We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gem of Yellowstone”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
missouri
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“gem of Yellowstone”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights while we visited Yellowstone. It was very comfortable and clean as a matter of fact we gave the maid a tip she did so well. The breakfeast selection was very good. Beds comfortable and the hotel was quiet. It was a bit pricey @$189 per night but thats what you get when you stay right outside the national park entrance. All in all it was worth the money, would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissouriGambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    197
    119
    37
    20
See reviews for
279
174
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Newly remodeled, friendly service. We stayed 3 nights while visiting Yellowstone, and were happy with our convenient "home base". Beds were comfortable & had extra pillows. Good breakfast selection, as good or better than the other places that we stayed on our 2-week traveling vacation: eggs, TWO waffle makers, sausage, biscuits/gravy, assortment of breads & pastries, cereal, fruit. Breakfast seating was limited, so we took our plates back to our room to eat. Good water pressure in the shower. Location is at the end of a road, so it's private - also a bit farther to walk to restaurants & shops, so we drove (tired at the end of a long day) & had no trouble finding parking on the street. Ask to have the charge for the safe removed if you did not use it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vac8ioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Enjoyed our stay...was in a quiet part of town which was helpful after long days in the park.The staff was very friendlly and service oriented especially the lady taking care of breakfast!The hotel was also very clean. I have nothing negative to say about my stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Very close to YNP west entrance, yet quiet due to its location at the end of its street. Nice woodsy area across street from the hotel, great for walking the dog. Room was great: clean, fresh, average size, and good price. Welcoming to pets and their owners. Dining area was clean and large, with a good variety of breakfast items included in the room charge. We would definitely stay here again, as room, accommodations, amenities, and GREAT STAFF made this location wonderful for us!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luv2Bonthesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

First let me start by saying that most decent hotels in the Yellowstone area are pretty expensive. We paid an average of $200 a night to stay at this place for 3 nights but the location was excellent as you're just a few miles (5 minutes) from the West gate of YNP.
The hotel was completely remodeled and the rooms were very clean and spacious. The furniture was brand new and the TV and wifi worked great. The laundry room and heated pool were also very nice.
All that said, the breakfast which was included in the price was pretty awful and aside from the yugurt the food was really bad.
There were NOT enough tables and sitting for everybody. It was like a "Yellowstone ZOO" in the morning with people standing all over the place, food on the floor and NOT nearly enough staff to keep the place organized and clean.
The hotel staff seemed to be pretty friendly except for the old grumpy lady at the reception who was rude and unwilling to give us any detailed information about local attractions, restaurants, etc...Although we spent over $200 a night, we did NOT get the customer service and attention we deserved!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanDiegoLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Recently renovated room product was surprisingly well done. Simple, Clean and current. Hotel is near many quick restuarant and services.

Room Tip: Radio Shack right down the road when you lose your memory stick after spending time in yellowstone.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank msneen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelton, Washington, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

200 bucks a night for a plain jane room seemed like a rip to me...... the spa didn't seem to clean, yuck..... the hotel is kind of far off the downtown shops etc...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Regional Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your vacation. During late June, then into July and first few weeks of August is our peak season and many Hotel properties are in the $200 range during this time. The Holiday Inn is around the $250 range. The town of West Yellowstone is located adjacent to the West Gate entrance into Yellowstone park. Our property just completed a $700,000 renovation for 79 guest rooms so we have brand new rooms to offer. Our location is just 4 blocks away from downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.7 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
758 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
574 reviews
0.6 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
728 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#30 of 39 in West Yellowstone
557 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#16 of 39 in West Yellowstone
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone West Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

Property: Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Address: 638 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9547 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone West Gate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REMODELED IN 2011. 79 Rooms, large family rooms available, non-smoking facility, large indoor heated pool & spa, complimentary deluxe HOT breakfast daily, complimentary high-speed/Wi-Fi internet, guest laundry, business room, free parking, information about Yellowstone Park tours. Only 6 blocks from entrance gate into Yellowstone National Park. AAA and AARP approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Yellowstone West Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel West Yellowstone
Comfort Inn West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing