We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge rooms, clean, stuff is great - bad wifi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
162 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Huge rooms, clean, stuff is great - bad wifi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed a family of 5 last week for 2 night, Hotel is centrally located 2 minutes from yellowstone. Hotel is not int he center of west yellowstone but still very easy to reach places.
Room was huge and clean, we had enough space for everyone including luggage.
Breakfast room is small and closes too early in my opinion, if a bus of tourists is about to leave, breakfast room is full and noisy.
Better skip breakfast or have it in the room.
The coffee was very tasty.

Room Tip: We ordered pizza to the room (After a long day at yellowstone) following reception suggestion, it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zabook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
We appreciate you comments. We are always striving to improve the guest experience. We have found that most of our guests like to leave early for Yellowstone. Early morning is the best time to see wildlife in the park. We will consider extending the breakfast hours, but most of our guests are long gone by 9 am. We have plans to expand the breakfast area, so we hope next year you will visit again.
Thanks
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    178
    106
    33
    19
See reviews for
238
162
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

A comfortable hotel with excellent breakfast and staff. In-building swiming pool is a plus! But WiFi is terrible... barely connected.

It's located at the west end of Madison Ave. Few mins to the circle of restaurants, super markets etc. Big parking area. The price was a bit high but reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for posting a comment. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We are working on improving the Internet access for our guests. We want everyone to have time to stay in touch with friends and Family and post all those GREAT Yellowstone photos.
Janet Gideon
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanves, France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

I stayed in this hôtel 4 years ago and when I came back this year with friends, I didn't hesitate to choose this hotel. Very well located to visit Yellowstone national park. We appreciate the business center.
The breakfast room is too small.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pierre_Henri_1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you are a repeat customer. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you return soon.
Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

This is a decent hotel if you want a standard room, essentially a place to crash. They have decent comfort inn style breakfast. However, if you, like us, want an ADA accessible room then good luck. Not that they don't have such rooms, but the facilities are not at par which I have seen in other similar hotels. For e.g., the toilet seat is too low, the shower is a tub rather than a roll in.

Also, we booked a two room suite and it turns out one of the bedrooms didn't have ac (it was broken). They didn't even bother informing us about it at check in. When we figured it out the hard way and called the front desk, they acknowledged that it's broken and suggested that they can provide a "cooler", not an AC. The cooler was super noisy, but better than sleeping in hot muggy weather.

So, as I said, for a standard hotel with standard rooms, it seemed to be okay. But beware of special requests.

Another thing, the wifi is very patchy. We pretty much didn't get any coverage in our room. But you can get coverage in the lobby area and it's free.

That being said, they were very nice and tried to do what they could. However, it would have been best if they had been upfront initially.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Varun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for your comment, I'm sorry you were confused about the room type on your reservation. We explained that the room type you booked was not an ADA room, but the room type was compatible with the number of people in your group. The air conditioner was in working order and we supplied an additional cooler for the separate bedroom because with the door closed the air condition in the main room would not cool the separate bedroom. If you visit again I would suggest one of our ADA rooms for two people and the rest of your family in one of our deluxe rooms. Then everyone would be cool and comfortable. We hope we can accommodate your family in the future with a better room selection.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed here for 4 days while we were on vacation visiting Yellowstone National Park. The hotel is very close to the West entrance of Yellowstone National Park which was a Big Plus. Our room was very clean and when we came back for the day room service always took care of our room. Breakfast was another plus so that we could eat and then go on our way for the day. The staff "Jan" and "Mary Lou" were exceptionally "AWESOME". They both went out of their way to help us as needed. We would highly recommend this hotel .

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite which was quite , lot of room, full kitchen which came in very handy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sassy0076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you can visit again soon.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederikssund
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Okay hotel with good swimming pool, spa and wifi. Walking distance to restaurants. Breakfast can be a challenge, because there are only a few seats. West gate is close to the park without actually being there

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibkpede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Our breakfast room seats 40 people and is in operation from 6 am to 9 am. Sometimes everyone comes at once so it fills up fast. We have provided extra seating outside on the patio. We hope you will visit again.
Janet Gideon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHANGHAI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

The location is just a second away from western entrance of yellow stone natioan park. The room is clean and tidy, the breakfast is simple but yummy, the facility is quiet good. Most importantly, the staff there are always nice and friendly (We met a staff whose name is Jan ans she is so nice and helpful), very impressive.

Room Tip: Location is wonderful, service is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank bonniezhubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. All of our staff (including Jan!) goes out of their way to make your stay more pleasant. And we know all the best places restaurants in town. We hope you will visit again soon.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.5 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.5 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Weston Inn
BEST WESTERN Weston Inn
#11 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#8 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
BEST WESTERN Desert Inn
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone West Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

Property: Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Address: 638 Madison Ave., West Yellowstone, MT 59758 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone West Gate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REMODELED IN 2011. 79 Rooms, large family rooms available, non-smoking facility, large indoor heated pool & spa, complimentary deluxe HOT breakfast daily, complimentary high-speed/Wi-Fi internet, guest laundry, business room, free parking, information about Yellowstone Park tours. Only 6 blocks from entrance gate into Yellowstone National Park. AAA and AARP approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Yellowstone West Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel West Yellowstone
Comfort Inn West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing