We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We were moved to this hotel by our travel agent at the last minute because of problems with our original hotel. We were very pleasantly surprised! Nicely redone inside = clean, updated rooms. Good indoor pool and hot tub. Good enough light breakfast. Laundry services with washer and dryer. Very nice, friendly staff. Our room was quiet. The hotel is a bit of a walk to downtown but we enjoyed the exercise. It is next to the Gallatin national forest entrance where we snowmobiled the day we were not in the park (quite beautiful!)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bowmanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I am glad that you were able to give our property a try for your stay in West Yellowstone and your snowmobile trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

531 - 537 of 604 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our family stayed 8/29/12 and checked out in the morning, only to find our minivan would not start. Mr. Chris Williams was at the desk and went out of his way to help us. He got our minivan started - loose battery connection, pointed us to a shop that fixed it, and refused any payment! AAA was going to send a tow truck from Bozeman! Chris saved our vacation. He is a rare gem. The hotel was clean and comfortable. We had a great stay with a terrific breakfast. I would highly recommend staying here with a family, while visiting Yellowstone National Park.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We were taken a pleasant shock when we arrived at the hotel. This was a 3-star hotel but the manager told us they just remodeled the whole building. The hotel's exterior still looked like a old 3-star hotel, but the interior was totally different. Our room was comparable to a 4-star hotel room (maybe even 5-star if you are from elsewhere) and the heater was very good. It's lower than 50 degrees at night during september so this is a must. The room itself was spacious with a lot of space to place our luggage (we had quite a few). There is a vending machine on each floor as well as ice machine so it is very convenient for travelers who need them. Self service breakfast is available until 9am.

But the best trait (other than the remodeling) is the hotel's geographic location. It is only an hour's drive to Geyser Country (1.5 hours to Old Faithful) and the price of one night at this hotel is WAY cheaper (around $100 when we were there...may be more during peak season) than staying at the 3 Old Faithful inn/hotels. I don't think anybody travelling to Yellowstone will be without a vehicle of some sort so transportation shouldn't be a problem (there are gas stations in West Yellowstone, fill up before entering the park). In terms of West Yellowstone itself, the hotel is a little bit away from the hustle & bustle of the town center. So if you need to get food or go to supermarket driving is a must. The neighborhood between the hotel and the town looks alright but I definitely don't recommend walking the mile or so at night because there are NO street lights. Finally, the hotel has a large parking lot and you have to be bad luck brian if you can't find a spot for the night.

GO TO THIS HOTEL! YOU WON'T REGRET IT!!! CHEAP AND CONVENINENT!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HongTheArsenalFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for your review regarding your stay with us. Old Faithful geyser is just 30 miles away from West Yellowstone so we are a great location for everyone to consider for their vacation headquarters. Last year the property completed a $700,000 remodel of all of our guest rooms so check out what we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I would recommed this hotel to any family traveling through. Rooms are new and very clean. A big extra thanks to Maria who helped getting us checked-in quickly and making sure we had enough towels and pillows in the room for our group. Breakfast was great with lots of choices.
Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Comfort Inn. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Best hotel in West Yellowstone. Rooms are well appointed, housekeeping does an excellent job. Front desk: Melaine, Terry, Dawn and Jerry were very friendly and helpful. They always asked how our day had gone and were genuinely interested that we had a good stay. Marylou is great. We were there for 14 days and she always made sure we had everything we needed before she closed the kitchen. She kept the breakfast bar well stocked and always had a friendly smile for everyone. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for your commnets and staying with us during your visit to West Yellowstone. I will pass on your comments to our staff and I agree they do a great job.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I travelled to Yellowstone and decided to stop at West yellowstone as it was the closest to the park. By accident I found this Comfort Inn (As I had not booked hotels in advance) and what a find!! This hotel was excellent, the room were clean, tidy and in great condition. The staff (especially Melanie the manager) were excellent, kind, polite and helpful. The best part of the service was the staff's knowledge on the park: Where to go, what to see and especially where all the wildlife was and how to find them. Melanie told us exactly where the Elk were and that was exactly right and where the Bison were and again this was exactly right. This is a great hotel..Stop here, I know that the next time I am in West Yellowstone this is the place I will be stopping again and again.. Great Job, top Comfort Inn!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seanybaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for all of your wonderful comments regarding your stay with us. I will let our staff know about your comments. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Yellowstone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I spent several nights at the Comfort Inn. The room was well furnished and comfortable and it was obvious that the hotel really had been recently remodeled. Breakfast was good and Mary Lou the breakfast lady was very efficient and helpful and worked very hard to keep everything running smoothly. Melanie the hotel manager was ever present with all sorts of good insight about things to do in town and things to do and see in Yellowstone park. I had a quick and easy check in and had a qhiet room on the third floor. Even though the hotel was pretty full it did not seem that crowded and noise from other rooms around me was minimal. All in all a good visit and I will definately stay here again on future visits to the area.

Room Tip: the third floor definately seems to be the quietest with no one above you and no ice machine rattlin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, General Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for staying with us. Yes our property was recently remodeled with new furniture, floor and wall coverings, etc. Basically, we have a brand new property. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.6 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
750 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
806 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#7 of 39 in West Yellowstone
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
1,008 reviews
0.5 mi away
Three Bear Lodge
Three Bear Lodge
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
674 reviews
0.5 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone West Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

Address: 638 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9547 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range: $191 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone West Gate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, comfortable and friendly 79 Rooms, large family rooms available, non-smoking facility, large indoor heated pool & spa, complimentary deluxe HOT breakfast daily, complimentary high-speed/Wi-Fi internet, guest laundry, business room, free parking, information about Yellowstone Park tours. Only 6 blocks from entrance gate into Yellowstone National Park. AAA and AARP approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Yellowstone West Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel West Yellowstone
Comfort Inn West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing