We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BBQ Makes Great Take-out!”
Review of Piggyback Barbeque

Piggyback Barbeque
Ranked #22 of 93 Restaurants in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“BBQ Makes Great Take-out!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We get Piggyback BBQ take-out each time we vacation in Whitefish. Great stuff! Kids love it. Best to call ahead, sometimes they "run out" in the early evening, which can be frustrating.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank 5Minnesotans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    97
    43
    16
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Amazing BBQ”
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

This is very high quality food with a local focus. They only do BBQ and they do it right ! We come here every year when we go skiing at Big Mountain (aka Whitefish Resort, but it will always be Big Mountain to us). We ordered dry rub wings, hot wings, jalapeño-stuffed shrimp wrapped in bacon, and chili. It was all fantastic, but the dry rub wings were some of the best wings that we have ever had...anywhere ! Try them. We've also had their ribs in past years and they were excellent. We wanted to try their hog wings, but they were out (must be pretty good if they had sold out in early evening). We love Piggyback BBQ !

Helpful?
Thank TheOranges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Yummy food, laid back style”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Would definitely recommend for a quick lunch! The food was home cooked and very fresh. Don't expect a fancy restaurant though.

Helpful?
Thank AprilMaureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional.”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

On a getaway in August, we ate here on the advice of a friend.. What a great great surprise!!!, Excellent food, actually beyond all expectation, we always search out the BBQ shacks on our summer road trips. Simply great food thats coupled with an exceptional and friendly staff this is a true gem within overnight distance of Calgary. We've contemplated driving and staying just for one night so we can have the fritters again. Really quite a gem, Thank you.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego CA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One mean brisket”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

If you are into scarfing down big chunks of meat the piggyback is the place for you. The brisket is amazing and the portions huge. In summer the place is pretty empty, so there was no waiting at all.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank roamingTeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piggyback Barbeque also viewed

 

Been to Piggyback Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing