We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charmed in Whitefish”
Review of Garden Wall Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitefish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garden Wall Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charmed in Whitefish”
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Thanks to Rhonda and Chris for an entirely charming B & B experience at the Garde Wall Inn in Whitefish MT. They are partners in the business and have a very good rapport with each other and with their guests. Both are very competent chefs (Rhonda is Cordon Bleu and Chris was trained at a local school). The facility is a restored heritage house, originally build for executives of the Great Northern Railroad. All aspects of the house are superbly preserved in original condition (circa 1920's) with great attention to detail. Even the crystal and serving ware is a collection of antiques gathered painstakingly from estate and garage sales by Rhonda. The room prices may seem a bit steep for a B&B, but in my opinion it is a very good value. When you factor in the hor d'ouvres and wine in the evening, the gourmet breakfast in the morning and the convivial atmosphere all day, you really do receive good value for your money. One caveat; if you are fussy about a bit of noise and the ocassional draft which comes as part of a charming old house, this special experience may not be for you. Personally, I find all that to be very relaxing. It is part of the authentic context that transports you back to a simpler, slower time. Having said that, the owners have done a wonderful job of swaddling the place in big cushy chairs, persian carpets and down duvets so there are no shortage of places to be perfectly comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redawgleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
144
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Staying in B&B's can be a little hit and miss. However, the Garden Wall Inn is a safe bet. Chris (the Inn Keeper) is fantastic - charming, knowledgable, friendly. Room was lovely, clean, warm. Location was excellent - a short walk to town. Breakfast was amazing.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinosardines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Rhonda and Chris offer an exceptional B&B experience. The hosts are warm and friendly and very knowledgeable and passionate about the area. The house is beautifully decorated and in a great location within easy walking distance to town. It is the "extras" that make the experience exceptional. The cozy living room with a welcoming fireplace and glass of sherry; the fresh flowers in the room; the evening turndown and delicious chocolates; the coffee tray delivered to your room before breakfast (yeah!!) and an extraordinary gourmet breakfast. We have travelled to many B&Bs and this is easily one of our favorites.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina796989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla
1 review
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Charming decor..meticulous and authentic details. Convenient location near downtown...a great jumping off point to Glacier National Park and the Rockies. Breakfast is 5-star...farm to table philosophy. Coffee/tea (with a fresh rose and on a silver tray) is served in your room 1/2 hour before breakfast. Rhonda and Chris are experts on the Glacier area and have spot-on recommendations on routes and itineraries.

Without hesitation I recommend this Inn as a destination.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenSDLaJolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

It's true that the rooms are extremely comfortable, well appointed, and the breakfast is delicious but I found this B & B to be a bad fit for me. Wine or beer was offered when we arrived but I do not drink. In retrospect, I should have told them ahead of time that my "dietary preference" was warm cookies and cocoa. It was my birthday and there was a bottle of champagne in the room. It was very pretty in an ice bucket with a vase of flowers but I wish I could have traded it for a chocolate! We must have arrived too late for the hors d'oeuvres and we didn't find any chocolates on the pillow like other people mentioned. We found the room was cold (64 degrees). Also, their web site stated that it was 25 minutes to Glacier National Park but it's closer to 45 minutes. Of course, all these things might be perfectly fine with you. The Inn seemed to be running on a well-oiled script. But when they said "Let me know if you need anything," I didn't feel comfortable saying I wanted chocolates on my pillow or saying "Sure, can I have a mocha instead of plain coffee and can you pack up some muffins for my hike?" Yes, I'm being picky but I feel that a few tweaks would have made it worth the high cost.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nonfatMocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed staying at this gorgeous bed and breakfast. The location is excellent, just a short walk from downtown and the Amtrak train station. The rooms are very clean and charming. After a busy day, you can relax in the living room listening to classical music and sip some complimentary sherry. The breakfasts are delicious. Chris was very pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable. He really helped make my stay such a great one. I would most definitely come back to the Garden Wall Inn. What a great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pats80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

I can't say enough good things about the Garden Wall Inn. This is a very comfortable B & B in a neat little town. The rooms are fabulous, but the superlatives don't stop there. The owners, Chris and Rhonda, just do everything they can to make your stay perfect. But, it's not just their effort. They are gifted chefs. Therefore, the breakfasts are creative and so very tasty. They even get your input as to your diet and preferences. In early evening, guests are also treated to hors d'oeuvres along with wine/beer....a nice touch. And...maybe the best thing about this inn is that Chris and Rhonda are just wonderful hosts with a wealth of knowledge about the area and outdoor pursuits.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fredo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitefish hotels
0.2 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Downtowner Inn
Downtowner Inn
#15 of 17 in Whitefish
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stumptown Inn of Whitefish
Stumptown Inn of Whitefish
#14 of 17 in Whitefish
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Wall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Wall Inn

Property: Garden Wall Inn
Address: 504 Spokane Ave, Whitefish, MT 59937-2781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Whitefish
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitefish
#1 Best Value Hotel in Whitefish
#4 Family Hotel in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Garden Wall Inn has been catering to discerning travelers since 1987. The impeccably restored 1920’s inn offers five luxurious guestrooms, each furnished with period antiques. Scrumptious three-course breakfasts are prepared by chef/owners Rhonda Fitzgerald and Chris Schustrom. The Inn is a convenient one-block walk from downtown Whitefish’s excellent restaurants, shops and nightspots. Only 25 minutes from Glacier National Park, the Inn is the perfect base for exploring the Park. The Inn is built in the "Colonial Revival" style with a gambrel roof and clapboard siding. The interior is accented by original solid maple flooring, arts-and-crafts fir moldings, and beveled-glass french doors. The guestrooms’ private baths boast huge claw-foot tubs, pedestal sinks, and black-and-white art-deco tile. Oriental carpets and fine antique furniture complement the lovely rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garden Wall Inn Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing