We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent bar staff and great food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grouse Mountain Lodge
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Excellent bar staff and great food!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

On a recent trip to Whitefish, we were looking for a place to watch football. After driving by Grouse Mountain Lodge, we noticed they had a special on wings for the game. We gathered some local friends and planned to view the game at Grouse Mountain Lodge. Awesome night!! Even though some of our friends had not been to this hotel to watch a game, they were thrilled with the experience as well! The food was great! The drinks were fantastic and the tv viewing was awesome! Our server was a gal named Maria. This girl was doing double duty, making drinks, serving drinks and taking care of the tables. I did not notice her shoes but one would think that she was on wheels the way she handled that room. You have a gem in Maria!! I will absolutely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wmsunnite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    258
    120
    75
    30
See reviews for
194
291
30
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a very easy hotel to get to. Although it is not on the mountain, getting to the ski area is simple and quick. The rooms are great, clean and warm and a lot larger than what I expected. Staff were courteous. One of our reservations was messed up but they did their best to fix us up. The shuttle service is awesome to use.

Breakfast at the restaurant was tasty but getting our food always seemed to take a long time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with a large group of people on a weekend ski trip. The rooms were great and in general, we had a good time, but there was some very suspicious activity. The first night we were there we had dinner and some drinks at the restaurant near the lobby. We were in a large group and had extremely poor service. The waitress was completely overwhelmed and dropped a beer all over some poor guy at the table next to us and then disappeared. The table next to us was a very large group and left before us. When we were ready to pay, the waitress told us that we had to pay for part of the other table's bill because they had left without paying for everything. For some reason they assumed we were together even though we were not interacting with the other table at all. We told them we were not with them and the waitress still wanted us to pay for them. We had to ask for a manager just to get a bill with only our food and drinks on it. It was extremely painful. Then, when we tried to check out, my brother noticed on his bill that there were room service charges that were signed by someone with a totally different name. HIs room bill had also been mixed up with someone from our group who had already checked out and left. The hotel forced my brother to pay the $90 that wasn't even his and said he had to track down the other person who hadn't paid enough and get the money from them. Lucky for us they were very good friends and he got his money back, but imagine if it had been someone who he didn't know very well. Very unprofessional. Then, a week later, several of us noticed that extra charges were showing up on our credit cards. When we called the hotel, they couldn't explain why these extra charges were on our credit cards but still refused to take them off. We had to threaten reporting the fraud to VISA before they would reverse the charges. These repeated episodes cannot be explained by mistake or incompetence and I feel that either staff or management was intentionally trying to steal from us. If you have stayed there recently, I would check your charges and VISA statement to ensure you aren't getting overcharged. I will never stay there again. Even if it was a mistake, they did not apologize or fix it and simply expected us to pay for charges that weren't ours. It was unbelievable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karenb59937, General Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
I am terribly sorry to read about the challenges you experienced during your stay and would very much like to discuss it with you. It appears that errors were made on our part, both in service and communication, and I apologize for this. Please allow me a chance to resolve this and call me directly at 406-863-4716 when you have a moment. I hope I can restore your faith in Grouse Mountain Lodge as your experience is by no means what we are about.
Sincerely,

Karen Baker
General Manager
Grouse Mountain Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is my second visit at this hotel and must say they did a wonderful job with the renovations. The hotel looks great and the rooms are definitely more modern. It's a good thing there's many things to do because the TV's in the rooms are quite small. The new flat screens are only about 21" and difficult to see from the bed.
The front desk staff was friendly and helpful and accommodated a late check out request without hassle which we were grateful for.
The bar staff was great each time we were in though the servers were hit and miss. You definitely can't be in a hurry when ordering anything in the restaurant/lounge. 45-60 minutes to get food from the time you order is typical.
The shuttle service is awesome. The shuttle goes to town upon request and comes back from town each half hour from a central location by the grocery store. The drivers are friendly and quite accommodating with drop off locations when the majority of the passengers are looking for the same location.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the golf course all season are preferable. Some of the rooms on the second floor have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22suzieq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Public Relations Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. Our staff will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Grouse Mountain Lodge. We would like to clarify that the televisions in all rooms are 32-inch (42-inch in corner suites). If you visit Whitefish, we would be delighted to host you again.
Best regards,
Dan Hansen
Marketing and PR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Recently stayed at the Grouse Mountain Lodge. A 1970-1980s era hotel recently tastefully renovated. Beds very comfortable and I slept well following days of skiing at Big Mountain. Free shuttle to mountain AM/PM and drop offs in town. Location is outside of town; better if one has a car, but the shuttle suffices for an occasional trip into town. Breakfasts in the restaurant very good; did not eat dinner in the restaurant although the menu looked tempting. Jacuzzi and swimming pool clean and nice. The lobby has a spectacular fireplace and comfortable chairs in which to read/lounge. The one problem I had was a party in the adjacent room that seemed to materialize out of nowhere at 2-3AM (perhaps that the time the bar closes?). After waiting 40 min for the individuals to pass out, I called the front desk who acknowledged the party when he could hear the noise through the phone. The party was shut down relatively quickly, but outbursts persisted for the next 30 min. Unfortunately, I lost approximately 2 hours of sleep in the middle of the night. The the walls are very thin and not sound-proofed (something for the next renovation?). Overall the staff was attentive and helpful. A good experience marred only by party next door.

Room Tip: Second floor room I occupied had vaulted ceiling. Nice touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beagle1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
153 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I had one of the loft bedroom suites and it was very comfortable. The room was big and woodsy. Like you were in a mountain cabin. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Loved the bar. And Whitefish is just beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf corse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecolonel1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

A large wedding party had gathered in the main lobby. As we have 2 kids with us we didn't want to eat at the restaurant or lounge if there would be a lot of noise or if it was super busy. So my husband asked if the reception was being held here at the hotel or elsewhere. The lady at the front desk refused to answer the question and kept telling him just to ask the members of the wedding party. Needless to say, despite enjoying the restaurant at our last stay, we will not be giving them our business this trip thanks to the rude red head at the front desk.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jumaknapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glacier Park In... M, Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We were concerned to read that your experience with our lodge and dining room did not meet your expectations. We are committed to continuous improvement and delivering the best experience possible and I sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered. Please be assured that I have shared your comments with our Management Team. We hope that you can feel confident that we have heard your concerns and have taken action to improve our operations.Your input is important to us. We do hope we can change your mind about returning to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
1.4 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
1.2 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
18.6 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grouse Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grouse Mountain Lodge

Property: Grouse Mountain Lodge
Address: 2 Fairway Dr, Whitefish, MT 59937-3199
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grouse Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our front doors welcome you to upscale comfort and an authentic Whitefish, Montana lodging experience. This fantastic location leads you to exciting year-round adventure. With 143 beautifully appointed guest rooms, fresh and exciting cuisine in Logan's Bar and Grill, an indoor pool, outdoor hot tubs, day spa, and a substantial list of services and amenities, Grouse Mountain Lodge is one of Montana’s finest lodge resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grouse Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grouse Mountain Hotel Whitefish
Grouse Mountain Resort
Grouse Mountain Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing