We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch romantic getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grouse Mountain Lodge
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Reviewed March 25, 2013

What a wonderful experience for my wife and I during our 30th anniversary stay in Whitefish the week of March 18, 2013. The hotel staff, decor, cleanliness and shuttle service are all top tier. The beds are absolutely the most comfortable hotel bed in the nation, and we've slept in many! The trip was a surprise for my wife and she felt tremendously pampered by all hotel staff. It seemed everyone knew it was our anniversary and that made it seem very special.
The staff made arrangements for flowers and champagne to be brought to the room, made a beautiful "swan heart" from towels and provided turn down service while we were out to dinner. Our four night stay couldn't have been more memorable and included exemplary maid service, a great breakfast (not complimentary) and 'always hot, always available' Montana Roasters coffee.
The one low point is we were charged at the end of the stay for our 'complimentary' bottle of champagne. In the hotel's defense though I may have misunderstood it being complimentary, and did not mention it at time of check-out. I only mention it now due to other reviewers who experienced similar issues.
We can't imagine a nicer place to have spent our 30th anniversary celebration! Don't hesitate to book a room at this wonderful facility, particularly if looking for a romantic getaway!!

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have a vaulted ceiling. Views from the golf course side are spectacular. Laundry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

706 - 712 of 909 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is an impressive hotel! Beautiful accommodation, large rooms, clean facilities, great breakfast in the resturaunt! Best part - awesome staff! They made us very comfortable from first contact, shuttled us at anytime free of charge, made our stay that much better! Shout out to Cameron and Sean, appreciate you!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeidiR221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Grouse Mountain Lodge now for 3 years in a row, and have always been pleased with our stay. I'm sure there are nicer places, but Grouse Mountain offers good value (especaily since the recent renos). The staff are friendly and courteous (especially Mary in the dining room [she remembers us every time] and Tom the shuttle bus driver). The only thing that I have had issue with (this past trip) was an outside door that wasn't closing/locking. The staff was able to look at it, but was unable to fix it - probably because the entire door and frame needed to be repalced and that wasn't feesible over the weekend - but I think they could have done something to secure that door in the mean time. They assured me that it would be taken care of - lets hope so!

Note: To address the comments about hearing the trains at night... that is something that hasn't bothered us, but is pretty consistant no matter where you stay in the Flathead Valley (Whitefish in particular).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1_4_adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a review of their bar/restaurant, not a hotel. We stopped by on Christmas day afternoon after 5+ hour on the trail. It seemed like the only place open in the whole town! And the food was delicious. Hearty portions, great service, very good value. Will consider staying here if we come again to Whitefish.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Begemoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed ay Grouse Mountain and thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance, amenities and, in particular, the lobby bartender Maria. She was extremely courteous, served us great food and drinks and gave us wonderful ideas for exploring the Whitefish area. We truly appreciated her suggestions and believe she improved our trip. Thanks Grouse for a great second honeymoon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orijnel1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

On a recent trip to Whitefish, we were looking for a place to watch football. After driving by Grouse Mountain Lodge, we noticed they had a special on wings for the game. We gathered some local friends and planned to view the game at Grouse Mountain Lodge. Awesome night!! Even though some of our friends had not been to this hotel to watch a game, they were thrilled with the experience as well! The food was great! The drinks were fantastic and the tv viewing was awesome! Our server was a gal named Maria. This girl was doing double duty, making drinks, serving drinks and taking care of the tables. I did not notice her shoes but one would think that she was on wheels the way she handled that room. You have a gem in Maria!! I will absolutely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wmsunnite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a very easy hotel to get to. Although it is not on the mountain, getting to the ski area is simple and quick. The rooms are great, clean and warm and a lot larger than what I expected. Staff were courteous. One of our reservations was messed up but they did their best to fix us up. The shuttle service is awesome to use.

Breakfast at the restaurant was tasty but getting our food always seemed to take a long time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
1.4 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
1.2 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
170 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
12.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kalispell, MT
1.7 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 17 in Whitefish
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grouse Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grouse Mountain Lodge

Address: 2 Fairway Dr, Whitefish, MT 59937-3199
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range: $102 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grouse Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our front doors welcome you to upscale comfort and an authentic Whitefish, Montana lodging experience. This fantastic location leads you to exciting year-round adventure. With 143 beautifully appointed guest rooms, fresh and exciting cuisine in Logan's Bar and Grill, an indoor pool, outdoor hot tubs, day spa, and a substantial list of services and amenities, Grouse Mountain Lodge is one of Montana’s finest lodge resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Grouse Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grouse Mountain Hotel Whitefish
Grouse Mountain Resort
Grouse Mountain Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing