We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grouse Mountain Lodge
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Nice, clean and comfortable but not worth the price. The pool was very small and hottub looked uninviting. The spa needed to have new carpet but massage was great. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. No view except the golf course.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neverstaysahome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Neverstsathome,

Thank you for leaving your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Grouse Mountain Lodge. We thought you would be glad to learn that we have been undergoing a refurbishment process over the last two years and the hot tub and pool are in the next processes of being updated. We hope you will stay with us again in the future and enjoy the further updates.

Thank you,

Cassandra Sunell
Guest Relations Manager
Glacier Park Inc.
406-863-4715
csunell@glacierparkinc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (929)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

660 - 666 of 929 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

First, the Lodge is really a nice place. The rooms are nice, we had a Nordic view of the golf course. Beds were very comfortable. Only negative about the room is that you can really hear your neighbors. We could hear the people next door, and above us. Wouldn't have been that bad except the people above us got up at 4 AM. After the first night, we turned the fan on high in the air unit, and that helped drown out the noise. The front desk staff and concierge were very nice and helpful. The restaurant was good, and the waitress was very friendly. Shuttle bus was great for going downtown. There is some construction going on between the lodge and downtown Whitefish. A couple of times, we had to wait 15 minutes on the road to get downtown. All said, I would stay here again. Just wish they had soundproofed the rooms a little better.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the golf course, otherwise you will be facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cking646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at Grouse Mountain Lodge. We had breakfast there at Logan's daily, sat in the outdoor area, good food and coffee. Our room was spacious and had comfortable bedding.
Staff was helpful and friendly. Loved the town of Whitefish! Its is great hub to West Glacier area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We liked this place. Lot to recommend. Shuttle to airport and the town of Whitefish. Just call for pickup. Nice outdoor eating area right on their golf course. Has driving range.
Take a trip to Whitefish Mountain and take the chairlift to the top. Great views of surrounding mountains. Stop at the Lodge at Whitefish Lake for lunch...outdoor seating with great views.
Overall enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomorwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our stay at The Grouse Mountain Lodge was a pleasant experience. Attractive lodge property adorned with beautiful flowers. The room was oversized and comfortable. The bed and pillows were exceptionally comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We thought the food was wonderful and we enjoyed the coffee bar each morning for specialty coffee drinks. We enjoyed a view of the golf course from our window and enjoyed playing one of the two courses across the street from the Lodge. We even had a washing machine and dryer to use while we were there which came in handy on our road trip. The lodge even provided the detergent. There was a small, but interesting gift shop with local artists work, travel accessories, clothing and more. All in all, we would recommend Grouse Mountain Lodge as a nice destination spot if you are in the area or would like to see the area. Very close to Glacier National Park. Beautiful!

Room Tip: king size bed with view onto golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

very spacious rooms, great staff. frequent shuttles to take you to town. bed is super comfortable. Food was hit or miss, but I honestly don't know what anyone could complain about.
Way exceeded expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruthanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

The Grouse has that rustic Montana feel. It is not a new fancy resort at all like the Lodge at Whitefish Lake, etc. it is not far from downtown Whitefish, but you need a car and there is significant road construction between the resort and town which causes traffic delays at certain times. Rooms were large but a bit dates with bad lighting. The property is right next to the Grouse Mt. Golf Course, which has two nice courses and is not associated with the lodge. The food at the golf course restaurant and outside deck bar is excellent and they had the best onion rings I have ever had. Great Moscow Mule drinks in copper cups too. Overall, I ha a good time at the Grouse.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyyankfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitefish hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
1.2 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
173 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
1.6 mi away
Big Mountain Lodge
Big Mountain Lodge
#12 of 17 in Whitefish
125 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#3 of 17 in Whitefish
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grouse Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grouse Mountain Lodge

Address: 2 Fairway Dr, Whitefish, MT 59937-3199
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range: $101 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grouse Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our front doors welcome you to upscale comfort and an authentic Whitefish, Montana lodging experience. This fantastic location leads you to exciting year-round adventure. With 143 beautifully appointed guest rooms, fresh and exciting cuisine in Logan's Bar and Grill, an indoor pool, outdoor hot tubs, day spa, and a substantial list of services and amenities, Grouse Mountain Lodge is one of Montana’s finest lodge resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grouse Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grouse Mountain Hotel Whitefish
Grouse Mountain Resort
Grouse Mountain Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing