We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning: they will charge a higher price when checking in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in West Yellowstone
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warning: they will charge a higher price when checking in!”
Reviewed May 30, 2010

Booked a double queen room on the phone and was offered a rate at $139. Asked for confirmation via email but never got one. Got there and was asked to pay $179 for the room (maybe that's why they didn't send me a confirmation). It was late and we didn't have other choice.
The room was small, the beds appear to be full size in stead of queen size. Since we had four adults and an infant, one of us had to sleep on the floor. Definitely the worst stay during our trip. I would say nothing's good about this hotel except for the location. Lying about price was not acceptable. I would definitely avoid this place next time.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momomama2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yell_Park, Director of Sales at Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, responded to this review, October 26, 2010
Apparently there was some confusion among some of our staff regarding rates: the hotel underwent a change in ownership near the end of May; that along with some staff turnover, which may have resulted in the rate discrepancies. Regardless, the original quoted rate should have been honored. This review, and a previous one, reveal that perhaps we had one or more overzealous staff memebers who took it upon themselves to enforce a pricing strategy at the expense of guest satisfaction. This is not who we are; positive guest experiences is our highest priority and we are acutely aware that poor service and misleading information is bad business. It is quite regrettable that this has occurred.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    270
    120
    47
    30
See reviews for
290
263
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Driven into town by cold weather and snow in the campgrounds at Yellowstone, I arrived at 10:30 pm and was offered a rate of $69 by the woman working the front desk. Mid-May is a slow time of year and there were other options in town. I was given a king bed/handicap bathroom room and the accommodation was fine with the exception of a clogged toilet. The problem occured at checkout when a young night clerk charged my credit card $89 for the room. When I politely told him the quoted rate was $69 he said lots of people try to get a lower rate at checkout and he didn't see any note on the file. I tried to get him to call the manager, but he didn't know the number or how to contact him. I was indignant at the suggestion I was trying to game the motel out of $20. Frankly, I would have paid $89 had that been the initial quote, but it wasn't. Front desk person was very dishonorable.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConnorLarkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2010

I have stayed in a couple hotel locations in West Yellowstone - all of which were disappointing to horrible - but this one does a pretty good balance of price and amenities. On the downside, it can be pretty nosy depending on the guests around you and the mattress left a little to be desired, no ESPN (to my husband's dismay) and outdoor parking was minimally available - On the upside, the location could not be beat, the breakfast decent, the bathrooms and air control were good, and it was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tea01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helena
2 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Came to West Yellowstone for a business training seminar and decided to stay at the Gray Wolf Inn. The stay was wonderful....the room was so nice. The plush king size bed was awesome. Nice fluffy white comforter made me want to stay in bed all day. The room was just beautiful and to top it off.......the view out our windows was spectacular!!
The staff was very accomodating and friendly......we will definately be back!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank yesamen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
butte
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Our stay at the Gray Wolf was very enjoyable. The rooms were very clean and pleasant and the beds were the most comfortable beds away from home that we have slept in in a long time. Employees were very friendly and helpful and made our stay very relaxing. The Gray Wolf is a very classy place to stay and we will be recommending it to all of our friends.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie_driscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idaho
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2010

The hotel was okay - a little dusty and the dish washer did not work. It was the lady that the front desk people called their boss...... She was in the back room - but I could still see and hear through the open door. I was not impressed. -- sorry.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puddingpieIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2009

Read mixed reviews on trip advisor but decided it looked ok and it ticked our backpacking minimum criteria; location, cost, internet and breakfast. We stayed in a room with 2xdouble beds, fridge, microwave and sofa. The sofa was a bonus as it felt like we could relax in the room. There was also a pool with a hot tub which we needed as we had spent the day freezing in Yellowstone, it was record low temperatures whilst we were there so the the pool was a welcome bonus. All in all great for us and a lot better than some of the shacks we have stayed in. But then we are not staying in 5 star hotels but I would recomend it for backpackers heading to and from yellowstone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Addscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these West Yellowstone hotels
0.1 mi away
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
Explorer Cabins at Yellowstone
#1 of 39 in West Yellowstone
681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yellowstone Park Hotel
Yellowstone Park Hotel
#6 of 39 in West Yellowstone
558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
Kelly Inn West Yellowstone
#3 of 39 in West Yellowstone
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Desert Inn
Best Western Desert Inn
#5 of 39 in West Yellowstone
686 reviews
0.2 mi away
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
ClubHouse Inn West Yellowstone
#9 of 39 in West Yellowstone
697 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stage Coach Inn
Stage Coach Inn
#27 of 39 in West Yellowstone
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gray Wolf Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gray Wolf Inn and Suites

Property: Gray Wolf Inn and Suites
Address: 250 South Canyon Street, West Yellowstone, MT 59758
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Montana > West Yellowstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in West Yellowstone
#2 Green Hotel in West Yellowstone
#7 Family Hotel in West Yellowstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Gray Wolf Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just blocks from Yellowstone National Park's West Entrance, we are a modern, amenity-rich "base camp" from which to explore Yellowstone National Park. Amenities include a free, limited continental breakfast, underground parking, suites, indoor pool, hot tub, in room microwaves, mini fridges, coffee makers and free WiFi. Open year-round. New to Gray Wolf Inn and Suites, is a complimentary electric charging station! It is located in our underground parking, and features two (2) Tesla vehicle charging units, and one (1) for other standardized electric vehicles such as a Chevy Volt, Nissan Leaf, or Toyota Prius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Gray Wolf Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gray Wolf Hotel West Yellowstone
Gray Wolf West Yellowstone
Gray Wolf Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing