We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Continenatal Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Butte, Montana
1 review
“Continenatal Breakfast”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I'd like to say that Mary Lou who was responsible for getting everything ready for the breakfast, did a fantastic job. She went beyond what was expected of her. She assisted everyone with a smile and she never forgot a face. She would welcome you back and ask how your stay was going. She was awesome.

Room Tip: I think the cost of the rooms were quite high. ($229.99 a night) I know it the tourist season, but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donner55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your remarks about Mary Lou, our breakfast attendant, we get a lot of great comments about her. July is our busiest month of the season but if you come in early June or late August rates will be lower than July.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    181
    108
    33
    19
See reviews for
244
162
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Augusta, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We spent 3 comfortable nights here while visiting Yellowstone and the Tetons. The rooms were clean, bright, quiet and spacious enough for 4 people to share. It is on the outskirts of town but still within walking distance to eating and shopping. But the BEST thing about this hotel is breakfast with Mary Lou. Every morning she was on top of things with a cheerful face and a happy smile. Even when people came in an hour after breakfast was over, we watched her service them with a smile. She is what customer service is all about.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side face a woodsy area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
thank you for your comments for your stay and for mentioning Mary Lou our Breakfast attendant. She does a great job for us and keeps everything running smoothly in the morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed there in Feb 2013.... great if you are a snowmobiler! what a noise! In the pool, in the lounge, in the eating area out side .... revving the snowmobiles and making all kinds of beer fueled noise.
The room was just adequate... and half the entrances were closed because they
couldn’t... wouldn’t clear the snow and ice... so for us it was less then great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay with us back in February. The property has two entrances next to each other that has snow and ice that will fall from 3 stories up so those entrances are closed during the winter. February is a great time for cross country sking and snowmobiles so if; you like winter activities this is a great place to be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We arrived in West Yellowstone in early-June 2013. We scheduled our trip in early fall 2012. In May we were notified that the Comfort Inn and Suites had been sold and is now the Yellowstone West Gate Hotel. Our reservations remained the same and went off without a hitch. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was excellent and the lady monitoring the eating area was fun to talk with. We did have a couple issues with the vanity electrical outlet and the 2nd floor ice machine. However the staff was quick to respond and took care of any issues. Overall, this was a great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebert1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and i am glad to hear that our staff was able to respond right away to the couple of issues that you experienced. I hope that you will stay with us during your next trip to Yellowstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at the Comfort Inn, based on the reviews we saw here on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed and would definitely stay here in the future. The room was very comfortable and the free samples were a nice surprise. Breakfast was good and the staff was very kind & helpful. The only negative is that you have to drive into town, a bit too far too walk, but that isn't a big deal for us. Plus it is very close to the entrance to Yellowstone Park. I am pleased to say that I recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank rls1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your response on your recent stay with us. We just recenlty changed our name from the Comfort Inn to the Yellowstone West Gate Hotel in May as we decided not to renew our franchise agreement with Choice Hotels. Ownership and management stayed the same, our parent company also owns the Kelly Inn and Clubhouse Inn and we made the decesion that we did not need the "franchise" name.

I hope that you had a great vacation in Yellowstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Very spacious...only had a suite available but very reasonable price..extremely happy and comfortable..great little town and staff and everyone in town very friendly. Great places to dine. Lots of lovely free sample gifts in the rooms. Vending machines cheapest we have come across I our travels across the states

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
We appreciate your comments about our property during your stay with us. I hope you had a good time sight seeing in Yellowstone National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We've been staying at the Comfort Inn in West Yellowstone for about 15 years now for our annual snowmobile trips. The staff makes you feel at home and all the amenities are top notch! From the continental breakfast to the afternoon soup the hotel is great. We always get a 3 Queen suite to cover our needs and it is extremely comfortable. The newly done remodeling has added a comfortable feel of home. The hot tub and pool is just fantastic for the sore muscles and a relaxing evening! Thanks to the entire staff for always treating us nicely.

Room Tip: If you need a touch more room try the 3 Queen suite if you have a group. They're perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snowgov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thanks for being such a loyal guest staying with us all these years. Winter is a great time to visit and snowmobile over 400 miles of groomed trails outside of Yellowstone. The property recently had a major remodel done to all guest rooms and public areas spending over $700,000.

We hope to see you again next winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.5 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.6 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#14 of 39 in West Yellowstone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone West Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

Property: Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Address: 638 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9547 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone West Gate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REMODELED IN 2011. 79 Rooms, large family rooms available, non-smoking facility, large indoor heated pool & spa, complimentary deluxe HOT breakfast daily, complimentary high-speed/Wi-Fi internet, guest laundry, business room, free parking, information about Yellowstone Park tours. Only 6 blocks from entrance gate into Yellowstone National Park. AAA and AARP approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Yellowstone West Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel West Yellowstone
Comfort Inn West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing