We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old west appeal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Old west appeal”
Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Old west appeal. Carpeting reminded me of western atmosphere. Had a 3 queen suite so it was spacious. Very clean. Separate bathroom and vanity which helps in terms of getting ready quicker. Linens were clean. Only complaint is upon checking out, the housekeeping staff had their carts blocking the hallways making it quite hard to leave with the luggage cart. Location was away from town. Quiet area, but not walking distance from town. Coin laundry was clean, but expensive. Typical for resort town. No major complaints.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllieGMAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, Regional Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for staying at our property. I hope you enjoyed your vacation in Yellowstone National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    200
    120
    37
    20
See reviews for
282
176
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My Husband and I stayed here on our trip to yellow stone national park. We only stayed one night it was clean, simple and quiet. the set up of the hotel was a little weird because of the way u had to get to your room some you could stay in the main entrance others you had to go out side to a side door to get to your room. the ice machine was old but it worked. The breakfast was simple like ceral, toast, coffee there were some resturants in driving distance but not alot to chose from to eat at. west yellow sotne is a very little town

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trisha1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, Regional Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for staying at our facility. We do offer a large selection of items for our breakfast such as scrambled eggs, sausage links, two flavors of waffles,yogurt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

After a long and exhausting day in Yellowstone, I was looking forward to our comfortable room at the Comfort Inn. When I walked into the room I was very surprised to see that they placed us in a room that had a wonderful view of a wall. Virtually no natural light at all made its way into the room. It was dark..and felt like we were in an interior room on a cruise ship. Internet service is also poor (writing this using a 3G iPad because the wifi is horrible. Asked front desk staff for a room with at least a normal window and they were unable to accommodate...said we were the last room available in the hotel...so much for our 3 month early reservation. The room was highly overpriced...and was the worst of any hotels we stayed at on this trip.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Colberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, Regional Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Unfortunatley, we did not have another room to move you too otherwise we would have but we were at full occupancy during your stay. We do receive many reservations a year in advance as families are planning their vacation. West Yellowstone is located in a isolated area of the world so we do have some limits on our bandwidth. We just completed a $700,000 remodel of our 79 room facility last year so I would have to disagree with your comments regarding our facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larimore, North Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed here last minute to extend our Yellowstone trip by an extra day. The hotel itself was a good clean hotel like I expect from a comfort inn. The only complaint I had was that our room 233 backed up to the staris and at 6 am we heard clunck clunck clucnk as people wheeled thier suitcases down the steps. It didn't wake the kids though, just us. I cannot say enough good about the shower. After a week of vacationing in rooms with piddly showers, it was SO nice to have one that actually had water pressure and a shower head that worked. It was really nice!
The hotel has a nice sized pool, and hot tub, we didn't use just because we were tired. The free breakfast was excellent as well. Hot biscuts and gravy, waffels, doughnuts, muffins, cereal toast and all the normal beverages, hot coco, juices milk, and I am sure there was coffee.
We all walked away saying we will stay here again!

Room Tip: Just ask for one not by the stairs and you will be happy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sonadorcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, Regional Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. I am glad you liked our showers, we have four hot water heaters and never run out of hot water. Also we have a large variety of breakfast items. Hope you enjoyed your vacation in Yellowstone this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Friendly staff. Nice pool and hot tub. Clean room. Above average accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, Regional Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We have one of the larges indoor pools in town and we just completed a $700,000 remodel of all of our guest rooms last year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Montana
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

This Inn gets an average from us. There is nothing wrong with the property but the Inn charged a bit more than the norm for this time of year. Too tired to haggle. We were not into the summer season quite yet and there are still roads closed in the park. This was not the time for winter sports so we thought the Inn over priced. A full thirty dollars over the first night we spent in West Yellowstone but admittedly that was a lesser Inn. This is a good property, clean, not all that quiet but West Yellowstone is a noisy little town anyway. Convenient walking distance to cafes but go eat before 9:00PM. Convenient to the West entrance of Yellowstone but everything is in West Yellowstone.

Room Tip: After the park, especially if you do any back country hiking, you will be too tired to care.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, Regional Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. This facility just recenlty completed a $700,000 remodel last year with new furniture, flooring, fixtures, TV's, vanties, etc. I hope that you will stay with us again during your next trip to West Yellowstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

If you like morning swims dont stay here. There pool dont open till noon. The breakfeast was below average.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reviewqueen211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jschoenhard, Regional Manager at Yellowstone West Gate Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. My company Kelly Inns just recenlty purchase the property on May 10th. We will look at opening the pool earlier in the morning so that our guest will have a chance to go for a morning swim before seeing the sights that Yellowstone has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.7 mi away
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
763 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#4 of 39 in West Yellowstone
577 reviews
0.6 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#2 of 39 in West Yellowstone
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#10 of 39 in West Yellowstone
730 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#30 of 39 in West Yellowstone
558 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moose Creek Inn
Moose Creek Inn
#16 of 39 in West Yellowstone
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone West Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone West Gate Hotel

Property: Yellowstone West Gate Hotel
Address: 638 Madison Ave, West Yellowstone, MT 59758-9547 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowstone West Gate Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEWLY REMODELED IN 2011. 79 Rooms, large family rooms available, non-smoking facility, large indoor heated pool & spa, complimentary deluxe HOT breakfast daily, complimentary high-speed/Wi-Fi internet, guest laundry, business room, free parking, information about Yellowstone Park tours. Only 6 blocks from entrance gate into Yellowstone National Park. AAA and AARP approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Yellowstone West Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel West Yellowstone
Comfort Inn West Yellowstone
West Yellowstone Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing