We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Duck Inn Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Duck Inn Lodge
Ranked #5 of 10 Whitefish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Medicine Hat, AB
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed September 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Duck Inn for 3 nights mid September. We had a fabulous room looking over the river. The room was clean, the shower was powerful and water hot! There was a lovely deck to sit and enjoy the river flowing by. The smell of fresh coffee brewing filled the whole place each morning and the breakfast (included in the room price) was great. All kinds of healthy selections....and some not so healthy....double chocolate muffins still hot from the oven...YUM! Our stay was made all the greater by the hostess and owner, Shauna. She was always around with suggestions of hiking trails, restaurants, pubs and ALWAYS with a huge smile on her face! Thanks to you Shauna, we really did have a great time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaMedicineHat_AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    33
    14
    16
    14
See reviews for
22
93
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Whitefish Montana is a most lovely town at the entrance to Glacier Park. The inn is lovely with a river running along the side of the property. The property is spotless and the rooms are just lovely. Morning included breakfast was good with plenty of selections. Spent 3 nights here and the manager (forgot her name) could not have been more helpful, gracious and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinnie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My wife and I spent three nights at the Duck Inn Lodge in Whitefish in mid- September as part of primarily a hiking trip in Glacier National Park. We moved to Whitefish as a base when we were unable to get more than a couple of nights in the Many Glacier area which is closest to many prime hiking trails. Whitefish is about a 30 minute drive from the west entrance to Glacier. Whitefish itself is a a very nice small town with some excellent restaurants.

I had been a bit hesitant to book the Duck Inn as a result of some of the comments in other Trip Advisor reviews but I am glad to say that our stay was completely positive.

The Duck Inn is located in a quiet area just off the main road through town and at a walkable distance from the downtown area of Whitefish. The Inn is clean and well maintained. We stayed in a river view room ( the Oberlin) overlooking the Whitefish River with a nice, small patio which was great for relaxing and enjoying a glass of wine after a day hiking. While doing so we could watch ducks and occasionally deer close by. The room was large and very comfortable with a large jacuzzi tub and shower. The king sized bed was very comfortable after long days spent hiking and there was no outside noise to interfere with sleep.

The enhanced continental breakfast was more than adequate with waffles, fresh baked muffins, toast, hard boiled eggs, cereal and fruit. There was a larger communal type table and several smaller tables for four in the comfortable lobby area.

A real highlight at the Duck Inn was Shawna, the hostess. Shawna was very friendly and helpful. She was very attentive at breakfast. She has lived in the area a long time and is full of candid advice on things to do in the area including restaurant choices. We noticed that she seemed to establish a good rapport with all the guests.

We would definitely stay at the Duck Inn again when in Whitefish. On our trip we also stayed at the Glacier Suites in Waterton, the Many Glacier Hotel in the Park, and the Garden Wall in Whitefish. While all of these places at least met our expectations (in good part due to Trip Advisor reviews), we would without hesitation put our stay at the Duck Inn at the top of the that list in terms of overall experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

My husband and I spent 4 nights recently at the Duck Inn. We had a lovely room overlooking the river with a deck to sit out on to enjoy the scenery. The full breakfast each morning gave us the energy to tour and hike some parts of the Glacier National Park which is less than a half hour drive. The hosts and owners, Richard and Sandy Zielke, were very helpful in recommending great restaurants and sights to see in the area. Our stay at the Duck Inn
provided an enhanced Montana experience!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed in a river view room and it was quiet and beautiful. There was a balcony off our room that faced onto the river and it was very enjoyable to sit out there in the morning and evening to watch the water and the sun rise and set. The room was very clean and well cared for during out stay. There was a nice breakfast each morning, with a very friendly and knowledgeable hostess who was very happy to spend time giving you information about what to do and what to eat.

The inn is 13 blocks from the town, which is a nice walk and a short car ride to many sites and activities. Many of the other lodging facilities located close to town are on the highway and are noisy. The Inn is a little bit off the highway and was very quiet. We would definitely stay at the Duck Inn again and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a rivery room - we stayed in the Essex room - each is named individually
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiebird_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for three nights. The location is very quiet and on the banks of the Whitefish River. There was wildlife on the lawn outside the room. The room was very clean and comfortable. The hosts were friendly and made our stay very nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBearNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Lots to do in Whitefish, MT. This would be a good base. Close to Glacier National Park. Hostess provided lots of info. Would certainly like to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cooper1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitefish hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
0.7 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
113 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#5 of 17 in Whitefish
322 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 17 in Whitefish
989 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grouse Mountain Lodge
Grouse Mountain Lodge
#6 of 17 in Whitefish
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duck Inn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duck Inn Lodge

Property: Duck Inn Lodge
Address: 1305 Columbia Ave, Whitefish, MT 59937-2956
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Duck Inn Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Duck Inn Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duck Hotel Whitefish
Duck Inn Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing