We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mary Lou”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mary Lou”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Our room was good size,standard type chain hotel,clean,modern and well equipped,exactly what we expected, Wifi, etc. I cannot fault that what we got was what we were expecting at the place and time of year.
Also the reception staff when we checked in she was lovely,welcoming, unfortunately I didn't get her name.
Breakfast was better for us Brits than expected, as it was included in the price, but the best part was Mary Lou in the breakfast room, who was amazing, working so hard,would put many others to shame, and absolutely lovely with our teenage son trying to work a waffle machine!!!
Went on to stay in Dunraven Lodge in the park.(Another review coming)
Then onto Cooke City (we loved it and the food so much better than West Yellowstone), one night all the restaurants in West yellowstone were full or having to wait ages to get a table and the menus were poor, I really feel they need to up their game, I realise they have a captive market , but I think everyone should go over to Cooke City because it is sooo much better. (more reviews to come)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OpenSkies4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. I will forward Mary Lou our breakfast attendant your comments, she takes great pride in our property and does a wonderful job for us. I am glad to hear you had a great vacation in Yellowstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    198
    119
    37
    20
See reviews for
281
174
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is nowadays part of Kelly Inn hotels. Their rooms are fully renovated and very nice, but it's still a 2-star accommodation for a price of around $200 per night. Breakfast is surprisingly broad and they have a free (and fast) wifi in the rooms. Parking is free and easy, but the location is at the far end of West Yellowstone (however, it's a small town). The biggest problem is that their walls are PAPER THIN and you must be whispering after 10pm. Watching television is very difficult without disturbing your neighbors.

Still, overall a pleasant experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Klazu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Yellowstone West Gate Hotel. We are just a few blocks away from the main street area and 5-6 blocks from the west gate entrance into Yellowstone. We offer waffles, sausage, scrambled eggs, yogurt and many other items for our continental breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Plainfield, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was my best hotel experience during mine and my girlfriend's trip out west! After getting lost in yellowstone park, and a bad experience in another motel, Terry was very accommodating to us. He lowered our price on two different stays. Not to mention he has exceptional customer service! He is very friendly. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone doing a Yellowstone trip. Thank you TERRY!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and recognizing Terry during your stay. I am glad that we were able to take care of your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California,USA
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel. They gave us a king bed room that was very small but than immediately upgrade us to a double queen that was much better ( and the price was even lower). The hotel is clean, the bathroom is small but clean as well. Breakfast is included ( nothing special...) as well as wi-fi. You need a car to go " downtown" for dinner but it take few minutes. Overall, a good hotel for West Yellostone

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank giogio42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for staying 5 nights with us and making us your vacation headquarters for visiting Yellowstone. I hope you had a great vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Missouri, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here one night before leaving to stay in a camping under the stars ranch close by. We enjoyed having the King bed and hot shower before heading out for our day at the park. We did not have the free breakfast as we really wanted a large hot breakfast to hold us over for the full day and had stayed in several other hotels along the way that had the same breakfast set up. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyandTina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, i hope you had a great camping night the next day. I do hope that you will see us again on your next trip to Yellowstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a great full week at Yellowstone, staying at this hotel. Our reservations were easy to make, thanks to Jan, who answered all of our questions. Kids loved the pool and breakfast was pretty good too. Will definitely stay here on our next visit to Yellowstone!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, we have either the largest or second larges indoor pool in town so it is great for kids and we supply a few pool toys for them to play with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is a rip off, very overpriced for what it is and clearly taking advantage of the proximity to the West Yellowstone entrance. We stayed one night in August as part of our visit to Yellowstone. The room was small, the bathroom tired and dated. The air conditioning unit was very noisy and made sleeping difficult however there was worse to come.

After an inadequate sleep the horror that is breakfast awaits you. First, all that's provided are paper plates and flimsy plastic cutlery that are woefully inadequate to eat with. Rubbery microwaved scrambled eggs and partially browned sausages of poor quality are the hot choice. Cereal is of the cheap, generic variety and the orange juice is a horrible reconstituted concoction. Yoghurts are also available. This is breakfast done on the very cheap and anyone who claims that the food is good has very low standards. Substandard food and drink accompanied by inexcusable paper plates and plastic cutlery make this a very expensive and miserable stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PompeyJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good stay with us. Our prices are in line with our competition, and you stayed next to a very popular national park during the peak of the peak season. West Yellowstone is a small town that is surrounded 3 sides by national forest and one side by Yellowstone park. The property just spent over $700,000 two years ago on a complete renovation including new tile, granite vanity, wall covering, fixtures, etc. so I do not agree with your comment that the bathroom is tired and outdated.

Actually we have received a lot of good comments about our breakfast and breakfast attendent that you will see in other postings and we have achieved a Certificate of Excellence from Trip Advisor for 2013.

Again, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.7 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
762 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
577 reviews
0.6 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
730 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#30 of 39 in West Yellowstone
558 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#16 of 39 in West Yellowstone
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone West Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

Property: Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Address: 638 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9547 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone West Gate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REMODELED IN 2011. 79 Rooms, large family rooms available, non-smoking facility, large indoor heated pool & spa, complimentary deluxe HOT breakfast daily, complimentary high-speed/Wi-Fi internet, guest laundry, business room, free parking, information about Yellowstone Park tours. Only 6 blocks from entrance gate into Yellowstone National Park. AAA and AARP approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yellowstone West Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel West Yellowstone
Comfort Inn West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing