We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Lodge/Hotel, nice free shuttle downtown” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grouse Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grouse Mountain Lodge
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Mishawaka
Level Contributor
189 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Very Nice Lodge/Hotel, nice free shuttle downtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We spent a very nice night there AFTER a LONG train ride. The rooms were Large with very adequate amenities, very comfortable, and great sleeping. The food was very good and the food service people were very friendly and accommodating. The front desk people were extra helpful and friendly. They offered to help with getting information about the area when the concierge was seemingly over her head in her job or unwillingness to help a group of people. The free Lodge shuttle ONLY takes you downtown so if you have no transportation of your own, you must hire an expensive taxi or do your own negotiating with Rafting Companies or Trail Riding stables to provide transportation to their places of business , as the concierge was not real helpful. Other than that person, the Lodge is a great place to stay, great surroundings, with plenty of beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glacier Park In... M, Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Hmm. . . Our concierge usually does a great job and is a great part of our team. We'll look into that one. Otherwise, it is great to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to get out and enjoy the area. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    252
    121
    75
    30
See reviews for
192
287
30
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed here after purchasing a Groupon deal, which was a tremendous value at $120 for two nights including breakfast off the menu at the restaurant downstairs.

The check-in (and out) staff was friendly and helpful, and we found our room to be great, with a small fridge, many hooks in the entryway to hang coats, etc., a large and comfortable bed, robes, high quality toiletries (although I didn't see any hair conditioner?), and fantastic black-out shutters. We were there during sort of an off-season, so there weren't many other guests and noise was never an issue.

Breakfast at the restaurant was fantastic, served in a lodgey-looking great room with a very cozy wood-burning fireplace (speaking of which, there was another wood-burning fireplace near reception with couches on which to lounge). Service was great, efficient, and helpful.

We used both the outdoor hot tub and indoor pool. The outdoor hot tub was a treat because it was rather cold outside but who cares when you are engulfed in hot water.

Grouse Mountain was our home base for checking out Glacier NP, and after doing a few hikes it was sure nice to come back to such a cushy and relaxing retreat at the end of the day. We were also able to suss out the town of Whitefish, where the downtown area is located a short distance from Grouse Mountain.

We realize the Groupon made this a colossal value, but even if there were no specials going on we'd want to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HowieRoll09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
223 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just spent a weekend at Grouse Mountain Lodge, our favorite mountain hotel. The room was large, two very comfortable beds, two sinks and a nice setup for coffee as well as a view of the Whitefish Golf Course. Housekeeping could have done a better job as they left lots of smudges on the door handle plate inside and several strands of hair in the bathroom along with a bit of garbage.
However, the package we chose included breakfast which is always wonderful. Great selection and interesting items. Best place for breakfast is to be seated either near the grand fireplace or in the smaller dining room.
The except part of this is that the walls between the rooms are paper thin. Above us sounded like a tap dancing class and on one side we had a very "loving couple".
But on the other side we had a couple of very loud and rude girls who had just picked up a couple of guys at the bar. With total disregard to all the other guests they were loud in the room and even louder in the hallway. Several requests to be quiet ended with a call to the front desk and assurance it would be addressed which, thank goodness, it was.
There is a renovation taking place and we sincerely hope they redo the insulation. Other than that we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glacier Park In... M, Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Yes, we are adding more insulation with the renovations. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in spite of the circumstances. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We visited the week of 10-6-12. The rooms were recently renovated. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was great, a little pricey, but average anywhere else. Didn't get a chance to use the hot tube, or pool, but it looked very nice. The only thing that I hope that they would upgrade is the dryer, our clothes took forever to dry, almost 2 hours. Cain't wait to go back!
Thank You, for a great experience! Paula & Brian

Room Tip: was on the 3rd floor deluxe room. Was very quiet, the beds were so comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Good: Rooms are newly renovated. Amazing shower! 4 standing adults could fit plus 7 sitting on the benches. Shower heads on two walls spraying different areas of the body, plus a rainhead shower in the middle. Loved it. Nicely tiled, large bathroom. Sitting area was nice, with a large TV recessed in the wall. Small fridge, single cup coffee maker, microwave. A big closet next to the front door with bathrobes to use. Upstairs was a big, comfy bed with big, comfy pillows, plus a second little, windowless bedroom with two twins for the kiddies. Another TV on the wall by the master bed. Free wi-fi.

The bad: The wonderful bathroom? Downstairs. You sleep upstairs. Gotta go in the middle of the night? Try not to fall down the stairs. Hanging your clothes in the closet? Downstairs. They do have 3 small dressers upstairs, but the only place to hang anything is downstairs. Need a wake-up call? The phone is downstairs & you’re sleeping upstairs without a phone. The big, recessed TV? Who knows what channels they have as they don’t provide a list. Yes, they fixed the bathroom light immediately, but the light in the ceiling fan in the windowless upstairs room also didn’t work & the maintenance guy said there was something wrong he couldn’t fix. Glad we didn’t use that room except to put our clothes in because we didn’t want to go downstairs to hang them, but it was mighty dark in there. There were individual lights next to the beds, however.

The ugly: OMG! A huge, ugly cockroach in the bathroom! The rooms were HOT! We were there in early Oct., when it was cool outside. We turned off the heat & opened the sliding door in the seating area. There’s a ceiling fan in the loft, but heat rises & it was hard to get it cool up there. Along with the ceiling fan they also provide a floor fan so they obviously know about the heat problem. Expect to hear trains blowing their whistles now & then, even at night, when you’re trying to sleep. I think, however, no matter where you are in Whitefish you’re going to hear the trains.

The restaurant: We had dinner there twice. Husband had steak. “It was good.” $28. Just a steak. Nothing comes with it. He ordered a “side” of potatoes, $3 extra. I ordered 4 sides for $15 - baked potato ($3 by itself), grilled sweet potatoes (2 slices, $4), sweet pea risotto (tasty, $3), and “bacon kissed” green beans (a little too al dente for my taste, $4 by itself). If I had looked at the prices of the sides individually, it might have been cheaper. They did give bread with a wonderful garlic-dill butter. Good food but not exceptional. Expensive!

Expect to pay an “advertising fee”! Really? We pay for your advertising? Just include it in the cost of the room & don’t mention it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AncientPlanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were fortunate to get a good deal on this accommodation through Groupon as it is expensive at normal rates. We could not have stayed anywhere better. It is luxurious - super room, bathroom and the most comfortable beds imaginable. We had breakfast and dinner here and the food is also excellent, with a great choice. The only disappointment was the cheesecake dessert, which was rather plastic - very surprising.

Room Tip: Overlooking golf course would probably be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Visited week of 10/14/12. Had the place to ourselves basically. Nice clean up to date room with the most comfortable hotel mattress I have ever experienced. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Big breakfast comparably priced and top quality. Crab stuffed trout and steaks for dinner were out of this world and the service was excellent. Very friendly staff in the lounge and a good selection of microbrews reasonably priced. The large hot tub was clean and very relaxing in the evenings. One morning four whitetail deer in the parking lot were as curious of us as we were of them. We intend to come back to Grouse Mountain next year for another great vacation!

Room Tip: Ask for AAA room rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joe t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge
4.9 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
18.6 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grouse Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grouse Mountain Lodge

Property: Grouse Mountain Lodge
Address: 2 Fairway Dr, Whitefish, MT 59937-3199
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grouse Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our front doors welcome you to upscale comfort and an authentic Whitefish, Montana lodging experience. This fantastic location leads you to exciting year-round adventure. With 143 beautifully appointed guest rooms, fresh and exciting cuisine in Logan's Bar and Grill, an indoor pool, outdoor hot tubs, day spa, and a substantial list of services and amenities, Grouse Mountain Lodge is one of Montana’s finest lodge resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Grouse Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grouse Mountain Hotel Whitefish
Grouse Mountain Resort
Grouse Mountain Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing