We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the shak”
Review of The Shak - CLOSED

The Shak
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Southern Fried Chicken, Hickory Smoked BBQ, Catfish, Shrimp and Awesome Loaded Smoked Potatoes.Voted #1 in Whitefish for dinner on a budget! Our customers also voted us #1 in the Flathead Valley for BBQ and Southern Fried Chicken. We are also now serving Catfish,a South Louisiana favorite I guarantee.....
Columbia Falls, Montana, United States
1 review
“the shak”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

we live in the flathead and decided to go for a sunday drive. came upon the shak in whitefish thought it looked different and unique so we stopped....Best decision we made that day. first sign we saw as we walked in read TRY OUR GATOR BALLS...and we did Super tasty!!!! we also had the fried chicken which was NOT greasy and totally awesome. great seasonings! if you do find yourself looking for a unique dining experience go to the shak and make sure you try the smoked potato salad...its like no other potato salad....yummy!!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    52
    23
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Meh....”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I finally tried this place out for a take-out lunch the other day. We decided to just give them a test-drive, so we ordered a 2-piece dark meat combo to split. We ordered 2 thighs and a side of mac-n-cheese. I added a side of coleslaw as an afterthought. We were told it would take 15 minutes, so we left to run an errand. It took us about 7 or 8 minutes to reach our destination after picking up our food, and I must say the chicken was still very hot, which is happily contrary to what a few reviewers have noted. The thighs were a little on the small side, which is probably why there was an extra small thigh tucked into the bag. The coleslaw needed something...pretty bland in flavor, and a little runny. The mac-n-cheese wasn't great; not nearly as warm as the chicken, and a little gritty...maybe better when fresh out of the oven or off the stove, or whatever. The chicken had a flavorful, but kind of wanna-be crisp coating...and more than a little greasy. I know this is fried food, but this seemed a little too much. Honestly, we decided we prefer Marcus or Super One fried chicken, but we don't eat this kind of thing very often...maybe we're just out of the fried chicken loop, lol. With the added side, we paid $10, and we left a tip, so the price wasn't bad for the two of us for lunch, but I can't say we'll be in a hurry to return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MontanaHappyVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food Friendly People”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a great plave to go if you are lookng for some down old southern BBQ, when you step into the place you fell like you are in the deep south and the friendly staff make you feel right at home. They have a great selection of Southern comfort food including fried chicken, and ribs
A two peice fried chicken will cost you $7.99 and the fries are just like they should be, crispy on the outside and tender on the inside, the ribs are great and the sauces just add to your chow down. We love this place and will keep going back everytime we pop down from Canada.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank halfamileaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great chicken!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Loved this joint! The chicken is superb- though not the southern battered chicken I am used to. Still excellent crunch and moist inside. BBQ, beans and slaw were excellent too! The Shak has a Louisiana feel with po boys and Gator bites! Friendly staff and clean! Highly recommend it!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank emilycaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food on a budget”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This was our first time visiting this restaurant .
.We were greatly assisted in choosing our meal by the patient attendant. The food was made freshly for us by the young, enthusiastic and friendly staff - great value for what we paid. We would not hesitate in returning to this restaurant when we next visit Whitefish.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crawford694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shak also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing