We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start for glacier national park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grouse Mountain Lodge
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The rooms are great, the pool is great and the evening campfire is very relaxing. The staff is very attentive. Shuttle available into whitefish which is a very cute little town . Would stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan6122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (926)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

781 - 787 of 926 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

I travel 250 days a year and practically live in hotels and lodges, so I might be a bit more critical than most. While spending a few days in the Glacier National Park area, we chose Whitefish as our "home base." Downtown in fabulous and the Grouse Mountain Inn is about two miles away, so pretty convenient. The room we got was very large and on the upper floor with cathedral ceilings. The king bed was comfortable, the bedding about average. There was a small desk, no couch or seating surfaces other than two chairs. The furnishings are getting pretty tired but were adequate. The bathroom was about average with run of the mill linens and towels. The hotel has a large restaurant where we had breakfast both our days there. The service was good and the breakfast was what you'd expect at any average eating establishment - nothing special, but adequate.

Room Tip: Get a room that overlooks the golf course. Great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel has been recently remodeled and is beautiful. The bathrooms are large and feature two different rooms with sinks so people can get ready faster. Bedding is awesome! Restaurant is a little expensive and the front desk personnel seemed a little preoccupied when we checked in. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the remodeled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed here for one night and really liked it. It's somewhat pricey - though most things in this area are - but was great. The room and bathroom were clean, reasonably large, and nice. The beds were very nice, high-quality mattresses, sheets, and pillows. Our room had a small patio, and there was a larger communal patio down the hall. Breakfast wasn't included, but the breakfast at the restaurant was excellent. I don't really understand the complaints from other travelers about this place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

My husband and I bookended a two day stay at Many Glacier Lodge (which we also loved) with a first overnight stay and a last overnight stay at Grouse Mountain Lodge, before getting back on the Empire Builder back to Chicago. We really enjoyed both of our brief stays at GML, the rooms looked renovated, very clean and the beds were super comfortable. I did not hear any noise from any adjoining or overhead rooms. Eric, the concierge, was super helpful and friendly, and walked me though the map for our drive to East Glacier - he was right - musts were the Going to the Sun Road, and he also recommended delicious milk shakes at the Park Cafe! Thanks, Eric, for the tips and the help. I also found the patio restaurant to be quite nice, and we enjoyed some frosty Montana IPA beers and delicious food. Altogether a great time, both times, I would love to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patcarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Perfect! Eric is a great guy. We are glad that you enjoyed your vacation, and we are glad to have been a part of it. Now that you know we’re here, see you next time you are in the area. Thanks for taking time to leave us the feedback, too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We came from Brazil so I could attend a training course. When we got to the lodge me and my family got really amazed about it! The rooms were very spacious, confortable and very clean and the staff was very helpful! It was really great staying there! Very good bar and restaurant also.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Flavio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Wow! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that you can visit again, sometime, while not on business. Thank you for taking your time to leave us this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Grouse Mountain Lodge in early June while visiting Glacier National Park. It's just beautiful! I have MS and walk with a cane, and had requested a room close to the elevators 3 months earlier. When we arrived I was told our room would be down the hall from the elevators. When I explained what my request had been, they immediately upgraded us to a room on the third floor that was very close to the elevators! The room was overlooking the golf course with vaulted ceilings and marble in the bathroom and shower. Had a little problem with water splashing outside the stationary glass shower wall and reported it to the manager. Just one of the few kinks they are working out with the new renovations, but they are worth it! The king size bed was so comfortable we didn't want to get out of it in the morning! Lol The Spa was still being renovated when we arrived but they did offer either on site or off site massage services. The entire resort is beautiful and luxurious in appointments and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there! Make sure to drive down the road just a ways to see a hidden gem - beautiful Whitefish Lake! And if you like your BBQ spicy, make sure to try The Shack in town!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlcbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Awesome review! Thanks for taking your time to leave us the great rating. I am sure that our future guests will appreciate the details. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again, the next time you are in the area. I hope you got to take a trip into Glacier while you were here too. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
1.4 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
1.2 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
173 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
12.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Kalispell, MT
1.7 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#3 of 17 in Whitefish
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grouse Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grouse Mountain Lodge

Address: 2 Fairway Dr, Whitefish, MT 59937-3199
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range: $101 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grouse Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our front doors welcome you to upscale comfort and an authentic Whitefish, Montana lodging experience. This fantastic location leads you to exciting year-round adventure. With 143 beautifully appointed guest rooms, fresh and exciting cuisine in Logan's Bar and Grill, an indoor pool, outdoor hot tubs, day spa, and a substantial list of services and amenities, Grouse Mountain Lodge is one of Montana’s finest lodge resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grouse Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grouse Mountain Hotel Whitefish
Grouse Mountain Resort
Grouse Mountain Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing