We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience!”
Review of Garden Wall Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitefish
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garden Wall Inn
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 3, 2013

All of the reviews you've read about this place are true! We booked The Garden Wall Inn about a year in advance based on all the terrific reviews we read on TA and we are so glad we did! We occupied the two-bedroom suite which was perfect for our family. My husband and I had a beautiful queen bed in our room and our 14-year old daughter and 13-year old son shared a separate room with 2 twin beds with a shared bathroom in between. The innkeepers, Rhonda & Chris think of everything and made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. They set out a wonderful tray of snacks and provide complimentary drinks at 5 pm every evening, they send up a wake-up coffee tray 30 minutes before breakfast every day and they have terrific advice about where to go for dinner, what activities to enjoy in the area, along with answers to any question you can think of about Glacier National Park and the surrounding area. Breakfast was terrific every morning too! We only stayed for 3 nights but we were sad to leave and really felt like we made new friends in the short time we spent with Rhonda & Chris! We highly recommend the Garden Wall Inn!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtppregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for Garden Wall Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 219 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Garden Wall Inn isn't really a B&B in my opinion - it's a small luxury hotel. It just doesn't get any better than this...

Everything about the Inn works. And the innkeepers, Rhonda and Chris, experts at their craft, are two of the most dedicated that I have ever met. On top of that, they are incredible chefs. Attention to detail shows in everything they touch. It's hard to hide REAL quality, heart-felt hospitality and sincere dedication to service.

For instance, when I admired a book in their library by a local author, they obtained an autographed copy for me. These folks are all about the guests!

They are experts on the area and Glacier Park and they totally dedicated themselves to ensuring that we had the perfect experience. I would rate the Garden Wall Inn an A+. Other reviews do a excellent job describing the Inn. They are right on the mark.

Rhonda and Chris are doing an excellent job on all fronts. Bravo!

Room Tip: Book early!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

How do I begin? First, the B&B is a charming home built in the early 1920's. The rooms vary in size, but are all well appointed. The downstairs common areas, dining room and outdoor sitting places are very nice and comfortable. Rhonda and Chris are incredibly accommodating and gracious. Moreover, they are amazing chefs. Every breakfast is a culinary delight, made from locally sourced farms. A delight to the eyes as well as the palate! I cannot recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Perfect B & B but with so much more. Rhonda and Chris are so knowledgeable about the area and always available to help and give out maps, tips etc. Nothing is too much trouble. Coffee tray in the morning brought up to room. Breakfast leisurely and beautifully presented with local foods. Snacks and drinks provided at 5 for guests in the lounge allowing everyone to talk about their day and give each other tips on places to stay and swop stories. We gained a lot of knowledge about places we were going to visit later on our trip. Try to be in Whitefish for Tuesday night Farmers Market- a real community event. Also turn down service at night and lovely chocolates! So friendly and made you feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hatchcarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Peaceful and quiet. Easy walks to the river and downtown. Coffee in your room prior to breakfast, and then a breakfast that you don't want to end. Chris and Rhonda are not just excellent chefs but are extremely helpful in planning your stay - from hikes in Glacier, restaurants in town, and outings form Whitefish. A perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

A perfect b&b with an excellent turn of the century home. 2 blocks to downtown so easy walk. Chris & Rhonda treat you like goal and the breakfast are over the top.
We had a room on the highway side of the house but didn't find road noise any issue.
The old style pouch is nice to relax on after a day of traveling
We will definitely go back

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D'Arcy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This was the first experience for my husband at a Bed&Breakfast and to say the least he was a little skeptical. It could not have been a better experience! The owner was so gracious and took care of our every need when we arrived. He even made suggestions for good restaurants and then made the reservations. When we arrived back for the night the beds were turned down- blinds pulled and a plate of chocolates! I love the monogrammed towels and the toiletries were first class. The breakfast in the two morning that we were there were unbelievable!

Thank you, thank you and we will definitely stay again if we are in the area!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristy1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
0.2 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
160 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Downtowner Inn
Downtowner Inn
#16 of 17 in Whitefish
71 reviews
17.5 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Wall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Wall Inn

Address: 504 Spokane Ave, Whitefish, MT 59937-2781
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Whitefish
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitefish
#1 Best Value Hotel in Whitefish
#4 Family Hotel in Whitefish
Price Range: $145 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Garden Wall Inn has been catering to discerning travelers since 1987. The impeccably restored 1920’s inn offers five luxurious guestrooms, each furnished with period antiques. Scrumptious three-course breakfasts are prepared by chef/owners Rhonda Fitzgerald and Chris Schustrom. The Inn is a convenient one-block walk from downtown Whitefish’s excellent restaurants, shops and nightspots. Only 25 minutes from Glacier National Park, the Inn is the perfect base for exploring the Park. The Inn is built in the "Colonial Revival" style with a gambrel roof and clapboard siding. The interior is accented by original solid maple flooring, arts-and-crafts fir moldings, and beveled-glass french doors. The guestrooms’ private baths boast huge claw-foot tubs, pedestal sinks, and black-and-white art-deco tile. Oriental carpets and fine antique furniture complement the lovely rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Garden Wall Inn Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing