We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location, yummy breakfast, pretty views, comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grouse Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grouse Mountain Lodge
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
palm harbor fl
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location, yummy breakfast, pretty views, comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The lodge is nicely decorated with an upscale western vibe and a view of the golf course. The beds are comfortable, the linens are nice and everything is very clean. The town of Whitefish is about a mile away (the lodge provided a shuttle) and the west entrance to Glacier National park is 35 minutes away.The Lodge is a great place to stay when visiting the park. We started the day outdoors at Logan's restaurant and we were served great coffee and food. Terrific and helpful staff! Enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Nice to have a room with a view of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weberdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    240
    119
    71
    28
See reviews for
185
275
26
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's a good site to have a business meeting because it's outside view is so relaxing and the decor is so elegant. Just think of having to sit through lecture after lecture and although you are loving the content you are experiencing brain overload and need to process and unwind. Here, you can just step outside and enjoy the very picturesque area. You can literally forget that you are at a business meeting because the setting they have chosen and he atmosphere they have created deeply relaxes you whether you are in the Meeting Room or you have stepped outside on the expansive porch. The only improvement I would suggest is more organization amongst the dining crew so thy can seamlessly handle large crowds. Really, I think the whole operation is better accommodated for small to medium groups, keeping that "retreat" feel.

Room Tip: Make sure to book your business meetings in their Meeting Room. It is exquisite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElAvion12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twisp, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

After our GPS took us to a dead-end in cul-de-sac, a loop around the neighborhood with the back up unit got us to Grouse Mountain. The Lodge is a very nice place. We only stayed 1 night after going to Glacier NP. We would have stayed longer if work didn't interrupt.

We were able to check in a bit early which was nice. We had a king bed room overlooking the golf course. The only negative was the noise from the adjoining room. It felt like they were in our room! Running the fan at night helped to drown out their noise. Otherwise, it was comfortable lodgings. With a bit of rearranging, the desk was large enough for two to use.

We ate dinner and breakfast in Logan's. Dinner was delicious although our server failed to mention the dinner special. Wouldn't have ordered it but would have been nice to have that additional choice. We enjoyed the outdoor firepit after dinner with fellow guests. That was a nice touch. Breakfast was good. My eggs were perfectly cooked and I enjoyed the fresh fruit cup instead of potatoes. Our server was extremely personable and friendly; she is a real asset to the hotel.

We'd love to come back and enjoy a round or two of golf.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twispette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

All of the staff members were very friendly and accommodating. We loved that they had the free shuttle that operated until 2am so we could go downtown and not have to worry about getting a cab on the way back. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable.

Room Tip: Recommend paying the $10 extra for a room with a golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alwaysonthego2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Nice, clean and comfortable but not worth the price. The pool was very small and hottub looked uninviting. The spa needed to have new carpet but massage was great. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. No view except the golf course.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neverstaysahome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Neverstsathome,

Thank you for leaving your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Grouse Mountain Lodge. We thought you would be glad to learn that we have been undergoing a refurbishment process over the last two years and the hot tub and pool are in the next processes of being updated. We hope you will stay with us again in the future and enjoy the further updates.

Thank you,

Cassandra Sunell
Guest Relations Manager
Glacier Park Inc.
406-863-4715
csunell@glacierparkinc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

First, the Lodge is really a nice place. The rooms are nice, we had a Nordic view of the golf course. Beds were very comfortable. Only negative about the room is that you can really hear your neighbors. We could hear the people next door, and above us. Wouldn't have been that bad except the people above us got up at 4 AM. After the first night, we turned the fan on high in the air unit, and that helped drown out the noise. The front desk staff and concierge were very nice and helpful. The restaurant was good, and the waitress was very friendly. Shuttle bus was great for going downtown. There is some construction going on between the lodge and downtown Whitefish. A couple of times, we had to wait 15 minutes on the road to get downtown. All said, I would stay here again. Just wish they had soundproofed the rooms a little better.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the golf course, otherwise you will be facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cking646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zachary, Louisiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at Grouse Mountain Lodge. We had breakfast there at Logan's daily, sat in the outdoor area, good food and coffee. Our room was spacious and had comfortable bedding.
Staff was helpful and friendly. Loved the town of Whitefish! Its is great hub to West Glacier area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
1.4 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
4.9 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#9 of 17 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
18.5 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
12.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kalispell, MT
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grouse Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grouse Mountain Lodge

Property: Grouse Mountain Lodge
Address: 2 Fairway Dr, Whitefish, MT 59937-3199
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grouse Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our front doors welcome you to upscale comfort and an authentic Whitefish, Montana lodging experience. This fantastic location leads you to exciting year-round adventure. With 143 beautifully appointed guest rooms, fresh and exciting cuisine in Logan's Bar and Grill, an indoor pool, outdoor hot tubs, day spa, and a substantial list of services and amenities, Grouse Mountain Lodge is one of Montana’s finest lodge resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Grouse Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grouse Mountain Hotel Whitefish
Grouse Mountain Resort
Grouse Mountain Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing