We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food, Bar, and Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cooper's Eatery & Drinkery - CLOSED

Cooper's Eatery & Drinkery
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, German, European, Central European, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Cooper's is an alluring new restaurant located in the heart of downtown Whitefish, Montana. With a charming staff, fantastic outdoor patio, a full bar and lounge and excellent cuisine this bistro style family restaurant is a number one pick for all ages and quickly gaining a notable reputation. We gladly accept reservations: 406-730-1018.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Bar, and Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Having visited almost every restaurant bar and restaurant in this wonderful little town, I can highly recommend Cooper's as in the top three. In fact, whether you are looking for truly excellent dining in an upscale friendly environment, or a great place for fun after a day of skiing, hiking, or shopping, this is THE best place. The staff is friendly, helpful, and quite eager to please. It is sometimes a little crowded, but that is a good thing in my thinking. Go enjoy.
By the way the Hungarian stew/soups are remarkably hearty and tasty.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WestLRman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    47
    16
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paoli, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We recently visited Whitefish for some fantastic skiing. While we were perusing the town, we wandered into a couple places to check out the menus. Not finding anything of liking (we were not in a sandwich and burger mood), we continued to walk down the street and we noticed a nice looking place a little tucked off the main drag called Cooper's Eatery. We walked into the front door and were immediatly greeted by the friendly hostess. We peeked at a menu real quick and were excited to see a fantastic european dinner menu

The wine list was nice, so we started off with some glasses of red. As an appetizer, we ordered the Cambazola, which was a large warm hunk of melty gorgonzola cheese topped with garlic and served with a warm baguette. It was fantastic!

Ordering dinner was a little trickier. The menu is loaded with seldom seen european dishes, and well as good old american meat and potatoes. After some flip-flopping, I decided to go with the Jager-schnitzle (breaded pork cutltet served over a bed of spaetzle with gravy), and the misses ordered the Chicken Cordon blu. Our server Sandra assured us these were both fantastic choices.

We finished our appetizer just as Sandra brought out food from the kitchen, and holy cow! Both meals were of monsterous proportions Despite both being breaded and fried, they were moist and tender. The spaetzle was perfectly prepared as well. Despite our best efforts, we were both only able to eat about 2/3 of the entrees, and had to have the rest boxed up (which we devoured for lunch the following day). Sandra came back to the table and assumed we were finished, but we pulled out our inner eater and asked about desert. After hearing the delicious choices, we decided on the chocolate bread pudding. That came out steaming hot and was also a monsterous portion. We struggled to eat about half of the 2 large slices, it was unreal!

We plan to return to Whitefish, and will definitely eat at Coopers again without hesitation. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a good meal in a town that is full of sandwich joints

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stopped in for dinner midweek after Christmas. We were surprised to be able to get a seat right away, as usually the downtown spots are so busy this time of year, but we figured maybe we were just a little before the rush. We were one of five tables in the front section, but not sure how many folks were seated in the back section. We were greeted promptly and given water, but waited at least 10 minutes before being offered a drink, even though there were two bartenders just hanging out. It took several more minutes to receive our two bottles of beer. Our order was placed and the calamari app came shortly after. It was very salty, but squeezing a full tablespoon of lemon juice into the aioli helped cut it a little bit. The salad medley came while we were still eating our appetizer, and I think it would be better served with the dinner instead of before,as it wasn't really a leafy salad, but a combo of tomato/caper salad, potato salad, and herbed cucumbers. It was very good (probably the best part of the meal), but the fresher flavors of this dish would have complimented the main course. I had the stroganoff, which contained only one mushroom as far as I could figure, and, again, was very salty. I asked for a side of sour cream, as the dish was supposed to be finished with it, but there was no evidence of any having been added, and this helped cut the saltiness a bit. My husband had the schnitzel, which I thought was the better choice having tried both. Both were served with spaetzle. By the time we left, several more tables had been seated, and the place seemed a little more 'happening'. Overall, not a horrible experience, but not a great one either. A little more love in the food department and more attentive service might shove it in the right direction.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MontanaHappyVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
Level Contributor
239 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Skip it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Service is non-existent. It is like you are doing them a favor to order a drink. I took the initiative to email the owner and let him know of the problem and didn't even get a response. There are lots of better places a short walk away.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank soloman9993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Wandering the streets of Whitefish with our 10 year old granddaughter on her 10th birthday and needed to stop for lunch. This looks like a pub from the outside but on checking with the staff we found that it was for family dinning. Our granddaughter was treated like royalty and she was so pleased. The food was spectacular and portions were generous. We liked it so much we went back for supper and although the menu was a bit different from lunch it was the same great service and food. The place was crowded so it is obviously a popular spot and we can see why. The staff are very friendly and accommodating.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lois L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cooper's Eatery & Drinkery also viewed

 
Whitefish, MT
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing