We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Got charged for other people's bills with no explanation or apology”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grouse Mountain Lodge
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with a large group of people on a weekend ski trip. The rooms were great and in general, we had a good time, but there was some very suspicious activity. The first night we were there we had dinner and some drinks at the restaurant near the lobby. We were in a large group and had extremely poor service. The waitress was completely overwhelmed and dropped a beer all over some poor guy at the table next to us and then disappeared. The table next to us was a very large group and left before us. When we were ready to pay, the waitress told us that we had to pay for part of the other table's bill because they had left without paying for everything. For some reason they assumed we were together even though we were not interacting with the other table at all. We told them we were not with them and the waitress still wanted us to pay for them. We had to ask for a manager just to get a bill with only our food and drinks on it. It was extremely painful. Then, when we tried to check out, my brother noticed on his bill that there were room service charges that were signed by someone with a totally different name. HIs room bill had also been mixed up with someone from our group who had already checked out and left. The hotel forced my brother to pay the $90 that wasn't even his and said he had to track down the other person who hadn't paid enough and get the money from them. Lucky for us they were very good friends and he got his money back, but imagine if it had been someone who he didn't know very well. Very unprofessional. Then, a week later, several of us noticed that extra charges were showing up on our credit cards. When we called the hotel, they couldn't explain why these extra charges were on our credit cards but still refused to take them off. We had to threaten reporting the fraud to VISA before they would reverse the charges. These repeated episodes cannot be explained by mistake or incompetence and I feel that either staff or management was intentionally trying to steal from us. If you have stayed there recently, I would check your charges and VISA statement to ensure you aren't getting overcharged. I will never stay there again. Even if it was a mistake, they did not apologize or fix it and simply expected us to pay for charges that weren't ours. It was unbelievable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karenb59937, General Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

I am terribly sorry to read about the challenges you experienced during your stay and would very much like to discuss it with you. It appears that errors were made on our part, both in service and communication, and I apologize for this. Please allow me a chance to resolve this and call me directly at 406-863-4716 when you have a moment. I hope I can restore your faith in Grouse Mountain Lodge as your experience is by no means what we are about.
Sincerely,

Karen Baker
General Manager
Grouse Mountain Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (911)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

715 - 721 of 911 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is my second visit at this hotel and must say they did a wonderful job with the renovations. The hotel looks great and the rooms are definitely more modern. It's a good thing there's many things to do because the TV's in the rooms are quite small. The new flat screens are only about 21" and difficult to see from the bed.
The front desk staff was friendly and helpful and accommodated a late check out request without hassle which we were grateful for.
The bar staff was great each time we were in though the servers were hit and miss. You definitely can't be in a hurry when ordering anything in the restaurant/lounge. 45-60 minutes to get food from the time you order is typical.
The shuttle service is awesome. The shuttle goes to town upon request and comes back from town each half hour from a central location by the grocery store. The drivers are friendly and quite accommodating with drop off locations when the majority of the passengers are looking for the same location.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the golf course all season are preferable. Some of the rooms on the second floor have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22suzieq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, Public Relations Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review. Our staff will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Grouse Mountain Lodge. We would like to clarify that the televisions in all rooms are 32-inch (42-inch in corner suites). If you visit Whitefish, we would be delighted to host you again.
Best regards,
Dan Hansen
Marketing and PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Recently stayed at the Grouse Mountain Lodge. A 1970-1980s era hotel recently tastefully renovated. Beds very comfortable and I slept well following days of skiing at Big Mountain. Free shuttle to mountain AM/PM and drop offs in town. Location is outside of town; better if one has a car, but the shuttle suffices for an occasional trip into town. Breakfasts in the restaurant very good; did not eat dinner in the restaurant although the menu looked tempting. Jacuzzi and swimming pool clean and nice. The lobby has a spectacular fireplace and comfortable chairs in which to read/lounge. The one problem I had was a party in the adjacent room that seemed to materialize out of nowhere at 2-3AM (perhaps that the time the bar closes?). After waiting 40 min for the individuals to pass out, I called the front desk who acknowledged the party when he could hear the noise through the phone. The party was shut down relatively quickly, but outbursts persisted for the next 30 min. Unfortunately, I lost approximately 2 hours of sleep in the middle of the night. The the walls are very thin and not sound-proofed (something for the next renovation?). Overall the staff was attentive and helpful. A good experience marred only by party next door.

Room Tip: Second floor room I occupied had vaulted ceiling. Nice touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beagle1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I had one of the loft bedroom suites and it was very comfortable. The room was big and woodsy. Like you were in a mountain cabin. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Loved the bar. And Whitefish is just beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf corse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thecolonel1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

A large wedding party had gathered in the main lobby. As we have 2 kids with us we didn't want to eat at the restaurant or lounge if there would be a lot of noise or if it was super busy. So my husband asked if the reception was being held here at the hotel or elsewhere. The lady at the front desk refused to answer the question and kept telling him just to ask the members of the wedding party. Needless to say, despite enjoying the restaurant at our last stay, we will not be giving them our business this trip thanks to the rude red head at the front desk.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jumaknapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glacier Park In... M, Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

We were concerned to read that your experience with our lodge and dining room did not meet your expectations. We are committed to continuous improvement and delivering the best experience possible and I sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered. Please be assured that I have shared your comments with our Management Team. We hope that you can feel confident that we have heard your concerns and have taken action to improve our operations.Your input is important to us. We do hope we can change your mind about returning to stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We've stayed here on several occasions. Love that it has an indoor pool with comfortable water temperature. The outdoor jacuzzi is awesome (although you gotta be careful in the winter, when the deck can be somewhat slick, but they provide heaters that melt some of the ice off the deck).
Always nice to come back after a long day of having fun, and relaxing there.
Also, the fireplace in the lobby is very nice.

We've stayed here several times, and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeisterEMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed with three young children (7 and under) for 2 nights. We could not have been more comfortable. Our loft room had a nice living room below with couch and TV with a Queen bed above, and 2 twins off in a side area above. Fridge and Microwave in room. Good and easy to brew coffee in room. Very clean. Beds, pillows and down comforters were great. Kids had lots of fun in the pool (a bit too cool for me), and ran between the pool and the clean and hot hot tubs. Watched cross country skiiers on the snow covered golf course as we sat in the hot tubs. They had a craft table in the lobby and my boys loved it. Nice touch and welcoming for kids. Fire places in lobby and dining area were large, warm and inviting. Bar area was cozy with nice leather seats and couches. Dining room was decorated beautifully and the food was surprisingly excellent. Extensive wine list too. Service was perfect. Very easy and convenient to stay and eat in at the hotel. Breakfasts were hot, yummy and BIG. Try the potato pancakes as a side. We had a great stay and would definitely stay again our next time in Whitefish. Even my well traveled 5 star husband agreed - great spot. Good value and relaxing for all.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Loft room -had a view of the parking lot - but did not really bother us. maybe there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frauline93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
1.4 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
1.2 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
170 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
12.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kalispell, MT
1.7 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#3 of 17 in Whitefish
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grouse Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grouse Mountain Lodge

Address: 2 Fairway Dr, Whitefish, MT 59937-3199
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range: $102 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grouse Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our front doors welcome you to upscale comfort and an authentic Whitefish, Montana lodging experience. This fantastic location leads you to exciting year-round adventure. With 143 beautifully appointed guest rooms, fresh and exciting cuisine in Logan's Bar and Grill, an indoor pool, outdoor hot tubs, day spa, and a substantial list of services and amenities, Grouse Mountain Lodge is one of Montana’s finest lodge resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Grouse Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grouse Mountain Hotel Whitefish
Grouse Mountain Resort
Grouse Mountain Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing