounds of the neighboring golf course. We will take the rest of your suggestions to our maintenance management to have them look into fixing these items immediately for our future guests.

Thank you,

Cassandra Sunell
Guest Relations Manager
Glacier Park, Inc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Yes, the rooms are spacious and clean, the beds are fairly comfortable, and there's a lovely golf course on the grounds. But those features don't make up for the unknowledgeable and uncooperative staff. Directions to an attraction? Sorry, don't know. What time does such-and-such open? Sorry, I've never heard of it. When will the coffee service be set up for the meeting that starts in 10 minutes? Oops -- sorry! Why is there only one server for the 34 people at our dinner that we arranged six weeks ago? We're short on staff, so sorry. Is it possible to order a low-sodium meal for someone with medical issues? Sorry, honey, we can't do that. Well, sorry, Grouse Mountain. Next time I'll stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: No matter which room you select, you'll be able to hear the extremely shrill train whistle all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VagabondKatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear VagavondKatt,

Thank you for leaving your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is requested that you call the General Manager, Karen Baker, as soon as you are available to discuss this matter so that we may resolve these issues. The number you may reach her at is 406-863-4716.

Thank you,

Cassandra Sunell
Glacier Park Inc.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here, and felt that it was good value for money. Staff were really friendly and very helpful. Enjoyed our room, breakfast was very good, and I would happily stay here again. Beds were comfortable, room was plenty big enough, good place to stay after a long drive from Alberta, Canada.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda_from_Bucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

What a disappointment for the price. Tired, older design, cheap furnishings, and mediochre restaurant food (which was seriously overpriced) -- all way out of proportion to the price tag of $170 per night for a basic double room. But our greatest complaint was the housekeeping service, the worst I've seen (we have extensive experience in everything from 2-star to specacular 5-star resolrts). The quality of bedmaking left us wondering, on day 2, whether the room had been made up at all. Most dramatically, after hiking in Glacier NP, we returned with drying mud caked in the tread of our shoes -- which we didn't realize until the shoes shed hunks of it on the floor of our room. The housekeeping service a bit later (they didn't come until 4:00 pm, by the way) switched out the towels and made the beds according to their apparently routine, modest standard -- but didn't touch the rather large amount of very obvious dirt chunks. No sweeping, no vacuum. Very low class!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HHHMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear HHHMD,

Thank you for your review you provided to Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us at Grouse Mountain Lodge. We were disappointed to read of your experience regarding housekeeping and the mud that was left behind. We have notified our management team to rectify this incident and to ensure that this is remedied in the future for all of our guests, if this type of incident were to occur again. We appreciate you notifying us, so that we can take the proper steps in addressing this matter.

Thank you,

Cassandra Sunell
Guest Relations Manager
Glacier Park Inc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We went here for Board Meetings for our Non-Profit. One of the staff had set this up. She was told the Directors credit card could be used for each of the committee' rooms. First problem, I was told I could not get into my room unless I gave them another credit card. Staff had a bit of attitude. It actually seemed like they had been trained by rote to say one thing only. Second problem, we signed that we were getting a "non-smoking" room. It smelled of smoke when I walked in. I also smelled dogs. I had to speak with the front desk to get them to clean the room the second day. It had not been cleaned by 4 PM. Dark rooms, views of the "parking lot". More noise than normal upstairs due to poor insulation. Nice setting, great area to walk but hotel needs some upgrades and staff training.

Room Tip: Ask for view of the golf course. Lighter and prettier view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingRealtor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear TravelingRealtor1,

Thank you for providing us your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Grouse Mountain Lodge. It is company policy for the front desk to receive a credit card for any incidentals in the room, however we did speak to the group lead and immediately had it changed to group pay for all incidentals. Usually, the reason behind this, is to protect the group or company from incurring extra costs and fees that may be incurred from individuals. While they are responsible for the cost of the room, they are not responsible if an individual damages or incurs other costs. We apologize if this came across as an offensive request. All of the rooms are non-smoking and smoking is not allowed in the building. We do allow for pets however, and apologize if the room had an odor from a prior guest. We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.

Thank you,

Cassandra Sunell
Glacier Park Inc.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This turned out to be a nice stay despite ownership by Glacier Park Co. It is better and less money than their hotel in the park. Located next to a golf course it is a quiet and scenic location.
We came for their Harvest FEST which included a tour of organic farms and then dinner. The diner was themed for local produce grown at the farms we visited and included tastings of local wines and spirits.
Rooms were clean and roomy but the beds were uncomfortably soft. I suppose the same manager buys beds for this place as for St Mary Lodge in the park.
There is a tiny indoor pool, which is really too small for exercise. Breakfast in the restaurant was satisfactory.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Malice6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
1.4 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
1.2 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
176 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
332 reviews
12.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kalispell, MT
1.7 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#4 of 17 in Whitefish
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grouse Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grouse Mountain Lodge

Address: 2 Fairway Dr, Whitefish, MT 59937-3199
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range: $102 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grouse Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our front doors welcome you to upscale comfort and an authentic Whitefish, Montana lodging experience. This fantastic location leads you to exciting year-round adventure. With 143 beautifully appointed guest rooms, fresh and exciting cuisine in Logan's Bar and Grill, an indoor pool, outdoor hot tubs, day spa, and a substantial list of services and amenities, Grouse Mountain Lodge is one of Montana’s finest lodge resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grouse Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grouse Mountain Hotel Whitefish
Grouse Mountain Resort
Grouse Mountain Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing