We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No order too big!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shak - CLOSED

The Shak
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout
Description: Southern Fried Chicken, Hickory Smoked BBQ, Catfish, Shrimp and Awesome Loaded Smoked Potatoes.Voted #1 in Whitefish for dinner on a budget! Our customers also voted us #1 in the Flathead Valley for BBQ and Southern Fried Chicken. We are also now serving Catfish,a South Louisiana favorite I guarantee.....
Black Diamond, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No order too big!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

There's nothin' like chicken when you're gettin' a hitchin'! We are from Canada and our daughter got married in Whitefish in Oct 2011. We scanned the internet for food ideas for the rehearsal party and decided to try "THE SHAQ". What a pleasant surprise when we picked up our food (125 pieces of chicken). The food was hot, meat was moist and crispy and the pieces where HUGE! Everyone asked where we got this delicious chicken. We stopped in for lunch again this week and found the staff very friendly, place was clean, price was right the food just excellent AGAIN! We'll be back again on our next visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Armand L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    52
    23
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Whitefish, Montana
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunday After Church Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband and I live in the area. We have tried BBQ at the other two locations and agreed that the Shak has the best ribs. They were tender, meaty, very flavorful and not greasy. The servings were more than enough to fill. The employees were attentive and ensured we were happy with our meal. There was fun Cajun music playing in the background and the dining area was clean. This was our second or third visit and it was a little cold last time, about two-three weeks ago. But the heat was on today and it was warm and toasty. I would recommend the Shak to everyone who wants the best BBQ and Southern food in the Valley!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim5148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia Falls, Montana, United States
1 review
“the shak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

we live in the flathead and decided to go for a sunday drive. came upon the shak in whitefish thought it looked different and unique so we stopped....Best decision we made that day. first sign we saw as we walked in read TRY OUR GATOR BALLS...and we did Super tasty!!!! we also had the fried chicken which was NOT greasy and totally awesome. great seasonings! if you do find yourself looking for a unique dining experience go to the shak and make sure you try the smoked potato salad...its like no other potato salad....yummy!!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Meh....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I finally tried this place out for a take-out lunch the other day. We decided to just give them a test-drive, so we ordered a 2-piece dark meat combo to split. We ordered 2 thighs and a side of mac-n-cheese. I added a side of coleslaw as an afterthought. We were told it would take 15 minutes, so we left to run an errand. It took us about 7 or 8 minutes to reach our destination after picking up our food, and I must say the chicken was still very hot, which is happily contrary to what a few reviewers have noted. The thighs were a little on the small side, which is probably why there was an extra small thigh tucked into the bag. The coleslaw needed something...pretty bland in flavor, and a little runny. The mac-n-cheese wasn't great; not nearly as warm as the chicken, and a little gritty...maybe better when fresh out of the oven or off the stove, or whatever. The chicken had a flavorful, but kind of wanna-be crisp coating...and more than a little greasy. I know this is fried food, but this seemed a little too much. Honestly, we decided we prefer Marcus or Super One fried chicken, but we don't eat this kind of thing very often...maybe we're just out of the fried chicken loop, lol. With the added side, we paid $10, and we left a tip, so the price wasn't bad for the two of us for lunch, but I can't say we'll be in a hurry to return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MontanaHappyVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food Friendly People”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a great plave to go if you are lookng for some down old southern BBQ, when you step into the place you fell like you are in the deep south and the friendly staff make you feel right at home. They have a great selection of Southern comfort food including fried chicken, and ribs
A two peice fried chicken will cost you $7.99 and the fries are just like they should be, crispy on the outside and tender on the inside, the ribs are great and the sauces just add to your chow down. We love this place and will keep going back everytime we pop down from Canada.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank halfamileaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shak also viewed

 
Whitefish, MT
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing