We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Yellowstone hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent Yellowstone hotel”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Large, comfortable bedrooms. Everywhere very clean. The staff friendly & helpful , especially at Reception. Hot drinks & biscuits available all day. Would have got 5 stars but at busy times the breakfast room was not big enough and the breakfast itself was okay but nothing special.

Room Tip: High floor at the back for quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dandi2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgideon, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    181
    108
    33
    19
See reviews for
244
162
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

A little hard to find but a pretty decent place to stay. Rooms were clean. Breakfast was good. Only complaint was the refrigerator didn't work. Recommend a room on the top floor because it can get noisy when busloads of people are staying.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for your comments. People enjoy the fact that we are on the edge of town, only six blocks from the busy downtown area. We hope you will stay with us again. Thanks
Janet Gideon, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2014

这里离黄石很近,直接GPS定位,位置很好找,附近的配套也很完善。房间干净整洁,只是洗脸池和浴室为了保证干湿分离不在一起,而与卧室相连,使用起来会有些不方便。单人床、双人床都比较大,睡得还算舒服,停车方便,有免费早餐。唯一不是很好的是房间空调声音很大。性价比还是很高的。We picked this hotel for our overnight stay before we went into Yellowstone. It was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FengRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Room was very big, beds very confortable. Our view was to the woods behind. This hotel is far from downtown but that was not a big deal, 15 min walking or 2min drive.
The worst was breakfast. Not good enough. Scramble eggs came in a bag and heated in the microwave. Coffe was dirty water. Poor variety on fruit. We ended having toast with butter.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeraGarciaMuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we strive to offer the best breakfast in town. We have many items to choose from both cold, cereal, fruit, yogart, danish, toast and hot, such as our eggs, biscuits and gravey, sausage. We're sorry you did not find something you liked. We hope you will stay with us again when you are in the area.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I ended up doing a quick trip to the Yellowstone and found that most of the cabins and hotels inside the park were taken. On a friend's suggestion i explored the hotels in West Yellowstone and found West Gate to be a best option.

I would say I was lucky that I picked this hotel for my overnight stay. It was well maintained and I enjoyed my stay here. Breakfast was excellent. Would highly recommend this place.

And on the flip side, i am not sure if this happens frequently ... the city lost power sometime in the morning, luckily i had my flash light. I guess the hotel should plan for having backup options just for the amenities like lights on the staircase and elevator.

Room Tip: Breakfast ends at 9. Have flashlight handy as this town might loose power at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgideonkellyinns, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay. It was unusual to have such a long power outage, if the power does out it is normally fixed in a very short time. We did however take the opportunity to look at our emergency procedures and update our lighting so if you visit us again in the future and the power goes out we will be well lit.
Janet Gideon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This was the worst experience so far regarding a stay. We have spent around $600 for 3 days, which was the waste of money. We are disappointed on all aspects of the hotel service. We had booked this hotel well in advance, yet we had gives a room for disabled instead of normal room. When we checked in, We had to clean the bathroom, it seemed as if somebody had taken shower. The fridge was not working. It says free Wi Fi, but it did not work for one day. The breakfast was of low quality, and it was not sufficient for all the people who were staying, the fruits were very bad and rotten. We would not recommend this hotel to anyone. We had preferred this hotel over other similar hotels, but it was a bad idea.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweety2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
I am sorry your experience at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel was not what you expected. You did make managment aware of the issues and we took care of those things right away and hopefully the rest of the stay was enjoyable. The WiFi was out all over town due to a power outage but that was also fixed within 24 hours. The reservation you booked on line was for our Handicap Accessible room and we were not able to upgrade you because we were sold out. I hope if you are in this area again we will get the opportunity to make your stay more enjoyable.
General Manager
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We were impressed by how quiet and comfortable this hotel was. It was spacious with 2 queen size beds for us. It was very clean and comfortable. We would definitely stay there again. We stayed 1 wk before peak season at W Yellowstone Park, so wasn't as expensive as otherwise could have been. Breakfast was fabulous and coffee fresh and hot every morning and throughout day. we were able to utilize wash/driers that were available until 11pm to wash my son's clothes who we were moving from college to W yellowstone to work. Very friendly staff!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we appreciate you giving us such wonderful feed back. Please visit us again when you are in West Yellowstone.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.5 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.6 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone West Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

Property: Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Address: 638 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9547 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone West Gate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REMODELED IN 2011. 79 Rooms, large family rooms available, non-smoking facility, large indoor heated pool & spa, complimentary deluxe HOT breakfast daily, complimentary high-speed/Wi-Fi internet, guest laundry, business room, free parking, information about Yellowstone Park tours. Only 6 blocks from entrance gate into Yellowstone National Park. AAA and AARP approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Yellowstone West Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel West Yellowstone
Comfort Inn West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing