We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grouse Mountain Lodge
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Maritimer abroad
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great family stay”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our family recently stayed at the Grouse Mountain Lodge and we had a wonderful stay! Our 2 boys, ages 5 and 2, were welcome guests. Our standard room was lovely and clean and recently updated. The pool was warm and my kids loved it (although there was no shallow end for my 2 yr old to stand independently). The staff were lovely and very welcoming to us and our children. The food was delicious. Really, a great visit. I have no hesitation recommending this Lodge to other families

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank proudmummy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    259
    120
    75
    30
See reviews for
196
291
30
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay here. We stayed in one of the suites which had living downstairs and sleeping upstairs. The kids had room with 2 beds. We had king. We loved the extra space downstairs with refrigerator and microwave. The beds were soooo comfortable and the room was very quiet. We enjoyed visiting the quaint bar known as Logan's bar. Our bartender Maria was so attentive and sweet. We enjoyed the place so much that we stayed an extra night. Front desk also gets great marks for us. Great place to unwind and relax. One thing I would do next time is ask for golf course view. We had parking lot view. However, the room was great.

Room Tip: Ask for golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had heard what a nice city Whitefish is, so decided it had to be a stop on our vacation to Glacier Park. We too heard about Grouse Mountain so the Lodge seemed a good place to try. We were not disappointed. The Lodge is not on the lake but on a golf course which was a bit of disappointment for us, but it has nice grounds The rooms were so comfortable we would have stayed on longer if we had the time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, NE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

When planning our trip to Glacier Park, a lot of hotels where booked, so we booked two nights here. We had a corner room on the golf course. It's a nice place but very expensive. $304 a night plus taxes. We did have a couple problems but the manager took $60 off the two nights. For the money I was expecting more. We did not eat at the restaurant.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
290 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We chose this hotel because Whitefish is a reasonable location if you are planning a visit or just finished a visit to Glacier National Park via the Going to the Sun Road. Whitefish in summer seemed quiet which was nice. The hotel is right on the golf course. The restaurant within the hotel was expensive but good food and convenient. We ate on the covered patio which was nice. There is a laundry on site which is really convenient if you're on a long trip. The door to our hotel stuck which made opening and closing it challenging--that had to be known by cleaning staff and it's surprising the hotel wouldn't fix something like that before using the room. The room had two queen beds and was comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hote is not bad to stay at. A little pricey, but nice. Beds are very comfortable. You can hear your neighbours beside and upstairs quite a bit. Fridge in the room is a plus. Tried to go for breakfast at the hotel and our waiter was so rude we left. We decided not to have any meals there. He basically mumbled under his breath that it would be a very long time before we got our breakfast. When we asked him to clarify what he said, he replied. what do you expect with the amount of servers we have. When he didn't come back to take our order, we realized that he would make a point to ignore us and make sure our breakfast would take a long time so we left. We had a big day ahead and we weren't going to let him ruin our day. We went to Switft Creek Cafe instead and it was the best decision.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiredgirlCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassandra S, General Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear TiredgirlCanada,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay and experience at Grouse Mountain Lodge. We were quite saddened to read of your experience with the waiter. This is not standard protocol and we have taken the necessary actions to ensure this does not occur again. We would like to invite you to please contact our Hotel Manager, Karen Baker to discuss your experience so we can further address this incident at 406-863-4716

Thank you,

Karen Baker
Grouse Mountain Lodge
General Manager
406-862-4716
kbaker@grousemountainlodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here our first night in Montana and it was a great location. Easily accessible to the airport and it was right outside of Whitefish which is a great town to walk around in. The room was clean and the staff very accommodating. The small refrigerator in the room was great to put our drinks in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAOSyracuse_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
1.2 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
113 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
1.4 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
304 reviews
12.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kalispell, MT
1.7 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 17 in Whitefish
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grouse Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grouse Mountain Lodge

Property: Grouse Mountain Lodge
Address: 2 Fairway Dr, Whitefish, MT 59937-3199
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grouse Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our front doors welcome you to upscale comfort and an authentic Whitefish, Montana lodging experience. This fantastic location leads you to exciting year-round adventure. With 143 beautifully appointed guest rooms, fresh and exciting cuisine in Logan's Bar and Grill, an indoor pool, outdoor hot tubs, day spa, and a substantial list of services and amenities, Grouse Mountain Lodge is one of Montana’s finest lodge resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grouse Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grouse Mountain Hotel Whitefish
Grouse Mountain Resort
Grouse Mountain Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing