We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value overall”
Review of Chalet Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chalet Motel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good value overall”
Reviewed August 3, 2009

This hotel is located at the south end of town, along the main highway. It's set back enough that traffic from the highway shouldn't be an issue for any rooms. You might want to avoid room 50 though, as it's right where the end stairs are. So you won't get much privacy if you leave your curtains open.

Room was clean, one bed was good, the other was very saggy. The owner Dale said all beds are being replaced this year though.

Price included a simple continental breakfast you can get at the office, ie, bagels, jams, muffins (too sweet for my taste), cinamon buns wrapped in plastic, juice, coffee. Not bad to start out the day and save some money.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calgaryjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    44
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
28
53
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2009

Very clean with mod cons like hdtv, new beds, fridges, etc. Make your own breakfast and you'll be happy.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanFranciscoBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2009

We've stayed in Whitefish 4 times since December '08. We stayed at Grouse Mountain Lodge around Christmas time (a lovely place for a special occasion, and we got a great deal on our rooms then and again in April, but too expensive for our purposes since then), Super 8, and now The Chalet. We'll definitely return to The Chalet. We stopped at all the motels along Hwy 93, looking for a reasonably priced room (including Super 8), and were about to go back to the Holiday Express when someone suggested we try The Chalet. Yes, it's an "older place," but it has far better amenities than Super 8, and for less money. The rooms are much more spacious and the appliances more numerous (refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker. Borrowed a hair dryer from the front desk).The beds were very comfortable and the linens were excellent quality. The towels were as good as or better than most high end hotels. It's situated right across the street from a grocery store, so we had no problem not being offered the lame "continental breakfast" so many places offer. We bought some cereal, milk, yogurt, and fruit; brewed up a pot of coffee (provided in the room), and had a fine breakfast. We also like the fact that it's not a corporate chain motel. We like to support privately owned businesses as much as possible, and this one is easy to support. It wasn't very busy when we were there in late June, and we were on the 2nd floor, so we enjoyed a very quiet, peaceful stay. We will definitely stay there again next time we find ourselves in Whitefish.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rarintoroam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2009

We stayed at the Chalet Motel in early February 2009. We decided on the motel based up on the reviews here at Tripadvisor. We did not expect a luxurious hotel, but a good value for the money. As promised, the rooms were clean and the owner friendly; the linens and towels were super soft. However; this is an old hotel and we were on the ground floor. We heard every step the people in the rooms above us made. One night there was an excessively noisy group that woke us up and 3 a.m. To be fair, the owner asked us to please let him know immediately if that happened again (we did not call to complain that night, just checked with him the next day). Our maid service was also spotty; excellent service one day and no service the next.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2008

On a recent visit to Whitefish, MT, my wife and I decided to stay at the Chalet Motel. What an experience! It is an older property, but the updates were amazing. The rooms are very clean and spacious - you can tell the property is well cared for! While there was no breakfast offered, the owner assured us of having something set up soon. However, there was a microwave and fridge in the room - so we had no problems with getting sustinance! I think we were just blown away with the great prices, even in the off season, and the overall value of the services we received. I had read other reviews on the Chalet - and every thing they said about the linens and towels was on the money - felt like you just stepped out of a spa!!! We will definately stay here again, especially during ski season - the free SNOW shuttle picks you up across the street. We spent most of our visit taking in the sights of Whitefish and the surrounding communities. We both would highly recommend this motel to anyone we knew coming to the Flathead area.

  • Liked — Price and Value of the Chalet Motel
  • Disliked — No breakfast - although we were assured there would be something soon!!!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NWTrekkerOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2008

This was one of the best places to stay in Whitefish. It is close to everything and the amenities were terriffic. Dale Dennis goes out of his way to make you feel at home at the Chalet Motel. The towels are so soft and fluffy, the beds are unbeleiveably comfortable and the rooms are so clean. Believe it or not, we had no case of jet lag after our first night stay because the bed was so luxurious. If you want an excellent property at a reasonable, this is the place for you.

  • Liked — Clean Rooms and Luxurious Accomodations
  • Disliked — Nothing!!!!! - You would be crazy to pass this one up!!!!!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vestal, New York
Level Contributor
182 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2008

I stayed here two nights; While not especially economical, it was a good value in Whitefish. The room was good sized and adequate for my needs. There is also a hot tub and ingrouyd pool that are nice extras but no breakfast of any sort. The owner allows guests to take a short dirt road on the property to access a street that runs parallel to the main drag and takes you into the downtown without having to contend with traffic and traffic lights.

  • Liked — hot tub/pool
  • Disliked — no breakfast included
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank rjr0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitefish hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
0.2 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
1.2 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Big Mountain Lodge
Big Mountain Lodge
#12 of 16 in Whitefish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stumptown Inn of Whitefish
Stumptown Inn of Whitefish
#13 of 16 in Whitefish
3.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#5 of 16 in Whitefish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Motel

Property: Chalet Motel
Address: 6430 Highway 93 South, Whitefish, MT 59937
Location: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Chalet Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chalet Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Hotel Whitefish
Chalet Motel Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing