We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely refurbished”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in White Sulphur Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spa Hot Springs Motel
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed for the 4th of July in this quiet little town. Great accomodations. Rooms have been recently completely remodeled and have flat screen TV, Cable TV, WiFi. Pools was very clean. Located right in the center of town for easy access to everything. Activities nearby include floating and fishing on the Smith River, golf at the local 9-hole course, lots of hiking/biking/outdoor opportunities near by. VERY friendly town. Super comfortable beds and very quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Spa Hot Springs Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 99 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

The spa has finished renovation of the pool area and added new spacious rooms. This is one of those places that you would not but on your travel route unless you are in the know. Unfortunately the little town doesn't have much to offer but the spa is still worth the trip. With three mineral water pools of varying temperatures, you can dip from pool to pool to suit your needs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie-Innkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I a small town in mid-Montana is a terrific privately owned hotel that I highly recommend. I was leading a motorcycle tour (10 riders) through the Rockies in the US and Canada and selected this hotel from a google search. Owner was willing to negotiate a nice room rate. When we arrived, we were a bit put off by the appearance of the hotel from the road. No worries however, as the owner was new, and had just completed a two-story addition where all our rooms were located (ask for the new section of the hotel - for a little more cost than in the old part of the hotel). The rooms / bathrooms were large and very clean. Beds were the best on our trip. Owner is really nice and willing to do anything to help the guests. Key feature of this hotel are the trio of sulphur hot spring 'pools' on the property. The hottest one is in a room and is for pros only (105 degrees or hotter). The largest is 95 degrees and great for kids. These are real geothermal-water pools with no water treatment. Very therapeutic and well maintained. If I needed a hotel within 50 miles of WSS, I'd go to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the new section of the hotel, unless saving money is your top priority. I suspect the old ro...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stopped by the hot springs on our way to a camping trip, so we only swam and didn't stay at the hotel. The kids had a great time and really enjoyed the experience. One pool was 98 degrees and the other was 106. Both were comfortable and clean.

We have been to several hot springs in Montana, and I would say this one is not as fancy as Chico but much less "rustic" than Norris (although I do love the charm of Norris). The changing rooms are not fancy by any stretch, but certainly are adequate. There are some beautifully painted Montana-style murals surrounding the pools.

Of course, since these are *sulphur* hot springs, there is the ever-present smell of sulfur (think Yellowstone National Park = rotten eggs). The kids didn't really care for it, but it's not a big deal.

One bummer is that you can't buy a drink at the bar like you can at Chico or Norris. In fact, you really can't have any drinks out by the pool at all. Not a big deal, but worth noting.

All in all, a decent place and a good price ($7 for adults, $6 for teens, $5 for kids). You should bring your own towel or pay to rent theirs.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank SuziT9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We love to travel to local hot springs. White Sulphur has been a local favorite from decades gone by. Two pools outside fed by sulphur springs at about 106 degrees are drained daily. There is also one 'vintage' tub you can't miss if you like soaking. Rooms are clean and you will rest - request the newer section. Eat at the local bar around the corner and visit Red Ants Pants.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DidItCount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I hadn't been to the Hot Springs Motel in a few years. In that time, they built an addition with spacious, classy rooms and added a second pool. These changes put the motel in a totally new category. It is so much nicer than it was before. The new rooms are beautiful and comfortable, and the second pool means there is plenty of room for everyone to soak. (In all there are three pools; two outside and one inside. Each is a different temperature.) I recommend Stockman's for a great steak dinner and the Branding Iron for breakfast.

Room Tip: Spend about $140 for a new room or about $85 for an old one. The prices reflect the quality of the r...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SimonMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed in the new section and the room was clean, comfortable, and large. It is nice that the new section is next to the pools. Great place to soak. Had a very good steak dinner at Stockman's Bar and a decent but way overpriced breakfast at Dori's Cafe.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank saltseller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spa Hot Springs Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spa Hot Springs Motel

Address: 202 West Main, White Sulphur Springs, MT
Location: United States > Montana > White Sulphur Springs
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in White Sulphur Springs
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing