We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grouse Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Downtowner Inn(Whitefish)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garden Wall Inn(Whitefish)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet Motel(Whitefish)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (968)
Filter reviews
968 results
Traveler rating
328
351
156
92
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
328
351
156
92
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseglacier national parkfree shuttleshuttle servicedowntown whitefishhot tubloft roomindoor poolclose to townski hillwest sidefitness centersun roadbeds were comfortableminute driveoff seasonbig mountain
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
849 - 854 of 968 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Went away to Whitefish for a romantic Thanksgiving/birthday celebration weekend. After a long drive and some shopping in Kalispell, my girlfriend and I arrived at the lodge in the late afternoon. Upon accessing the room, we found it to be quite dated. Everything in our room was likely original from when the lodge was first built in the 1980's. The decor was awful, floors squeaked and there was a odd smell in the hallways.

We ate in the town of Whitefish so cannot comment on the restaurant.

That evening we chose to have a hot tub and found that only 1 of the 2 hot tubs were functioning, which happened to be the smallest one. After creating an infinity pool with the three oversized adults that chose to join us (in the hot tub sized for two) we decided to retire back to our room. It was at about 11:00pm when we heard the first train approach Whitefish. Although the intersections there appear to be controlled with the mountain location, the conductors on every train felt it was imperative to blow their horns constantly. Turns out that Whitefish must be situated on the busiest track in the whole USA. Every hour on the hour there seemed to have been a train that came through that town. Needless to say neither my girlfriend nor I slept at all that night.

When we finally did collapse of sleep depreviation, we were awakened to the people above us at 6:30am. Not sure why the woman felt it was incumbent to wear her high heels/cowboy boots so early in the morning, however with paper thin floors we could hear her every movement.

By 9:00am house cleaning had moved in after the people above us snuck out. As the sound of the industrial vacuum cleaner kicked into overdrive we knew it was time to drag ourselves out of bed and check out of this miserable [---]

I strongly recommend that if you like the smell of mildew, paper thin walls and floors, cheap toilet paper and the sound of trains than people look no further as the Grouse Mountain Lodge in Whitefish will be a memorable experience for you all!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SuccessfulTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrouseMountainLodge, Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

You are right, we agree and are doing something about it as we type. During your visit, you most likely noticed all of the contractor vehicles in the south parking lot as they are inside completely renovating all of the south wing guest rooms. In addition, we will be upgrading all of our guest comforts including soft toilet paper. If you are interested in what that will look like, you can find pictures of the new rooms on our website and Facebook page. It will not feel like the same lodge, and we are excited to show off what we have done! We hope to see you the next time you are in the area. Unfortunately, we cannot move the train tracks that are down by the lake but will be adding insulation and sound proofing to the room to make a more peaceful sleep for our valued guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and were very disappointed. The hotel decor is old and worn. The pool and spa tubs are not kept in top shape either. We dared not try the restaurant with everything else appearing to be sub par. We expected a rustic Montana lodge, with some wooded scenery, maybe a large deck to take in the big starry sky. Wrong! The best thing about the lodge is the proximity to Whitefish, which is a lovely little town with great shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LanieSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrouseMountainLodge, Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

We have new owners and you are right, we agree. That is why we are underway, now, with a complete renovation. If you are interested in what that will look like, you can find pictures on our website and Facebook page. It does not even feel like the same lodge, and we are excited to show off what we have done! We hope to see you the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Our last night on a romantic getaway, we were pleased with this hotel. The setting is very nice, although about 1 mile from downtown Whitefish. But, the hotel has a shuttle that will take you.

The rooms were clean, staff very helpful, and the food was great.

Only recommendation is to turn down the music during the breakfast. Lot's of Heart, Supertramp, and Elton John, but too loud and not really breakfast music.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dholy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrouseMountainLodge, Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Thanks for taking time to interact via TripAdvisor. I am going to find out who chooses the type and volume of the breakfast music for you and make sure that it is more appropriate for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel is located in a beautifull setting. It has an indoors swimming pool and adjacent to the golf course. Although the rooms are of a good size the fittings are generally old. It has thick layers of paint ove rit. The rooms are untastefully furnished and the price difference between a room with a balcony compared to one with out is unjust and unfair.
We had breakfast one morning and the service in the restaurant was also less than acceptable.
The front desk staff, except the person on duty when we checked in, is unfriendly.
Ice machine are located far from the room we occupied.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franzdorette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrouseMountainLodge, Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Grouse Mountain is under new ownership, and we are renovating our entire facility. And by renovation, I do not mean more layers of paint, but complete renovation. It does not even look like the same Lodge. As far as a price difference between balcony rooms and ones w/out, I called and talked to reservations, and we charge the same price. Somewhere there is a miscommunication and I am sorry about that. As for the poor service, let me assure you that under the new owners (Glacier Park, Inc.) that will not be an issue in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed here about a year and a half ago, and enjoyed our visit- then we stayed here again this past weekend and had a different experience. The hallway we were in had a strong odor, the comforter on the bed was visibly dirty, the room was freezing and I couldn't get warm, there were people yelling in the halls past 11pm and the folks on the third floor were squeaking the floor boards well into the evening. It was not the relaxing experience I had hoped for.
The positives are that the dinning continues to be excellent in both service and quality and the beds are comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MTCWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrouseMountainLodge, Manager at Grouse Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

We are happy you had a great dining experience and comfortable beds to sleep on. Underway, now, is a complete renovation to the south wing of the hotel will the north wing (where you stayed) to be completed by the summer of 2013. If you are interested in what that will look like, you can find pictures on our website and Facebook page. It does not even feel like the same lodge, and we are excited to show off what we have done! We hope to see you the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews