We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Experience/Luxury at Garden Wall Inn”
Review of Garden Wall Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitefish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garden Wall Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Rhonda and Chris provided exceptional hotel experience for my husband and I who stayed at the Inn for 2 nights. Every detail was thought of to make our stay so comfortable, from the warm crackling fire and hor d'oeuvres in the living room when we arrived to the coffee service brought to our room each morning followed by the 5 star gourmet breakfasts served to perfection. The Inn is so clean and tastefully organized/decorated. Rhonda and Chris cheerfully helped us with dinner reservations in town each night and its perfect location made it possible for us to walk the 4 blocks to the best restaurants. They were truly the perfect hosts at this luxury inn. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great place to stay in Whitefish. !

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayakerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 232 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2011

Thanks to Rhonda and Chris for an entirely charming B & B experience at the Garde Wall Inn in Whitefish MT. They are partners in the business and have a very good rapport with each other and with their guests. Both are very competent chefs (Rhonda is Cordon Bleu and Chris was trained at a local school). The facility is a restored heritage house, originally build for executives of the Great Northern Railroad. All aspects of the house are superbly preserved in original condition (circa 1920's) with great attention to detail. Even the crystal and serving ware is a collection of antiques gathered painstakingly from estate and garage sales by Rhonda. The room prices may seem a bit steep for a B&B, but in my opinion it is a very good value. When you factor in the hor d'ouvres and wine in the evening, the gourmet breakfast in the morning and the convivial atmosphere all day, you really do receive good value for your money. One caveat; if you are fussy about a bit of noise and the ocassional draft which comes as part of a charming old house, this special experience may not be for you. Personally, I find all that to be very relaxing. It is part of the authentic context that transports you back to a simpler, slower time. Having said that, the owners have done a wonderful job of swaddling the place in big cushy chairs, persian carpets and down duvets so there are no shortage of places to be perfectly comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redawgleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Staying in B&B's can be a little hit and miss. However, the Garden Wall Inn is a safe bet. Chris (the Inn Keeper) is fantastic - charming, knowledgable, friendly. Room was lovely, clean, warm. Location was excellent - a short walk to town. Breakfast was amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinosardines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Rhonda and Chris offer an exceptional B&B experience. The hosts are warm and friendly and very knowledgeable and passionate about the area. The house is beautifully decorated and in a great location within easy walking distance to town. It is the "extras" that make the experience exceptional. The cozy living room with a welcoming fireplace and glass of sherry; the fresh flowers in the room; the evening turndown and delicious chocolates; the coffee tray delivered to your room before breakfast (yeah!!) and an extraordinary gourmet breakfast. We have travelled to many B&Bs and this is easily one of our favorites.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina796989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Charming decor..meticulous and authentic details. Convenient location near downtown...a great jumping off point to Glacier National Park and the Rockies. Breakfast is 5-star...farm to table philosophy. Coffee/tea (with a fresh rose and on a silver tray) is served in your room 1/2 hour before breakfast. Rhonda and Chris are experts on the Glacier area and have spot-on recommendations on routes and itineraries.

Without hesitation I recommend this Inn as a destination.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenSDLaJolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

It's true that the rooms are extremely comfortable, well appointed, and the breakfast is delicious but I found this B & B to be a bad fit for me. Wine or beer was offered when we arrived but I do not drink. In retrospect, I should have told them ahead of time that my "dietary preference" was warm cookies and cocoa. It was my birthday and there was a bottle of champagne in the room. It was very pretty in an ice bucket with a vase of flowers but I wish I could have traded it for a chocolate! We must have arrived too late for the hors d'oeuvres and we didn't find any chocolates on the pillow like other people mentioned. We found the room was cold (64 degrees). Also, their web site stated that it was 25 minutes to Glacier National Park but it's closer to 45 minutes. Of course, all these things might be perfectly fine with you. The Inn seemed to be running on a well-oiled script. But when they said "Let me know if you need anything," I didn't feel comfortable saying I wanted chocolates on my pillow or saying "Sure, can I have a mocha instead of plain coffee and can you pack up some muffins for my hike?" Yes, I'm being picky but I feel that a few tweaks would have made it worth the high cost.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nonfatMocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed staying at this gorgeous bed and breakfast. The location is excellent, just a short walk from downtown and the Amtrak train station. The rooms are very clean and charming. After a busy day, you can relax in the living room listening to classical music and sip some complimentary sherry. The breakfasts are delicious. Chris was very pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable. He really helped make my stay such a great one. I would most definitely come back to the Garden Wall Inn. What a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pats80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
0.8 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
0.2 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
373 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
332 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#3 of 17 in Whitefish
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Wall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Wall Inn

Address: 504 Spokane Ave, Whitefish, MT 59937-2781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Whitefish
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitefish
#1 Best Value Hotel in Whitefish
Price Range: $145 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Garden Wall Inn has been catering to discerning travelers since 1987. The impeccably restored 1920’s inn offers five luxurious guestrooms, each furnished with period antiques. Scrumptious three-course breakfasts are prepared by chef/owners Rhonda Fitzgerald and Chris Schustrom. The Inn is a convenient one-block walk from downtown Whitefish’s excellent restaurants, shops and nightspots. Only 25 minutes from Glacier National Park, the Inn is the perfect base for exploring the Park. The Inn is built in the "Colonial Revival" style with a gambrel roof and clapboard siding. The interior is accented by original solid maple flooring, arts-and-crafts fir moldings, and beveled-glass french doors. The guestrooms’ private baths boast huge claw-foot tubs, pedestal sinks, and black-and-white art-deco tile. Oriental carpets and fine antique furniture complement the lovely rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garden Wall Inn Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing