We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation, friendly staff”
Review of Hibernation House

Hibernation House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hibernation House
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Just got back from Whitefish for a couple days skiing and stayed at the Hibernation House. Accommodation is perfect, right at the bottom of one of the slopes so you really get the ski in ski out feeling. We stayed in a room on the 1st floor that had 1 queen bed and a bunk bed (I think the rooms on the 2nd floor have 2 queens). Our room was pretty close to the breakfast area but we didn’t experience any noise like other travelers. They also have a common area with fire place, comfy couches and a reading table. Very nice to relax in the evening if you don’t feel like going out. There is always fresh coffee and tea in the lobby so that is nice and the breakfast was perfect as well. Besides the standard continental breakfast (toast/bagels/cereals/yogurt and fruit) they have a warm dish that changes every day. The first morning we had pancakes and bacon and the 2nd morning they made a really yummy breakfast burrito. We didn’t use the hot tub but seems to be ok. Last but not least to mention the staff. Very friendly and really seem to enjoy what they are doing. Have a great time staying at this place. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 627Travelbird_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 102 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

Rooms are basic, but clean. Initially I was concerned about the lack of A/C, but open the windows, turn on the fan, and it was not an issue. Fresh air; what a concept! The nights are cool in northern Montana. This was a good base for the exploration of Glacier, about 45 minutes away. Continental breakfast was good with homemade pastries to add a special twist. The staff was the high point; very knowledgeable and helpful about the park and restaurants in Whitefish. No coffee maker in the room, so good coffee was in the lobby 24/7 as well as a microwave.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Devon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Our family stayed at Hibernation House in August and we were very pleasantly surprised at how clean and how friendly the staff were. The continental breakfast was great. The rooms, though small, were very clean. The size of the room really didn't matter as we were out all day and were there only in the late evenings. We will definitely look at staying there again when in Whitefish.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed here during my visit to West Glacier National Park, This hotel was staffed by the friendliest, most helpful people I have ever met in the hospitality industry. And the Continental breakfast was just excellent; providing fresh melon, home cooked eggs, delicious apple streudel bread, and lots of yummy pastries, in addition to the old bagel and cereal standbys. The hotel itself is a basic style, but it is in a good location on the Big Mountain. Good choice for the budget conscious traveler like myself.

Room Tip: Mgt guarantees you a goodnite sleep by making noisy guests (after 10 pm) pay for your room if they r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WreakHavock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had never been to Whitefish and went there to celebrate a coworkers marriage. We reserved the accomodations online, not knowing exactly what we were about to get ourselves into. My wife, two kids and myself arrive there, I notice that the front doors and all the windows are open. I tell my wife, in a joking way that there is no A/C in the place, only to realize that there is realy no A/C throughout the hotel. Fans in ever room with windows that open. Thank god it was very cool outside. The inside of the room looked like something you would see out of the 60's. Very outdated, very small and smelled like old mold. The hotel brags about being a non-smoking facility, yet there are ashtrays on the front porch of the hotel, with employees taking their smoke breaks on the front porch. The staff was very unprofessional. They would take their smoke brakes on the front porch, while talking on their phones, with the speakers on so you could hear their conversations. The bathrooms in the rooms are extremely small and unaccomodating. There is no room in the showers to do anything. My wife had a hard time shaving her legs in there. There is no room on the bathroom sink to put anything. Most hotels have room to spread out your bathroom necessities, not this one. My son asked me why they had thick blankets on the bed, when they had no A/C, so we had to basically strip down the beds to the basic top sheet just to sleep comfortably. All in all I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. It is overpriced for what you would think would be a nice hotel and is the total opposite of what you would expect of a good hotel, in a excellant mountain resort area. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone. My wife, kids and I were very dissapointed and will never stay here again. Right next door to this place is a very modern, beautiful mountain resort called the Kandahar and is only about $40 more a night with all the modern conveniences that you would expect. Check into there and not the Hibernation House.

Room Tip: Dont reserve a room here. You will be very dissapointed, much like we were. Check into a different h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank monty_carroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend in Whitefish. The staff was extremely helpful and the continental breakfast was included. Great for the price, but be aware that this is not a fancy hotel. Bunk beds and a queen bed and kind of a humid/moist smell in each room. It is located on the resort so good access to mountain bike trails, the Danny On Trail, and resort activities such as the alpine slide and zipline.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We are waiting on a refund response from the management. A group of drunk men came back to the hotel at 2am and decided to keep everyone up for more than 2 hours. Breakfast and leaving were the only highlight of this stay.

Room Tip: Stay in a room as far away from the common/breakfast room as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitefish hotels
0.1 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
332 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
5 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Big Mountain Lodge
Big Mountain Lodge
#12 of 17 in Whitefish
125 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
3.5 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#4 of 17 in Whitefish
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibernation House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibernation House

Address: 3812 Big Mountain Rd, Whitefish, MT 59937-8624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range: $73 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hibernation House 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start each morning with a hot home-cooked breakfast at the Hibernation House, the best secret and best lodging value on the mountain. With walk out, ski in access to the slopes, each room offers one Queen bed, a set of Twin bunk beds, TV, phone, mini fridge and a private bathroom with a shower. The buffet-style breakfast features morning staples like cereal, pancakes, French toast and bacon. Round out your "Hibe" stay with an indoor hot tub, wi-fi and guest computer and a cozy reading area next to the lobby fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hibernation House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hibernation House Hotel Whitefish
Hibernation Hotel Whitefish
Hibernation House Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing